We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ourika Valley Day Tour”
Review of Sahara Tours 4x4

Sahara Tours 4x4
Ranked #2 of 868 Tours in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Sahara Tours offers private day tours from such ancient cities as Marrakech and Fez, through the high Atlas Mountains and out into the Sahara Desert. Anywhere you would like to see, it is our pleasure to show you. We have new comfortable, air-conditioned 4x4s for smaller groups and minivans for larger groups. We take our time, driving slowly, stopping any time that you would like to have a break and take pictures. We can organize day trips for any sized group - family, friends or on your own and can accommodate a wide variety of budgets. We are friendly and professional. We speak Spanish, French, English, Italian. Our wish is for you to enjoy a spectacular trip of a lifetime.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase, Stairs / lift, Activities for young children, Baby buggy parking, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

One of the best and most interesting experiences of my life. The tour guide met us at the hotel at 08.30, and we then drove to the Atlas mountains. The views were spectacular, and the driver stopped whenever we requested, which allowed us to get amazing photographs. The climb to see the waterfalls was brilliant and the tour guide was extremely friendly. He answered any questions we had and also educated us about the Berber lifestyle and Morocco in general. The tour guide reccomended a restaurant which served traditional Moroccan/Berber cuisine, and left us to have lunch before meeting us for the drive home. We arrived back in Marrakech at 5pm so we had a full day out! We paid just under 1500 dirham (just over £50 per head!) for the two of us for the private tour so it was excellent value for money! If you are planning an excursion when visiting Marrakech then I highly recommend Sararah Tours!

1  Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HassanOuali, Manager at Sahara Tours 4x4, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Katie

Thank you for your excellent review.

We are so happy to know that you did enjoy your trip with us and you had an excellent experience with Said and Ibrahim.

It was a pleasure to meet you and to take you to visit the authentic Morocco.

Thank you for using our servces and see you next time.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (987)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

576 - 580 of 988 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

One of the best experiences of my life! The trip is amazing to the desert. Spending the night in the desert between the giant dunes will go with me forever.
The tour was very well organised and our guide/driver Ahmed was outstanding, very kind and respectful, he was very honest and explained everything patiently without being condescend.
The hotel was very nice on the first night and the trip was truly enjoyable. The vehicle could be more comfortable but that is the only thing that wasn't perfect.

Thank Lucas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HassanOuali, Gerente at Sahara Tours 4x4, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Hi Lucas

Thank you for your excellent review.

We are so happy to know that you did enjoy your trip with us and you had an excellent experience with Ahmed.

It was a pleasure to meet you and to take you to visit the authentic Morocco.

Thank you for using our servces and see you next time

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My wife and I decided on SaharaTours4x4 based on trip advisor reviews, price, and flexibility of itinerary. We emailed LOTS of tour companies and found that Hassan was extremely responsive over email and helped us coordinate a perfect 3 day/2 night desert trip from Marrakech to Fez. In regards to the logistics, we made a small deposit via western union and paid the rest in cash on arrival to Fez at the end of the trip. We never used western union before but it went very smoothly. Hassan was in contact right up until we left for Morocco and we were picked up at the door of our riad in Marrakech without a hitch to start the tour.

Our guide was Said and our driver was Ibrahim, who were both very engaging and knowledgeable. You get to know your guides well over the course of the trip and they give you great insight into Moroccan culture. A private tour is definitely the way to go (we had friends who did a similar tour with a large group and found it to be very impersonal and misrespresented online). Anything we wanted to do they would help to coordinate. Just be prepared to do a lot of driving, but plenty of stops for sightseeing and stretching your legs
Day 1 was spent driving through the Moroccan country side with plenty of photo ops. The first night was a stop in Dades Gorges. One bit of advice: when they give you the option of where to stay in Dades Gorges, choose Riad Chez Pierre. An unbelievable place literally nestled in the gorge with private terraces and spectacular views. Plus you’re served a gourmet 5 course French meal included (a nice break from cous cous and Tajine).

The highlight of the tour was the desert. The camel ride was fun, and the sunset/sunrise views were fantastic. Tons of stars at night. There were actually 4 other people on simultaneous Sahara 4x4 tours that met up with us for the desert portion of the trip, which made it fun to have other people to hang out with (even if none of us really spoke the same language!) The tents were actually more comfortable than expected, just make sure to bring a warm change of clothes because it can get cold at night. Said and a couple others were our guides for the desert portion. They served as our guides, photographers, chefs, and entertainers (playing berber music under the stars was pretty cool).

Day 3 was spent driving to Fez, and seeing the Moroccan landscape literally change before
our eyes. We made a quick stop in Azrou to feed the monkeys and checked out Ifrane before continuing on to our Riad in Fez.

From the first email I sent to Hassan to our drop off by Said and Ibrahim in Fez, it was a truly professional process and the trip of a lifetime. We would highly recommend SaharaTours4x4 to anyone.

Thanks again,
Jon and Karissa

Thank kj1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HassanOuali, Manager at Sahara Tours 4x4, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Hi Jonathan

Thank you for your review.

We are so happy to know that you did enjoy your trip with us and you had an excellent experience with Said and Ibrahim.

Was a pleasure to meet you and to take you to visit the authentic Morocco.

Best regards and see you next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We booked all our excursions through Sahara. Must say I was impressed with the services provided.

Great service would recommend to anyone!!!

Thank Mo8103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HassanOuali, Gerente at Sahara Tours 4x4, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Hi

Thank you for your review.

We are so happy to know that you did enjoy your trip with us and you had an excellent experience.

Was a pleasure to meet you and to take you to visit the authentic Morocco.

Best regards and see you next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We went to Morocco in the first week of March. During this time we wanted to go to the desert so we contacted Sahara Tours 4x4. we chose them because of the excellent reviews and the competitive prices. Communication by email before our arrival in Marrakesh was very good and rapid. They offered us a transfer service from the airport to our riad. This let us avoid the pressure of the taxi touts at the airport and the hassle of finding our riad.
Hassan who was our guide offered us a really professional service. We discussed our requirements with him and he explained the differences between the tours he offered impartially. We decided to book a trip to Zagora. Hassan went out of his way to meet our needs. He was happy to tailor the trip to our requests. He is a very easy going and sociable person. He is also a great promoter of his country, proud of his culture and ready to response to your questions with enthusiasm and with a good knowledge. Although being a short trip it allowed us to see many beautiful places and amazing Maroccan landscapes full of contrast. It was a great experience to see other sides of Morocco as opposed to the hustle and bustle of Marrakesh. We were so impressed with our first tour with Sahara Tours 4x4 that we decided to take a further one day tour to Essaouira which was also fantastic. Next time we go to Morocco we would definitely book a trip to Merzouga or a circular tour around Morocco, of course through the same company.
Choukrane!

1  Thank mana345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HassanOuali, Gerente at Sahara Tours 4x4, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Magdalena

Thank you for leaving your review.

We are so happy to know that you did enjoy your trips with us and we hope to see you again.

Was a pleasure to meet you and to share with you good moments.

Best regards and see you again in Morocco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sahara Tours 4x4 also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Sahara Tours 4x4? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing