We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A refuge from the tumult of Marrakech”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Africa and Spa
Ranked #98 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Riad Africa was a refuge from the wonderful chaos of Marrakech! Radoun, the manager, met and welcomed my friend and me with mint tea and a ready smile. Our room (Zambezi), on the second floor, was small but adequate and the bathroom was spacious. The room was dark (probably because of the ceiling paneling) but who wants to spend time in the room except to sleep and then, darkness is helpful. We did enjoy having a coffee/tea pot so we could have tea in the room before breakfast. There was TV (which we never turned on) and a hair dryer as well. We spent our time at the Riad on the lovely rooftop (before our visit ended the resident cat had taken to snoozing in my lap while I wrote in my journal) and enjoyed the benches overlooking the central pool on our level (easier to get wi-fi there too). We had the key to our room and the key to the front door so we could come and go at any hour. We felt well provided and cared for but not smothered. The location is wonderful: a path to Jemaa El Fna (the central square) on one side and the Bahia palace and old Jewish quarter the other way.
I cannot say enough about the great staff. Everyone was kind and welcoming and tried to do everything they could to make it a great stay. Radoun went “above and beyond” in walking me (and my two bags—yes I bought rugs!) to the taxi stand in the morning, got me a taxi and told me in no uncertain terms what to pay. I would stay here again. The surroundings were pleasant but the people made it special

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

Beautiful Riad....and would highly recommend...but we arrived at night...and the streets you go down to get to it seemed a little scary....with their high walls and quite narrow..and some rubbish/ bricks and rubble around and lots of cats......that said..you get there...and it is lovely.....like most places in Marraketch...you have no idea what lies behind the tall walls everywhere! Roof garden was very nice..if a little hot in the day time. Breakfast plentiful..although I am not sure croissants are traditional..they were very nice and freshly squeezed orange juice and delighted pancakes and yogurt. For a traditional experience..with some comfort as well..and only 5 mins from the main square....can highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julievickerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We loved the roof terrace, our rooms were great, and the manager Redouan and his staff could not have been more attentive. We would have preferred a local style breakfast to croissants, and we found the three course dinner overpriced and underwhelming (there are many better places to eat just a short walk away).

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Really central, though well hidden away - you need a long piece of string or a good sense of direction to find it! Comfortable A/C rooms, big showers, great roof terrace, wi-fi works on lower levels only, charge 70 euros per night (single room) B&B, makes a great base for Marrakech, would go back again any time with friends or family.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We spent 4 nights in the Lalibela suite and found it perfect for our needs. The riad is close enough the main squre to make a brief walk and also to the road where we met our superbly helpful guides for our trips. The decor is very authentic and the splash pool a godsend on our return from some trips. The terrace provides a wonderful environment to capture the sun's rays or shade to enjoy a cold beer from the bar. Perhaps the greatest asset of the riad is the very friendly and helpful staff, led by Redouan, who went out of his way to ensure that our needs were met within the riad as well as ensuring the trips we organised went without a hitch. It made our holiday!

Room Tip: Lalibela offers a level of privacy away from the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank walter b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely riad in a fantastic spot in the center of the old city of Marrakech. Although slightly off path, it's within 5 minutes walk of the main square. The decor is authentic, as is the food. Our host, Said, was incredibly helpful and friendly and really made our stay that much better.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burkington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We spent 6 nights in this friendly, comfortable riad which is ideally placed for visiting all the sights and places of interest in Marrakech. Our suite, Casablanca, was very comfortable and well equipped and the internal windows looked down over the plunge pool surrounded by beautiful flowers and greenery and cushions to lounge on after a hard days sightseeing. The lovely roof terrace was perfect for breakfast, dinner or just relaxing on a sun lounger with a book and a cold beer served by the ever attentive Said. Breakfast was ideal - freshly squeezed orange juice, yogurt, eggs, local bread and pastries with jams, and tea/mint tea or coffee. We took a day trip to a Berber village in the High Atlas (Said's home village) and had lunch at Dar Tassa retreat, a haven of peace and tranquility, and walked in the fruit and olive groves and watched Fatima make local Berber bread. Our stay was made by the friendliness of the staff and Nick Anstead of Specialist Morocco, who always had time to answer any questions, mark places of interest on our much used map or suggest things to see. We loved Marrakech, from the noise and colour of Jemaa El Fna to the quiet haven of the Majorelle gardens and Riad Africa is the ideal place to stay to make the most of a trip to this fascinating city. Dai & Jenny

Room Tip: We only saw our suite, Casablanca, which was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaiJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
africanick, Owner at Riad Africa and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thanks Dai for your lovely review. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay so much and hope you'll return one day - and perhaps spend some time with us at our Atlas Mountain Retreat - Dar Tassa. All the best - Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#54 of 500 in Marrakech
256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Diana
Riad Diana
#83 of 500 in Marrakech
717 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Bounouar
Riad Dar Bounouar
#97 of 500 in Marrakech
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Melhoun
Riad Melhoun
#59 of 500 in Marrakech
269 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad L'Emir
Riad L'Emir
#67 of 500 in Marrakech
226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#37 of 500 in Marrakech
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Africa and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Africa and Spa

Address: 94 - 95 Derb Sakka | Riad Zitoun Lakdim, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: £68 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Africa and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful refurbished first category guesthouse hotel in heart of Marrakech medina with large dipping pool and tropical roof garden. English-Dutch owned and locally managed. Riad Africa is very centrally located in a safe and peaceful residential neighbourhood in the Riad Zitoun Lakdim area of the Medina. Riad Africa has 16 spacious bedrooms and suites themed after Africa's most evocative and fabled destinations. Each room is equipped with air-conditioning, iPod docks, bath robes/slippers, a hair-dryer and personal safe. High speed wireless internet access is available throughout the riad. Guests can cool off in and relax around one of the largest plunge pools in the medina. A tranquil palm-filled courtyard, a comfortable dining room/salon, a massage room, heated plunge pool, juice bar and private roof garden/terrace offer a choice of public areas in which to unwind. A range of health and beauty treatments are available including a massage/treatment room and nearby hammam. Offering easy access (just a 2 minute walk from the taxi stand and bank) it takes just 5 minutes to walk to the bustling Djemaa el Fna square along the popular/easy to navigate Riad Zitoun Lakdim street. An excellent choice of local restaurants, cafes and shops is located within a 5 minute radius on foot, including the highly rated and atmospheric Kosybar. Other attractions located close by the riad include the Mellah, Kasbah and Dar Si Said Museum. Popular with couples, groups of friends and families with older children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Africa and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing