We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheerful and cheap”
Review of Toubkal

Toubkal
Ranked #91 of 861 Restaurants in Marrakech
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cheerful and cheap”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Cheerful and cheap eatery in Marrakech. Easy to find in good location for people watching and chosen as it was always busy with tourists and 'locals' Ate mostly veg dishes which were quite delicious. If you like milky coffees order the hot milk with Nescafe (60p).

Bonus was the very clean toilet!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    463
    144
    51
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“not that bad !!!”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

i was looking for a cheap price restaurant located on the main square
the hotel adviced me to have a look at Toubkal, hotel team described me this place like a canteen to tourist where food is quite good and cheap price
i wanted to compared a basic cheap restaurant with a suppose to be "high standard" one
i have been very pleased with the food, the veggie couscous i had and the grilled chicken was just perfect and very tasty, which counts for me a lot
waiters were very friendly and helpfull and quite funny
the terracce was packed , full of couple, familly and local guys - proove of the quality food
i do recommend this basic restaurant

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank matthias r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great fast delicious food”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We visited while away for my birthday, the best thing they let homeless people have any left over food to share, we could learn a lot in the uk about not wasting a thing.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quick, satisfying delicious food”
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

Ate here three times on our trip. Easy to find (important).Very friendly staff who recognized us. Fast service, clean toilet( important), great view from the first floor and lovely, very cheap food. The chicken in the tagine fell off the bone and was delicious. Would highly recommend for a quick, satisfying meal.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst food we ate in Marrakesh”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We chose this restaurant because it looked busy and full of all types of people. We even stood and waited for a table ! What a mistake . We ordered grilled chicken kebab . It turned out to be fried small pieces of chicken which was very greasy and oil used had a terrible smell , as did the fries . We ate very little and waited an age trying to pay ! Definitely one to avoid !

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pattyav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toubkal also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Toubkal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing