We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”
Review of Riad Asrari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Asrari
Ranked #277 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We had a lovely weekend at the Riad Asrari. The staff were attentive, helpful and friendly. The place itself is beautiful and an oasis of calm in a busy city. We loved the mint tea and delicious biscuits on the terrace each afternoon. We stayed in the Japanese room, which was really lovely, and bed was very comfortable. The tortoises in the courtyard were surprisingly bold. we never saw the chameleon though!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leor_sara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

We spent five nights at this charming riad. Within the Medina, it is about half way between Jemma el Fna and Jardin Majorelle (each about 20 minutes walk). Away from the noise, smell and bustle of the busy streets and souks, it was a relief each evening to come back to such tranquility.

The riad has five bedrooms/suits – each delightfully decorated and appointed in a particular national style. We had the Indian Suit on the first floor. Like the two others on this floor, it overlooks the tiled courtyard with its small fountain and trees.

The bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom had an elegant shower – but poor water pressure (although the manager said this was caused by nearby excavation work).

The roof terrace had loungers and sofas and a colourful bedouin tent where meals were served. The breakfast was lovely – particularly the fresh orange juice and home made yoghurt. The tagine dinner (booked in the morning) was delicious and reasonable value at 30€/head.

The staff were helpful and attentive – and particularly Adil, who greeted us on arrival with glasses of mint tea and was both waiter and receptionist. He was courteous, great fun and always ready to help. At the end of our stay, we felt we were saying goodbye to a real friend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Richard-and-Heidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The Riad Asrari is a great place to stay for a short visit to Marrakesh. We stayed in the African suite and especially loved the enormous bath! It was very easy to walk around the city and the staff were welcoming and helpful.
Definately recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kents4749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Back last night from 4 days at the Riad. It was fantastic and we cannot praise the staff enough. They were thoughtful and kind and went out of their way to make our stay pleasurable. We asked their advice on where to go. We walked everywhere and the excitement and bustle of this city was tremendous. We had never been to Marrakesh before and this was a delight, made more so by returning each day to this delightfully calm Riad after the bustle of the streets and Souks. The ladies were excellent and cleaned the rooms every day. We have no hesitation in recommending this Riad and will be rebooking next year if possible. It is so close to the centre that (as I have said) we walked to all the places of interest. Weather was very good. Everyone on the street was very helpful and most spoke French (the second language there. For a night out can recommend the Café Arabe. Well done to everybody there and especially the two tortoises who were so lovely and could be hand fed. I have added photos of the places you can see as the photographs of the Riad itself are already there.

Room Tip: All the rooms were excellent; we stayed in the Mexican room. Very comfortable and we slept well; the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Just returned from a stay at this riad booked through Voyage Prive. Although the weather was not very good, the riad was warm and comfortable, even in the tent on the terrace where we had a magnificent dinner on our first evening.

The staff in this riad are delightful, especially Adil who served breakfast and dinner to us. The ladies who cleaned the rooms were very friendly and changed the towels in the room every day.

The riad is tucked away in a lane in the Medina and looks very unassuming from the outside but stepping through the doorway takes you into a different world. We stayed in the Mexican room - all the rooms have a theme and are filled with furniture and decorations which have been gathered from all over the world by the owner.

Although the weather was not too good, we were able to use the loungers on the terrace one afternoon and enjoy the sunshine.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this riad, especially the friendly and efficient staff.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WilmaandTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Booked taxi and first meal through the Riad which was fine. The room was clean (African suite), but they DO NOT have the bath robes/toiletries as promised on their website. We booked an INCLUSIVE trip to the Atlas Mountains through our waiter who told us to pay the 'director.' The trip was expensive but we thought it would be worthwhile.But on the Thursday morning having paid, the vehicle failed to arrive. The receptionist spoke little English and after frantic phone calls a car turned up an hour late with a driver who spoke no English! We were taken to the mountains and then the driver stopped and a second man got into the vehicle and told us he was our guide. He said the car could go no further as it was not a 4 wheel drive. We then had a strenuous hike (ROCK CLIMB) for which we were not prepared, especially as our shoes slipped on the dangerous wet rocks. We are grandparents and although we consider ourselves fit this was not what we had in mind or the trip we had been promised. We were shown a SMALL waterfall and on clambering back down to the town, the second man demanded money for his services. We were forced to pay as we didn't want to be stranded, and assumed we would be reimbursed by the riad. This was not the case and it became apparent they had no intention of doing so. The 'director' suddenly seemed to struggle with his English. To add insult to injury we had paid for a taxi to the airport (25 euros) but the riad then demanded a further payment, which we reluctantly made under protest as we didn't want to miss our flight. We were ripped off big time by this riad which left us with a bitter sweet taste! BE WARNED! But Marrakech is well worth a visit.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
9  Thank Tina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Like others we booked through a voyage prive offer. We previously noted that airport taxis were somewhat questionable and so we took advantage of the Riad booking our transport. Yes it is €25 but the quality if your vehicle and driver is top notch, heavy bags are pulled to the Riad and removes all the uncertainty and stress at the start of a short break. We chose to use the same transport back as well. We stayed in the Indian Room and it was really fantastic. No TV didn't seem to matter. We chose on the first night to enjoy a fab 3 course dinner at the Riad for €30 each. Lovely it was too. There will be plenty of time to get €5 kebabs out in the square or in the souks. The staff are outstanding and very helpful. All spoke English to varying degrees. The breakfast was excellent. And it was a 15 minute wander through the souks to get to the main square. We were provided with an excellent map and directions. On the way you will find a bureau de change (everywhere has a rate as of Jan14 of 11 dirhams to the Euro. The Riad does not change money. Also on the way is the Cafe Arabe which serves a wide range of drinks and food including alcohol. Steak is highly recommended. I would have no hesitation in returning to this delightful Riad and such were the high standards look forward to trying the owners other properties in France.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Darron1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Emberiza Sahari
Riad Emberiza Sahari
#15 of 501 in Marrakech
328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 501 in Marrakech
1,766 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Joya
Riad Joya
#92 of 501 in Marrakech
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ryad Dyor
Ryad Dyor
#67 of 501 in Marrakech
300 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#11 of 501 in Marrakech
1,297 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 501 in Marrakech
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Asrari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Asrari

Address: 42 Derb Derdouba, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#127 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#133 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#144 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £133 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Marrakech Medina, in the area of Bab Doukkala, easy to reach by car or a ten minute walk from the JEMAA el FNA Square and beautifull Majorelle Gardens, this 17th century Riad has been restored with full respect to the Moroccan tradition, keeping its original characteristics: a patio shaded by trees, the coolness of its very old marble fountain, peaceful living-rooms and a beautifully planted terrace where you can enjoy the Sunset and the view of the Medina... The RIAD ASRARI is a traditional riad with wonderful moroccan craftsmanship such as sculpted plaster ceilings, exquisitely carved Cedar doors, colorful tadelakts and zelliges skilfully composed of delicate oriental patterns. You will be welcomed with traditional pastries and Mint tea by our thoughtful and discreet staff. You will discover peaceful places to rest: the terrace and sun-beds, comfortable sofas and the kaidale tent under which you can have your breakfast. You can also relax, read and dream in our beautiful living rooms... On the patio, you will be enchanted by the magestic pace of our two tortoises as they follow their daily sunbathing ritual If you are patient enough you might also see our chameleon who plays hide and seek in the trees ! The furniture and decorative objects were procured during the owner's numerous travels, or were designed and made on site by Moroccan craftsmen. Many Primitive Art pieces are exhibited throughout the riad... All of these well considered elements have been combined for a perfect getaway. In the RIAD ASRARI, you can forget television and noisy pools...You will discover another Marrakech, in the heart of the Arabic Tradition: authentic and refined ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Riad Asrari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Asrari Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing