We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful tea party indeed!”
Review of Riad Layla Rouge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Layla Rouge
Ranked #249 of 1,195 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Riad Layla Rouge was our most favorite place on our Moroccan journey. Jowad, Mohammed, Hassan, and the two beautiful ladies were genuine,friendly, extremely helpful, and always had tea or cake to offer. We stayed over a course of 8 nights in Safara and Rosie rooms which both were beautifully decorated with colorful walls, moroccan lamps, and cool decorations and the rad velvet couches. The downstairs area with fountains full of rose petals, mellow music and insence burning was a great place to enjoy breakfast and relax. The rooftop terraces were a great place to hang out with the family of cake eating turtles. We got a peak at there sister property next door which I recommend staying at with a refreshing plunge pool and sheek decorations. It was such a enjoyable and affordable place. Great location as well only 4 min to djem el fna. I just can't say enough. It was great!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piper m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 139 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2012

Perfect place, not so hard to find, just few steps from Jeema al Fna, quiet, perfect roof terrace with a lot of sun, where you can chill.
Staff is so frendly!!! You have everything you nee, every evening music was playing and fountain trickling, so good vibe!!! It was our honeymoon, and we really relaxed there.
Definitly plan to go back there!

Room Tip: Deluxe room on the top of Riad is the best. One step to the beautiful roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed here in August 2012 for 3 nights and cannot fault this hostel. Our flight arrived in the morning, well ahead of our check in time but we were welcomed in, given a 3 course breakfast and then given a room a short time later. The staff are attentive, friendly and will go out of their way to help you. An example of this is the owner calling a friend up and then taking me and my bf via scooter back to the hammam we wanted to visit (giving us a free and exhilarating ride round the main square). The vibe is really chilled but friendly with cool beats and a soothing fountain in the main area. It is literally in the souks but not so loud you feel you need to get away - its a 5 minute walk to the main square which is great. We also went on the 2 day sahara trip which the staff helped organise and it was by far the highlight of our trip - riding a camel, seeing some shooting stars - amazing. We would definitely recommend staying here. Top place with top staff.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kitzy_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Layla Rouge is tres jolie! very pretty. The floor tiles bounce out at you like jewels. The serene & chilled music playing, & the fountain trickling in the atrium makes it a very tranquil space. The manager is a gentle man called Jawad, & in fact there are a couple of other smiling gentle young men who will make you as much tea as you can drink. The rich red cushioned sitting room is great for group chats...& more tea. You are in such a central position, down what is a comparatively quiet atmospheric lane/street off the main souk madness. Basically, the wee map they have drawn on their site is about as easy as it gets! I found my way there from memory from the airport bus stop, even though my first taste of souk craziness was a little daunting at first. I did stop into the rug shop (Bazaar Chichaoua) right on the corner to check my bearings & encountered a very sweet young man who ended up being my tea host for much of the week - if you want to buy a gorgeous Berber rug, do it from them! they will not hardsell you, or hassle you., or rip you off. & if you are lucky, go in with a smile, & they will make you tea! (what can I say, I like tea.) Back to the Riad, the roof terrace is lovely. A quiet suntrap, where you can see the snowcapped mountains and a panoramic view of Marrakech. I had ideas of lolling about up there in the sun relaxing & drifting in & out of catnaps...alas I was too busy down on the ground walking & chatting! Layla Rouge has 3 tastefully decorated comfortable double rooms/suites (I had opportunity to look) & an 8-bed pretty dorm room. I think its serenity is owed to the fact that it is a smaller Riad, so there is no yahoo-ing going on. I met some good people there. It is also very clean. The lovely lady who cleans is called Hind (sp?) - she is in there daily with mops & a smile, changing towels etc. The Riad is I believe owned by a half English/Moroccan lady & her family so they know what we need! Went on a desert trip too - highly recommended - incredible sky - ask to go in Hussein's van - he's a decent chap & has the perfect Berber soundtrack for the awesome landscape! ..anyway, when back ended up staying at Layla Rouge for the remainder of my week-long visit. Pretty, serene, & safe. Very nice place. & with breakfast. Even at silly-o'clock in the morning! I had a great time, & I travelled solo btw. Hope to return. & btw, their wifi is lightning speed - faster than my broadband connection at home in London! (shame on you BT).
I have heard & read of a number of Riad proprietors being aggressive & pervy, which is obviously no good, so choose wisely!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s1ndydoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

This hostel is great, everything you need, staff are very friendly, anything you ask for or need an answer they will go out of there way to get it for you. We stayed here for 2 nights and then headed to Essaouria for 5, they sorted out our bus journeys and taxis etc for us! This place also has a nice plunge pool which is great for cooling off after a long day out in the sun. If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Marrakech which is easy to find, very friendly and somewhere to relax this place is perfect.

Oh and The resturant theysuggest to eat in "Toubkal", the food is amazing and really cheap!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dantaylor1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Cosy hostel in the centre of Marrakech. The hostel is nicely decorated in Morrocan style and has a pretty rooftop terrace with view over the Marrakech`rooftops. You`ll be welcomed with `Whiskey Marrocain`(mint tea) and you`ll be sleeping in comfy, airconditioned dorms.

The staff is very, very friendly and speaks both English and French. Whatever you need, towels, hammam or even a barber, they`ll arrange it for you!

Truly one of the best hostels we stayed in during our time in Morroco.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RianMooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

One of the most beautiful hostel's I've ever been to with a very friendly host who knows how to treats his guests well. furthermore it is calm and has a good athmospehere all in the centre of Marrakech and for a good price. Thanks for the stay Jouet and hopefully I'll return soon!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sjoerd v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sindi Sud
Hotel Sindi Sud
#302 of 500 in Marrakech
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dia
Riad Dia
#233 of 1,195 in Marrakech
207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Jennah Rouge
Riad Jennah Rouge
#274 of 1,195 in Marrakech
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aday
Hotel Aday
#416 of 1,195 in Marrakech
143 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Belko
Riad Belko
#419 of 1,195 in Marrakech
72 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad La Caleche
Riad La Caleche
#597 of 1,195 in Marrakech
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Layla Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Layla Rouge

Address: Rue el Ksour | Derb Rokni, 23, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #249 of 1,195 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £11 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1 Minute from Place D'Jeema el Fna in the centre of the souqs and possibly the first ever edible hostel riad. The free tea and cake – may stop you from trying to bite into the walls – or maybe not... Have a taste…Riad Layla Rouge breathes in the Mad Hatter’s tea party of colour that Marrakech conjures, and breathes out the nearby chaos – a gentler but still eccentric heartbeat. If Riad Layla Rouge could, it would cascade chocolate from the fountain in the courtyard, but the impact is truly mouth-watering nonetheless. Tea and cake, free all day – may stop you from biting into the walls – or maybe not…they may actually be edible. Only one minute from the main square, the 3 suites provide absolute privacy, the gorgeous mixed dorm encourages adventure sharing. All can enjoy the warm, communal atmosphere of the courtyard, Moroccan salon-dining room, and 2 flower and fruit tree draped roof terraces. All this enhanced by your own personal soundtrack with ipod speakers in each room. A small and perfectly formed family run riad in the centre of the souqs – Riad Layla Rouge breathes in the Mad Hatter’s tea party of colour and spices that Marrakech conjures, and breathes out the noise and craziness nearby – a gentler but still eccentric heartbeat. You cannot help but find your favourite colour here – by day Layla Rouge is a vase of flowers or a box of hand decorated chocolates, or an techni-flavour ice-cream stand; by night a treasure chest of glittering jewels, or a sparkling solar system. Use your imagination. Riad Layla Rouge wants you to get comfy in Marrakech; to feel safe and happy; imaginative and inspired – we combine a hostel spirit and atmosphere with that little bit of indulgence that you find in a luxury riad. Share your stories of travel and life. Laugh over tea and cake with other guests in our (almost) edible house. As the Mad Hatter said to Alice: ‘You could stay…What a mad, crazy, wonderful idea…’Whether you are travelling for the first time, or have done so for years – enjoy the rhythm of a city that transforms with the cycle of the sun. When you stay at Layla Rouge you can’t be anywhere else but the Wonderland of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Layla Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing