We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The lovely place at Marrakech”
Review of Riad Layla Rouge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Layla Rouge
Ranked #231 of 1,132 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Ireland, Papua New Guinea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The lovely place at Marrakech”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Firstly,if you're thinking of going to Marrakech you should to stay at Layla Rouge it's an amazing hostel, The Riad itself is just stunning with beautiful decoration, red everywhere and really lovely staff. And Aida is gorgeous with a beautiful smile, Sanae is very welcoming and helpful, the service. was excellent at all times, if you want to be spoiled in a fabulous and hospitable place,this is the place you should come!!!We will miss this place

Room Tip: So nice hostel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonya m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    29
    11
    3
    4
See reviews for
9
62
53
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
miami beach
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

They were all very warm and accommodating starting with my late arrival at10 pm and various requests throughout my stay. Abdel was helpful as i kept extending my stay at riad layla rouge because I just couldn't leave. He was very helpful with all the excursions that I took and the ones not to take. The rooms are very traditionally designed and very cozy. Hot running water during all times of day and hot mint tea whenever you wanted it. It has a great sunning deck at the top with great views of the Atlas mountains and around Marrakech. Sanaa was very helpful as she guided me throughout my stay with tips on where to shop and eat. She even taught this amazing cooking class where we made lamb and grounded beef tajine from scratch. We all went out and bought the ingredients from the market ( meat from the butcher and vegetables from the market ). The food was so very good. One day I had a hankering for a fruit salad even though the included breakfast is already so very good so Aida went out and bought all the fruit and chopped it up and made a amazing fruit salad moroccan styler. Everyone enoyed it immensely. I heard Abdel started helping chopping the fruit with Aida so we could get it faster. Al in all , Very great experience and will go back next time I am in Marrakech.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pilatesbylouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This place rocks. Location is 2 mins from Jemaa-el-Fna (the market square) and so is perfect. The facilities are very good and include a roof top terrace with views of the Atlas and as much mint tea and as many homemade cakes as you want! Having said that, the real reason you want to stay her is the people. Abdel the manager is great as are all his team, including Sana, Abdullah and Muhammad. These guys are so friendly and helpful it literally couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2014

It really has a perfect spot right by the Medina, and all the bathrooms, towels, breakfast, computer, internet, rooftop terrace, and fun decorations you could want...

...but the reason I'm writing this review is, when we had an emergency cancellation problem with out flight back to the states and needed to talk at length with the airlines, their staff dropped everything and put the whole Riad at our disposal to help. Phone cards, their personal cell phones, their laptops, a landline to the internet so we could Skype...without them I don't know what we would have done. They went above and beyond their responsibility as a hotel.

I don't normally write reviews, because there are enough descriptions here about Layla's cool decorations and location... I'm writing this one because what you really need when traveling abroad is a staff who can help you out of a jam, and who is reliable and trustworthy. This is one of those places. Can't put a price on that : )

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I enjoyed my stay with them a lot. the manager of the place is very helpful and even gave me his cell phone number, in case I got lost and couldn't find my way back to the Riad. Thankfully that never happened....
I was sleeping in the tent up on the roof which was a unique experience.
the atmosphere in the Riad was very friendly and familiar.

Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Split, Croatia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Great cooking class for a reasonable price, we made tagine and it was delicious! Our teachers were awesome!! All the staff is very nice and hospitable and I definitely recommend!
We didnt sleep there but the next time we go to Marrakech we definitely gonna stay there!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missivanam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My stay at Riad Layla Rouge was amazing. After getting an airport pick-up, that was organized by the hostel staff, I was offered tea, cake, and little assortments of deserts to snack on. I was impressed with the beautiful decoration and the little details that helped make the hostel feel more homey (like the book shelf with books of previous travelers). Breakfast was served fresh and efficiently by the staff. I slept in the 8 person dorm, and it was cleaned daily. The staff were very personable, chatty, and eager to offer advice on how to make my time in Marrakesh worthwhile. I wouldn't hesitate to book a room with this hostel again. Oh, the turtles on the roof were a nice surprise and definitely make checking out this hostel worthwhile.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Slawi
Riad Slawi
#90 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sherazade
Hotel Sherazade
#262 of 496 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dia
Riad Dia
#222 of 1,132 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Jennah Rouge
Riad Jennah Rouge
#257 of 1,132 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Radya
Riad Dar Radya
#243 of 1,132 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aday
Hotel Aday
#387 of 1,132 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Layla Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Layla Rouge

Property: Riad Layla Rouge
Address: Rue el Ksour | Derb Rokni, 23, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #231 of 1,132 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1 Minute from Place D'Jeema el Fna in the centre of the souqs and possibly the first ever edible hostel riad. The free tea and cake – may stop you from trying to bite into the walls – or maybe not... Have a taste…Riad Layla Rouge breathes in the Mad Hatter’s tea party of colour that Marrakech conjures, and breathes out the nearby chaos – a gentler but still eccentric heartbeat. If Riad Layla Rouge could, it would cascade chocolate from the fountain in the courtyard, but the impact is truly mouth-watering nonetheless. Tea and cake, free all day – may stop you from biting into the walls – or maybe not…they may actually be edible. Only one minute from the main square, the 3 suites provide absolute privacy, the gorgeous mixed dorm encourages adventure sharing. All can enjoy the warm, communal atmosphere of the courtyard, Moroccan salon-dining room, and 2 flower and fruit tree draped roof terraces. All this enhanced by your own personal soundtrack with ipod speakers in each room. A small and perfectly formed family run riad in the centre of the souqs – Riad Layla Rouge breathes in the Mad Hatter’s tea party of colour and spices that Marrakech conjures, and breathes out the noise and craziness nearby – a gentler but still eccentric heartbeat. You cannot help but find your favourite colour here – by day Layla Rouge is a vase of flowers or a box of hand decorated chocolates, or an techni-flavour ice-cream stand; by night a treasure chest of glittering jewels, or a sparkling solar system. Use your imagination. Riad Layla Rouge wants you to get comfy in Marrakech; to feel safe and happy; imaginative and inspired – we combine a hostel spirit and atmosphere with that little bit of indulgence that you find in a luxury riad. Share your stories of travel and life. Laugh over tea and cake with other guests in our (almost) edible house. As the Mad Hatter said to Alice: ‘You could stay…What a mad, crazy, wonderful idea…’Whether you are travelling for the first time, or have done so for years – enjoy the rhythm of a city that transforms with the cycle of the sun. When you stay at Layla Rouge you can’t be anywhere else but the Wonderland of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Riad Layla Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing