We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break in December”
Review of Cesar Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cesar Resort & Spa
Ranked #251 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Visited the Cesar Resort & Spa with my wife and 18 year old daughter in December 2012. The hotel is beautiful and the staff were all very polite, friendily and helpful. Breakfast is included and although some reports give this a negative rating, besides being a little strange in offerings the food is very good and plentiful. We ate out most nights but the food in the hotel was also very good. Alcoholic drinks are similar prices to most other places in Marrakech.

We used the Spa and it is also very cool and relaxing. The Hamman was great value and certainly gives you a good scrub!!

The location is a little out of town (which is a good thing to escape the madness!) but it is walkable or if not you can get a taxi for 40-50 dhm. Look out for Yousseff in his taxi as he hangs around the hotel and gives excellent service. The local shoping centre and supermatrket are only 5 minutes walk away.

I would return and also recommend this hotel to others. We took a short break just before xmas and the daily temps were all +20degC and easily warm enough to sunbath.

Room Tip: Ask for a poolside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Glenn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 537 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2012

Well this hotel can be best described as a 'wannabee' boutique hotel.  We have stayed in many boutique type hotels around the World, and this is the first to disappoint.  Somebody has clearly spent a lot of money on their project, and first impressions, in the dark of the evening, are good……..

However I would neither return to the Cesar nor recommend it to anybody.

The hotel is about a year old, we think, on the south side of town (currently being developed) and is a taxi ride (5kms) to the centre of Marrakesh - the taxi bills certainly add to the cost of your stay.  There is a Carrefour supermarket just down the road which proved to be very convenient.

My husband suggested to the hotel that they consider putting on a shuttle bus to town, but the understanding of the staff in the hotel is VERY weak, no requests were met, and no questions adequately answered.  The manager asked us on our last day, in broken English, if we had just arrived!!  We must have seen him and greeted him on at least 4 previous occasions whilst he was just walking around……….

We went to Marrakech for my birthday, and asked reception to make a restaurant reservation for that Wednesday evening - nothing was done, and we eventually got there on the Friday night - after the event!!!

The hotel was very sterile, never anybody at the bar, nobody playing the piano and very few guests, and no atmosphere in the restaurant.  The upstairs bar and pool were all set to go, except there wasn't a member of staff in sight.

I have never seen so many staff, and their friends, milling around in a hotel!!!  Thousands of them, most of them doing NOTHING……..

Breakfast was the same every day - cheese omelette (not good if you don't eat eggs), yoghurt and croissants (both delicious) - no choices, except for tea or coffee and it took three days to get my tea made without sugar.  I also didn't appreciate the two birds (feathered) flying around the indoor dining room at breakfast, and picking at leftovers on the tables.

There is a doorman who opens and closes the front door, but never occurs to him to call us a taxi….  There are also hundreds of cleaners………. (clearly not in the spa though!!)
We did play golf on one day but that took many visits to the front desk to organise.
 
Over and above these previous comments NEVER allocate room 16 to your guests.  It sure was a 'Secret Escape', stuffed in a dark corner backing on to the bar, where we had to keep the curtains closed on the pool side most of the time, because it was next to the pool restaurant and smoking area, and the wait staff stood in front of our window at lunch time waiting to serve the outdoor restaurant guests.

Unlike a comment on Trip Advisor I see that the beds were turned down every evening - certainly not ours!!  But they did leave us bath salts, for a room which didn't have a bath.  We requested, via Mirian the receptionist, to move rooms but to no avail - the place didn't look busy with guests until the Saturday we left, just staff!!

On our last day we had a body scrub and massage - both excellent - in the enormous, soulless spa.  We had booked the appointments for 10:00am but think they had forgotten and were running around looking for gowns.  I went to the ladies room and it was disgusting, 2 filthy poo marked toilets, litter on the floor, no hand towels, no spa-type aromas, and during the whole process we never set sight on a single fluffy white towel……….

Clearly not a relaxing break with staff, and their friends, jabbering outside our room amongst the smoking guests most of the time. A huge financial investment has obviously been made in the hotel, but even more needs to be spent on the staff if they are to accommodate Western guests.

I would be too embarrassed to recommend this Secret Escape in Marrakech to anybody, given the unpleasant experiences we encountered.  Marrakech itself however has great atmosphere and is a wonderful place to spend a few days respite from the Great British weather.

Room Tip: Check out your room, before you unpack and ask to look at a couple of others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank globalbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cesarspa, Directeur général at Cesar Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2014

Dear Valuable Customer,

Thank you very much for your stay at Cesar Resort & Spa and your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are very sorry to read that you had unpleasant experience.

We wish to inform you that from the 15th December 2014 a British management team has taken over. We are reviewing all the customers comments and we are working on the necessary changes to meet your expectations and provide the high quality service we are known for.

We hope to see you again soon in Cesar Resort & Spa.

Best Regards

HESHAM KHALIFFA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

The Hotel, is in a quiet area of Marrackech and beleive me after a day in town you will need some quiet, it is a great escape from the madness of the town centre. The staff are very welcoming and service is excellent. The rooms are beautiful, beds comfy and spotless clean. It is exactly as it is described on the website.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the pool- the groundfloor rooms your bedroom door opens directly to the pool area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janette3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Stayed for 7 nights which was too long for Marakesh. Room, facilities, spa etc all excellent. Staff helpful but you must remember the country's second language is French and some have little or no English. Restaurant best decribed as coffee shop/bistro. Had two meals and quite acceptable but best to eat outside. The superb Al Fassia is only 50 metres down road (rated separately).
For some the issue of a 30 Dirham taxi ride to centre of town was an issue, For us , being outside of the city was a welcome relief from the dirt, stench and pollution of the old town.

Room Tip: Our room faced out to the main road but no issues with noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Cesar Hotel and spa for five nights. What a fabulous hotel. The rooms were so luxurious and well laid out bathroom with a fabulous shower. The bed was just the most comfortable ever, with lovely bedding.
The hotel itself is undersold by its exterior. In the basement there is a great relaxing spa area. We had a Haman and massage. Both were wonderful and very inexpensive. There is a nice indoor pool down there, plus steam rooms and relaxation areas.
There are two other outside pools, although they were too cold for me to go in. The pools are surrounded by sun beds, which are not the norm, but like giant bean bags to lie on. It’s just so easy to fall asleep on one in the sun.
The food available was always of a good standard. If you are there on a Sunday, go to the brunch, served from 12 – 4. The menu was very extensive, excellent food and good value, but allow plenty of time to eat, relax and take in the ambience.
The staff in the hotel were really helpful and pleasant, especially Yusuf and Atif, who served us at breakfast and in the bar. They were always cheerful and nothing was too much trouble. This however could be said of all of the staff, including the Manager, who was very hands on and attentive to guests.
We enjoyed some winter sun and relaxed to an unexpected level. It’s a great place to just chill out.
This is a great hotel and I would suggest, not one to be missed. It has easy access to the Souks and is about 200m from a shopping mall.
Give it a try you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seemed to be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chelseagirl1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

I think my opinion of the hotel was clouded (literally) by the weather. We went for winter sun, but got winter weather. So my first advice is not to go in November but this is my fault not the hotels. Hotel itself is fine, service is well meaning and polite but very slow. The hotel is lovely inside but feels quite a long way from everything. The free Hamman was nice although didn't include a scrub (it's the scrub down that really makes the Hamman). If I was to go to Marakesh again I would probably only go for 3-4 days rather than a week and use the extra days somewhere esle (essouira or atlas). Highly recommend the quadbike/buggy/camel trip from Tourag which hotel can book for you. Taxi to Medina seemed to be about 50DMS in day and 60-70 at night. Highly recommend the street market in Djemba El-Fna. The shock of the amount of hassle you get wheres of and after one or two days you are well accustomed to the whole argy-bargy of the place.

Room Tip: All rooms looked decent, it's quite a small hotel. We went for ground floor which had access to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Really pleasant hotel, just what we wanted, and needed, for a relaxing long weekend break after a busy year. Comfortable and quiet, attributes complemented by the friendly, attentive and extremely helpful staff. When I needed medical attention one evening (after a cat bite, not at the hotel) not only did they arrange the taxi but insisted that a staff member went with me. Having to go again the next day they arranged for the same driver, and subsequently a number of staff made a point of asking how I was.
The spa added to the relaxing nature of the stay, with hammams and massages. The restaurant choice was limited, but with the city centre a short ride (or 50 minute walk) away that's not a problem. It had been 27 years since we were previously in Marrakesh and the number of people and bustle in the city has increased somewhat over that time - so the calm of the Cesar provides a welcome contrast.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foxdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Al Fassia Aguedal
Al Fassia Aguedal
#75 of 500 in Marrakech
404 reviews
10.9 mi away
AG Hotel & Spa Marrakech
AG Hotel & Spa Marrakech
#309 of 500 in Marrakech
68 reviews
4.1 mi away
Domaine des Remparts Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Palais Dar Ambre
Palais Dar Ambre
#319 of 500 in Marrakech
62 reviews
3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mansour Eddahbi & Palais des Congres Marrakech
5.1 mi away
Lodge K Hotel & Spa
Lodge K Hotel & Spa
#151 of 500 in Marrakech
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cesar Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cesar Resort & Spa

Address: Route de l'Ourika, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #251 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: £107 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cesar Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cesar Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing