We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Birthday Treat”
Review of Cesar Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cesar Resort & Spa
Ranked #224 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We arrived at the Ceser after a short transfer late evening we were greeted with smiles and were given a fruity Mocktail and asked to take a seat after our passports were checked we were shown to our Junior Suite no 28 on the first floor and shown around and given an explanation on how things worked .
The Suite was spacious with sitting area massive bed ,bathroom with separate shower and his & his sinks rose petals were placed around the room we also had fruit , nuts and a bottle of bubbly we swiftly opened this a walked out onto the large terrace and from tis point we knew we were going to love it .

In the morning we breakfasted on the Sunny terrace the staff were friendly and the Breakfast fair with an egg station and delicious fresh orange juice .

We relaxed on our first day and tried out the inner courtyard pool but beware you will have to keep moving to chase the sun as it becomes shaded I would recommend the sky bar pool as there is no shade a DJ and excellent chill out sounds bean bag sum loungers and great staff, we ate up here on many occasions and the food was excellent tuna & Ceser salads recommend also the French fries are to die for so is the fresh mayo . Be aware that on Sunday they have a Brunch at 28 dh each its not good value (there is nothing wrong with the food) it's just a selection of the menu !!!!!
If you like wine go for the Morrocan it's good.
The hotel is on the Ouskirts to get to the main Square pay no more than 50 mdh and agree it first you can walk passed Carrefor it takes about 15 min but a taxi is easier as you will need all your energy when you get into town!!!!
When you arrive at the Medina embrace its a melting pot of smells sounds etc with motorbikes , horse and carriages , chickens and running around its also extremely safe so don't be put off there are beggars but you find this in an major City , after experiencing the Souks you can either eat locally or hop across town in a cab to the new town where there are plenty of excellent place to eat we recommed le Comptior ,jad mahal great entertainment with Belly Dancers.
Make sure you do the open top bus, Kasbar,and the YSL gardens.
I could go on and on Marrekech is an amazing place and the Ceser a perfect place from where to explore don't listen to other reviewers that complain about the Staff they are lovely and very helpful . Would I return yes in a flash ...

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mike_tay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cesarspa, Responsable réception at Cesar Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at Cesar Resort & Spa.
I am glad that you had a wonderful time with us and that you were pleased with the services provided by our staff. I will take great pleasure in sharing your compliments with all of them.

I hope to personally welcome you back in the near future.

Khadija
Responsable Hebergement
Cesar Resort & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (535)
There are newer reviews for Cesar Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 535 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2013

Stayed at this excellent hotel for a long weekend break with my grown up daughter. We found the young, enthusiastic staff to be friendly,efficient and nothing was ever too much trouble. Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice of food available. Spa treatments were good although I was disappointed that after such a positive experience with the staff,the receptionist who checked me out tried to overcharge me and was quite stroppy when I raised my concerns. This was a shame as all the other staff clearly work hard to create a positive and friendly feel to the hotel.
We would thoroughly recommend this hotel but be prepared to use taxi to get in and out of the centre. We again only had positive experiences with one driver "popping" back to check whether we were ready to return to the hotel after a meal in town...now that's service!

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Lindsey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed in this hotel in late January 2013 as a group of 4 women, after booking a deal through Voyage Prive. The hotel itself is beautiful and although being outside the center of Marrakech, it is only a short journey (5-10 mins) by taxi.

Our only disappointment in our stay was the false information that we were given by a member of the reception team. When showing us around our rooms upon arrival he informed us that the bottle of Grey Goose Vodka and Bombay Sapphire Gin were free and that we would only have to pay for drinks from the fridge. We were so surprised at this gesture that we asked him again and he clarified that we would only pay for drinks from the fridge. As seasoned travellers we were fully aware of the high prices attached to imported alcohol in foreign countries and would never have thought to drink it, had we not be reassured that it was free. However upon checking out we were presented with a large bill for the 2 bottles that we had opened, we had to pay for these despite being told twice they were free and have not received a refund since despite several requests.

The same member of staff also informed us that there was a free shuttle bus to the center, which when inquired about at reception we were told did not exist.

The incident with the alcohol, has overshadowed our experience of the Hotel Cesar as the cost attached to this false information was significant and something that we could not afford.

That being said overall the staff at this hotel are exceptionally friendly and helpful, so as long as you take the information given by some members with a pinch of salt and stay away from the alcohol provided in the room (unless you wish to pay for it), you will have a lovely time without the nasty surprise of a large bill when you leave!

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room, with doors that led out onto the pool area. This was perfect for a lazy...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cesarspa, Directeur général at Cesar Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2014

Dear Valuable Customer,

Thank you very much for your stay at Cesar Resort & Spa and your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are very sorry to read that you had unpleasant experience.

We wish to inform you that from the 15th December 2014 a British management team has taken over. We are reviewing all the customers comments and we are working on the necessary changes to meet your expectations and provide the high quality service we are known for.

We hope to see you again soon in Cesar Resort & Spa.

Best Regards

HESHAM KHALIFFA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We chose this hotel because of the majority of good reviews about it, and i have to say, I wasn't disappointed. it's a modern, stylish hotel and we stayed in one of the superior rooms which had a balcony overlooking the swimming pool, and it was just such a pleasant experience to sit out there in the morning sun. The room was bigger than I expected, well laid out, and very clean. We had stipulated twin beds in our reservation and when we arrived we had a double bed, but the staff were very quick and helpful to ensure that the beds were rectified. This was actioned almost immediately - no delays whatsoever. The staff were all very attentive and friendly and made us feel very welcome. The very few problems we had (TV didn't work, our bill was incorrect) - were all seen to immediately and dealt with very professionally. I only have very position opinions of the staff - If you have any queries regarding anything from tourist attractions, to resturants to hailing a cab - ask reception and they will help you. The spa staff are all very nice, perhaps not as attentive and helpful as the hotel staff, but we had a number of treatments and enjoyed them. I read a lot of reviews saying the breakfast was adequate - depending on what you're expecting, this may or may not disappoint. I thought it was perfectly suitable for my needs! The hotel is about 15 minutes away from the airport and the same to the Medina. There is a big Carrefour within 5 minutes walk from the hotel. It's all very easy to get around, and if i ever go back to Marakech, I will quite happily stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a_villeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

First impression is wonderful, as the huge doors are opened by a smart doorman. It's lovely inside, with wide, bright bar, restaurant and pool area. We had a twin room which was specious and simply but elegantly decorated. Lovely shower and bathroom, very comfy beds. The roof pool was fab, with space to laze around in the sun sipping cocktails. The ground floor pool was equally lovely, but cold! The heated pool downstairs is shallow but nice to do a few lengths, with a jacuzzi at the end.
Breakfast had a very wide selection with a good time from 8-10.30 so no need for early mornings! A highlight was returning one evening to be serenaded by a pianist in the bar. The staff were all knowledgable, friendly and very readily available. They were happy to book excursions for you which was helpful.
A few points to note:
- The hotel is about 5 mins from the city centre, so a taxi is needed to get in (it's too hot to walk). This ranged from 40-100Dh and needed to be haggled for, so it's an extra cost to consider.
- We went in march when it's not too busy and even then there was sometimes limited space around the pools, esp in the afternoon when the ground floor pool was in shadow.

Room Tip: In the summer, I'd try and choose an upstairs room so you get a private balcony.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clairelovesbath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Caesar hotel was very clean and we were not disappointed with our room which was a junior suite. the room was very clean with fabulous bath and separate shower. Staff was very attentive and keen to help. Spa staff not so friendly. There was a limited selection of food on offer, breakfast was adequate. Nearby was Al fassia restaurant which we would highly recommend, also handy was the Carre four shopping centre. The downside to this hotel is its location if you wish to explore the Medina. It is a 45 minute walk to the nearest gate (Bab) and you could pay up to 50 to 100 dinars per trip. You must negotiate a price first with the taxi driver otherwise you will be paying too much, probably more than double you should. Also behind the hotel next to the cinema is the tourist open top bus stop, No. 7 on the Blue Route, (two other routes available Red and Green)which offers an informative trip around the medina and surrounding areas of Marrakech. This is a useful form of transport around Marrakech as you can get on and off where you like, but you will need to check start and finish times which are listed on the bus stops themselves. I would recommend this hotel, but would prefer to stay within the Medina in an upmarket Riad.

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs room at the back of the hotel, the front was a little noisy!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

This hotel is brand new, very well appointed and easy to stay in. Not for anyone wanting 'old' Morocco but perfect for a quiet break. Breakfast adequate but not keen on small birds flying round ! We never ate dinner in the hotel restaurant so cannot comment, but had room service which was excellent.The bedroom/suite was roomy, clean, and well appointed. Drinks are very expensive but within 5 mins there is a Carrefour which sells everything one needs. The taxi into town cost 50 dirhams each way, extremely good value.
Like all foreign holidays I believe one should go with the flow and not judge by western values. I would recommend this for someone who wants to visit the busy medina and town but stay a little further out in a quiet area.

Room Tip: Suite was perfect for us on ground floor .
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
AG Hotel & Spa Marrakech
AG Hotel & Spa Marrakech
#308 of 502 in Marrakech
58 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mansour Eddahbi & Palais des Congres Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#34 of 502 in Marrakech
681 reviews
4.1 mi away
Domaine des Remparts Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marrakech Carre Eden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cesar Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cesar Resort & Spa

Address: Route de l'Ourika, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #224 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: £104 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cesar Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cesar Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing