We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heart and Soul”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Charme d'Orient
Ranked #11 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2014

One can clearly see a theme developing with people's thoughts on Riad Charme d'Orient. Having spoken to other guests and from reading reviews on several sites it appears that this place is much loved by the people who stay there.

For us it was simply perfect. From the moment we arrived we felt very welcome. We were warmly greeted from the taxi and shown inside. The riad created a very striking first impression particularly as we arrived at night. Coming in off the dark street one enters another world, the courtyard of the riad, which is serene, beautifully lit, spacious and comfortable.

We had taken the room on the top floor which is the smallest of the rooms but perfectly created. For two people who travel light this room was ideal. With a delightful bathroom attached, we were very happy there. Furthermore, our room came with a separate private lounge on the roof terrace which is nice to just sit and slouch in during the evening.

Immediately it was clear how much thought and energy had gone into preparing this place. Everything is hand-crafted. Everything is so beautiful. Every detail is sorted. Not just in the rooms, but everywhere. This place is clearly the product of somebody pouring their heart and sole into it. It really is a pleasure to be in such an environment

Breakfast is served on the sunny roof terrace each morning by bright-smiling girls who are a delight to meet. Sa'id looks after the place day and night and can book you taxis or arrange whatever else you need to do.

Meeting Laurence and Alain, the owners of the riad, was a great pleasure. They made us feel perfectly at home and welcome. They pour there heart and soul into the care of there guests just as they have with the renovation of their riad and made our trip to Marrakech all the more memorable for it.

We will not forget the beauty and atmosphere of this place. I hope that one day we will have the opportunity to stay here again.

For any travelers staying here in the future:
The riad is in a good place and is close to everything you'll want to see but I strongly advise taking the taxi to and from the airport etc unless you already know the city. It saves a lot of hassle. The streets of Marrakech are tricky to navigate at first and the maps aren't always accurate in that they don't show every little alleyway! But after 1 day there it makes sense!




.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jakesveta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

We booked this Raid because of the revues on tripadvisor and we were not dissappointed....... we had a great week.
The rooms was delightful and had everything we needed. Everywhere was spotless and attention to detail within this riad made the stay really worth while.
Laurence and Alan, the owners, are very welcoming, they are so helpful and provide useful information on the places worth a visit. Breakfast is very good and satisfying. The stay was everything and more.
Marrakech is unbelievable and really should not be missed. J&K Anglesey

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanTwist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Beutiful riad with lovely rooms, clean and nicely decorated. The owners and the staff were friendly and helpful, made you feel at home. We liked the roof terrace very much, sat in the sun after a lovely breakfast. We recommend the riad to everyone and hope to bee back in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomas065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The Riad Charme d'Orient was everything we expected and more. From the moment we arrived we were shown from our taxi and given traditional moroccan tea (which is lovely). The room was spacious and had all the amenities we required. Laurence couldn't have been more helpful during our stay, giving us advice and was also very helpful via email - answering my many questions before we arrived. We ate at the Riad on our first night and had chicken targine which was lovely (as was the breakfast). When we visit Marrakech in the future there is no doubt we will return to Riad Charme d'Orient. It is fantastically located and the service was brilliant. Thank you to Laurence and your team!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We have just spent 5 nights at this beautifully renovated riad and were made to feel welcome throughout our stay. Laurence, Alain and the team were extremely helpful and informative and nothing was too much trouble. Arranging excursions and planning outings were made easy with the staff's help and guidance. The breakfasts on the roof terrace were a treat for us coming from a cold and wet UK. The accommodation is spotlessly clean and well maintained and is positioned in the heart of the medina close to all the action. We highly recommend this riad to anyone wanting to visit this bustling and vibrant city and would choose the same accommodation without hesitation if we decided to return for another visit. Many thanks again to Laurence, Alain and the team for helping to make our holiday such a memorable one.

Room Tip: We stayed in the small comfortable Ahlam room tucked away in the corner of the roof top terrace whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This review is long overdue. My friend and I traveled to Marrakesh for a girl’s birthday trip last July 2013. We found this riad via Trip Advisor and while there are plenty of options, we booked this one based on location and budget. We were extremely pleased and from arrival we were greeted and assisted in every way.

This was our first time in Marrakesh and our visit was during Ramadan. While we were two females traveling on our own, Alain & Laurence (the owners along with the awesome staff) took care of us and made us feel safe despite the challenges we faced from the local men as we explored during the day. We were extremely grateful to the owners ast the riad was closed due to renovation construction yet they honored our reservations and allowed us to stay. We had the whole riad to ourselves – it was amazing!!

We were given a double room on the second floor – gorgeous!! The room was spacious with a sitting area, bathroom with double sink and shower – we did not want to leave the riad! Considering it was so hot in July (over 100 degrees Fahrenheit) it felt comfortable and every afternoon after sightseeing, we would take advantage of the courtyard pool to soak and cool down. One night we went to the roof top and took a nap while listening to the sounds of the medina. Breakfast was served every morning on the roof top and we could see the mosque as well as some storks fly around.

The location is inside the old medina close to one of its border walls. There are many alleys and one can get lost. Thankfully Laurence would meet with us every morning, draw us maps guiding us to where we wanted to go and provided us tips. She showed us a 5 min walking short cut to the Jemaa El Fna. She even booked tours to the Atlas Mountains, waterfalls, camel ride and our relaxing day at the spa – Les Bain de Marrakesh. A tip: while it’s fun to explore within the medina, we suggest taking a horse carriage ride which takes you to the new area with all the new luxurious hotels – quite a sight.

Overall, we loved our stay. Our hosts were charming and delightful. If and when we return, definitely staying here again. This is a top recommend in my book.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jetsetMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

This riad was one of the most beautiful (and clean!) places we saw in Marrakech. The couple who owns it completely renovated it in the traditional style with gorgeous handiwork all over.
The owners were incredibly kind and hospitable. They arranged a taxi for us, which we definitely recommend. Then arranged for someone to walk us to the riad. Upon entering, we had wonderful Moroccan tea and biscuits. Our room was also quite beautiful and had everything we needed.
Breakfast each morning was delicious and consisted of fresh baked breads and pastries, fruit, juice, yogurt, and coffee. The owners did everything they could to make us feel comfortable and enjoy Marrakech, even hand drawing us maps and recommending sites to see.
The first night, we ate chicken and lamb tajines--the best Moroccan food we had there. Highly recommended.
Stay at this riad!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JackPasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.2 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#11 of 502 in Marrakech
1,029 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#5 of 502 in Marrakech
237 reviews
0.6 mi away
Andalla Riad & Spa
Andalla Riad & Spa
#3 of 1,170 in Marrakech
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Alnadine
Riad Alnadine
#4 of 1,170 in Marrakech
703 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#7 of 1,170 in Marrakech
670 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Aguaviva
Riad Aguaviva
#8 of 1,170 in Marrakech
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Charme d'Orient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Charme d'Orient

Address: Touareg Street 61, Ksibet N'Hass, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £60 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Charme d'Orient 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad «Charme d'Orient» is situated in the heart of the beautiful Marrakech Kasbah quarter. You will be received in pure Arab-Andalusian style after its restoration in subtle harmony between tradition and comfort, and surrounded by a noble and charming atmosphere. It is especially well located close to the Saadian Tombs, the palaces of El Badi and La Bahia, and the famous Djeema El Fna Square. Therefore, the Riad has many appealing features to seduce you, and play its full charm on you! Laurence & Alain and all the staff are looking forward to welcoming you and sharing our enthousiasm with you, together with our friendly staff, any time of the year to make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Charme d'Orient reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing