We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Riad al Loune is an oasis in a hot, bustling, vibrant city”
Review of RIad Al Loune

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
RIad Al Loune
Ranked #116 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
199 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Riad al Loune is an oasis in a hot, bustling, vibrant city”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

From the moment you cross the threshold of this beautiful property you will be transported to a bygone age of beauty, comfort and simple pleasures.

The manager and his staff will take care of your every need (including in our case meeting our taxi and guiding us on the 10 minute walk through the crowded streets to the front door). The tea provided on arrival sets the tone for your stay, nothing is too much trouble and all requests for assistance are met with a calm confidence that reassures you that you are in safe hands.

Breakfast was a feast and set us up properly for the adventures of the day.

Marrakech is a hot, vibrant, bustling city whose sights and sounds (and occasionally smells) can over power the senses. By contrast Riad al Loune is an oasis of calm into which you can retreat, regroup and refresh ready for the next adventure.

I have no hesitation in recommending it.

Room Tip: All rooms have a/c. Pick a 1st floor room for more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuckyeddieBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    16
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
111
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

A beautiful luxury riad in Marrakech Medina. Nice bedrooms, comfortable public rooms, swimming pool and hamman.
We were treated so well by the staff from the moment we arrived to the moment we went back home.
This is a wonderful Riad, the best place we have ever stayed at, and I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Our visit to Riad Al Loune out surpassed our expectations. After a very warm and friendly Moroccan welcome with traditional tea and small pastries we were shown around the Riad and from the top terrace given an insight to its location in respect to the sights of Marrakech. Very useful in getting your bearings in what is an extremely difficult city to navigate! We stayed in the red room on the first floor which opened out onto its own private terrace looking down onto the inner sanctum below which is especially magical in the evening when lit by candle light. We would thoroughly recommend a stay at Riad Al Loune

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavle, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Beautiful and peaceful riad a few minutes walk from the sqare. Beautiful rooms, very clean and nice beds. Breakfast is very good even if the coffee could be better... The place is magic by night with many candles. Many riads can be resonsive because of thin doors towards the garden, and so is also this, but people genrerally spoke quitely so we where never disturbed by noice. The staff is very helpful and kind in all ways. The only thing we didn´t like was the music, mostly the same track, played again and again, but the staff turned it of when we asked, so there was not a problem.

Can really recommend this riad, and hope to be able to come back! It´s a great experience, like a fairytail, to stay here.

Room Tip: The Brown room is Beautiful, with entrance right to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lill-Elsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Riad al Loune is a gorgeous riad, restored very beautifully and with very much attention to detail.
The inner patio with the plunge pool is very cozy, it also has a lounge room and is designated for breakfast also. We stayed in the brown room, which is better in real life than in photos, has a lot of space and has a huge bathroom. What I particularly appreciated was the heating of the room, which in January is much appreciated.
The top terraces are simple and have a stunning view of the Atlas mountains (especially at sunset). Staff is helpful with anything you need and breakfast is quite diverse.

2 things to consider when choosing this riad:
The location - it takes about 3 minutes to get there from the closest square and can be a bit challenging to get back to. After 2 says you get the hang of it and on the plus side you can always call someone from the riad to come pick you up, especially at night when there are few people in the street.
In the morning and at night it can be a bit noisy, especially if you have a room on the ground floor as we did. There is a strong echo because of the shape of the building, but this is something which probably happens in many riads.

All in all we had a very pleasant stay and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a superior floor to get more privacy and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank miruna_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston-Salem, NC
Level Contributor
252 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Riad al Loune is located a reasonable walk from Jmaa el Fna and other Marrakech sites. However, taxis are not able to find the nearby small square so returning at night from a restaurant outside of walking range is dicey at best. The riad itself is adequate, though nothing special. Rooms are clean and fairly comfortable but a bit long in the tooth. It is impossible to sleep in as the riad is extremely noisy with the doorbell ringing beginning early morning and the heavy, sliding door closures banging loudly. The potentially best feature is the second level rooftop terrace, not shown us by staff, which is minimally furnished and in part looks like a construction zone. We happened upon this area on a Friday around sunset and the 360 view and sounds of the call to prayer were awesome. Breakfast was adequate consisting of juice, lots of bread, and a bit of chopped fruit. Staff were not always on site or accessible so assistance was not always available when needed. A restaurant that was recommended to us repeatedly was the worst experience of our trip -- rude, dishonest restaurant staff. Overall, Riad al Loune was adequate for our needs but nothing special. Would try elsewhere if we return to Marrakech.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NCtravelerWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and loved it. Unlike a previous review we thought the location of this Riad was part of its appeal. On arrival the location seemed daunting but the staff explained the map and walked with us part way to the square. Once we walked the route ourselves we found it very easy and being slightly hidden from the busy market lanes made it a little oasis to go and relax at when the rest of Marrakech is still busy. The room was beautiful, breakfast was a real treat and the staff very welcoming.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank YoHo_photo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Zahia
Riad Dar Zahia
#145 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Anjar
Riad Anjar
#102 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Melhoun
Riad Melhoun
#80 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riad Alma
Riad Alma
#111 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Puchka
Riad Puchka
#58 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Fleur d'Orient
Riad Fleur d'Orient
#93 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RIad Al Loune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RIad Al Loune

Property: RIad Al Loune
Address: 77, Derb el Kadi | Azbezt, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad is located in Marrakech Medina's heart, a few steps from the Ben Yousseph Madrassa;few minutes walking distance from Djemaa el Fna square. The Riad has 7 rooms ( with air conditioning/heating, bathtub/shower, hairdryer),solarium,swimming pool,hammam, SPA (massages etc), relax zone,indoor moroccan dinners and parties on request (local food, music,dance).Upon request airport pick-up and drop-off.Walks and guided tours.Wi-fi ADSL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your RIad Al Loune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing