We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cafe and good henna”
Review of Henna Cafe

Henna Cafe
Ranked #1 of 20 Nightlife in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Henna Cafe in Marrakech is a Cultural Association registered in Morocco. It provides: A multi cultural meeting place; a community cafe; a henna salon which offers an educational henna experience to visitors; a gallery of art by local aspiring artists and runs a weekly kids club offering free creative activities to the children of the Bab Doukalla area of the city. All of the profits from the cafe and the henna experience are used to provide assistance in Marrakech in the form of free education and supportive projects. We currently run a full timetable of lessons and educate 300+ people per week. We also offer funds to support worthwhile projects in Morocco, Details of our recent charitable activity can be seen at our website Thank you to all of the conscious travellers who support real and positive change by choosing the one and only Henna Cafe Marrakech look for the bright and sunny orange signs and you will know you have found the perfect place for conscious , safe and natural henna. See you here x
Rugby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice cafe and good henna”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We tried to find this little cafe on numerous occasions but couldn't because it's the wrong address in here and therefore google maps aswell. Eventually found it by getting the address from the website and was really pleased we went. Really nice and friendly people who work there who obviously care about responsible tourism. The henna I had was nice as well as the food and drinks. I woulda gone for more lunches and tattoos had we found it earlier. Really cute little tortoise in the roof terrace too!

Helpful?
Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    76
    24
    13
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We came here because we were advised that not to try the Henna at the main square.
The food here taste good with very good price. Also, the henna is made by the women who cook there. Staffs are very friendly and helpful.
Should definitely come visit for a safe henna and have some delicious Moroccan food while waiting it to dry.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Yanice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A lovely find!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Persist in your hunt for this little gem! An oasis of calm away from the hustle and bustle of the souks, an lovely little place to get away from the heat of the day. Enjoyed a henna cafe sandwich and a falafel in dappled shade watching the tortoises walk about. The henna is lovely, safe and organic, and the henna artist is very quick and talented! A relaxing couple of hours spent here and good value for money!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidTA13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well worth seeking out”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Just returned from a fab hour or two at this great spot. After getting lost once looking for it earlier in the day we sat briefly in a cafe in the square to regroup and figure out where to go. And we were very glad we succeeded. The roof terrace's is fab to get out of the sun without being inside, whilst listening to the bustling backdrop of the souks below.
We had a light lunch of the henna cafe sandwich (spiced potatoes and egg) and a fruit salad with the lemon and mint cocktail from the specials menu, all were great, and the drink especially refreshing.
Both myself and my sister had henna art done and both opted for one of the many 50dhs designs, but there are also many full hand or foot designs from 100 up.

We were so happy to have found this place as we both wanted a henna souvenir without risking the dubious women in the market, and were happy to a part of responsible tourism.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 1990Littlelottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very impressed!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Although it wasn't the easiest place to find, this is a real gem up a small staircase in the wall! The food and tea offered real variety from other cafes and made for a great value lunch. There was a great selection of affordable and organic Henna which was applied brilliantly. Very friendly service but there was limited seating if you were a big party.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KB1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Henna Cafe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Henna Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing