We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riad Layla Rouge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Riad Abaka(Marrakech)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Riad Mandar Zen(Marrakech)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Dar Naima(Marrakech)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Chorfa(Marrakech)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Reve d'Or(Marrakech)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Riad Hermes(Marrakech)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Riad Anjar(Marrakech)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (214)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveller rating
163
31
13
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
163
31
13
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdorm roommint teathe main squaregonna stayplenty of blanketscrazy placestaff was very friendly and helpfulstayed one nightamazing locationtaginebeds were comfortableminutes walkingrecommend staying herenice riadold cityhostelterrace
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 214 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2013 via mobile

Three of the most important things you look in a hostel in this crazy-exotic-fun city.stuff is pretty friendly.the rooms are pretty clean and fairly cheap.it really feels like home at some point.breakfast which is included is pretty satisfaying.the hostel is 5 minutes away from the main square by foot.i really enjoy my time here.i think if i ever come to marrakesh again layla rouge will be my place to stay..

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muhammet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

This riad has a very chilled out and relaxed atmosphere. It has shared mixed sex dorms as well as private double rooms. We booked three nights in the eight berth (four bunk beds) dorm which was clean and had one bathroom to share between eight people. The bathroom was also clean but the bath seemed to be clogged as water took a bit of time to drain after a shower.

There is a communal area which has music playing throughout the day at a low volume (turned off by 10pm) and it has an overall nice hostel feel about it. The roof terrace is an excellent place to relax in with some shisha and mint tea after a hard days trekking around Marrakesh and you can even have breakfast on the terrace on request. They have four or five resident tortoise that lurch around the terrace area so watch out for them as you're walking around up there. It's also a great area to get some night sky photography shots if you're so inclined.

The souks and djemaa el fna square are about five minutes walk away at most and the Riad itself is relatively easy to locate again once you've familiarised yourself with the surrounding landmarks. You can always try your luck with the locals if you're really lost, most are friendly and helpful, non were really aggressive/abusive that we found.

Staff are friendly and helpful without being obtrusive, speak decent English and they cook a great breakfast consisting of various breads and dough balls with preserves as well as fried egg, crepes, mint tea, coffee and fresh orange juice. Our only possible gripe was that we asked for a double room for our last night and due to some misunderstanding, they booked us into a different riad about 10 metres around the corner which was a nice place as well so no worries really.

Overall, the dorm room is cheap, the location is great for exploring the medina and souks, the breakfast is substantial and better than most that we had in Morocco and they even provide fresh clean towels if you've forgotten yours.

Room Tip: To get here, you can either follow the excellent directions and videos on their site or look for one of the chaps around the medina who look like they're pulling an empty cart around behind them, pay them 20-30 dirhams and they'll cart your stuff to the riad for you as you tail along.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phong L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

I stayed here a few weeks ago with 4 other girls and it was our first time in Marrakech. The staff are very welcoming and friendly, prepared to make you tea at any moment, help you organise excursions and even walk you to the main square to help you flag down a taxi. The hostel is very clean and well-kept. We stayed in the 8 bed dorm room which was very comfortable, the only slight problem being that there was one shower/toilet to be shared between upto 12 people.
Another great thing about this hostel is the breakfast which is included in the price. Every morning we were provided with more food than we could possibly eat and it was all delicious.
The Riad also offers a cooking class which we took. Be prepared - this involves a trip to the market to pick out your vegetables and live chickens...On the plus side, you get to eat delicious tajine at the end of it.
Overall I would definitely recommend this hostel for groups, couples or individuals, however, maybe not for families. It's a great place to stay, the staff will help you with anything you need and the best thing of all - there are tortoises on the Terrace.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

I failed to check the directions for here so had a little difficulty finding it and could not believe how easy it was once I knew where to go, one tip was that it was down a side alley that was a little dark and no signs pointing to it so was easy to miss if you walk down the 'road' and don't check fully

no complaints at all about the room or cleanliness :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JG00751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

I have travelled a fair bit, and this hostel could well be the best I've ever found. Very friendly and helpful staff. They really are. We felt utterly welcome there, and I'm missing my Marrakesh home already. The room we stayed in was simply fantastic. I imagine anyone else would say exactl tthe same. Sleep was perfect, a very peaceful place just off the bedlam of the souks. Breakfast is a glorious experiince, complete with meandering tortoises. Very good breakfast, but we didn't try the dinner there as we went on their recommendations of where to eat in the medina! Next time we go to Marrakesh, we will absolutely go to Layla Rouge without even trying other places. However, I would appreciate it if you could ignore this review at those times as we don't want to find out it's full. Thank you.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews