We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff, lovely house, lovely pool!”
Review of Albakech House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albakech House
Ranked #123 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2012

This hotel/house is a cracking location if you want away from the hussle and bussle of Marrakech yet its only 5 minutes in the car to the Medina. The place is right beside a huge supermarket and the shopping centre has a food court on the top floor with all your western needs such as Pizza Hut/TGI Fridays etc.

Adam the Hotel Manager is a legend, a gent and so helpful. Took me into town one night to experience Moroccan pubs and hospitality. Was a great night.

The hotel pool is great, when we where there the temperature was like 40+ and the pool was perfect to cool off in.

The bedroom that we stayed in had a balcony and a pool view and i must say that the bed and pillows where very comforatable as well as the aircon.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pestilence182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2012

This is a great place to relax for a few days - either to use as a base to explore this wonderful city, or just to chill round the small but perfectly formed pool.
The atmosphere is relaxed and if you are looking for somewhere with that personal touch then this is it.
The bedrooms are gorgeous - individual and luxurious.
A good location and Adam makes travelling around easy by providing a driver.
It would be great if the hotel served lunch too - then you would never have to leave!

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the pool - all rooms are lovely however,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovingTurkeyholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I've stayed in 5 star hotels before and none have impressed me the way this place did. Airport transfers were on time and hassle free, the hotel itself was spotless and perfectly maintained. The pool was crystal clear and incredibly clean and the service unparalleled.

Adam - the hotel director, was on hand to answer any questions we had with no hidden agendas or attempts to up-sell. He recommended places to see, and even helped us book meals in restaurants when I requested - a true gent.

Breakfasts were served around the courtyard and were varied and plentiful - usually fruit and pancakes with jam, and coffee or tea and juice.

The hotel itself is situated about five to ten minutes drive from the centre of Marrakech (a shuttle car service is included both ways), which is close enough to be convenient, but far enough out to be nice and quiet if you're looking for a more relaxing time.

It's well served for restaurants and there is also a large Carrefour supermarket and shopping complex close by, so if you fancy a quick pizza or forgot your suncream you are all set.

Can't recommend Albakech House enough and will be returning if I'm ever in Marrakech again- thanks Adam for a truly excellent stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

When we arrived it already had a perfect atmosphere, good smell, clean hotel and friendly staff. Personnel with a smile. The shower is perfect, good beds, airco. Breakfast was good. There's even free transport to the medina. The only advise i would like to give is that breakfast took a "long" time so it's maybe better to make it a buffet. Thank you, Adam and the rest of the staff.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank regreggea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

On a website like this, superlatives are thrown around both over and under-generously. But Albakech deserves a superlative description without a shadow of a doubt.
The building itself is beautifully decorated and styled; a quiet interior courtyard to have breakfast and a swim; a Scottish-Moroccan feel making an interesting interior-design theme. The rooms are comfortable, very clean and rather stylish. A shuttle-service to the medina and airpot pick-up option. And the great team of staff, headed by Hotel Director Adam who goes out of his way to make the customers' stay enjoyable and help out any way he can.
And although the hotel is fairly new, it is probably one of the best places to stay in Marakech...

Room Tip: The first-floor rooms have stunning views of the Atlas mountains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ibnuassabil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Albakech House is a delightful place to stay in Marrakesh. The staff are very attentive and friendly and Adam, who runs it, could not be more helpful. The customer service puts many 5 star hotels to shame. Airport transfers are hassle free as are the lifts to and from the Medina. The pool and garden area is a lovely place to chill and there are some great restaurants within easy walking distance, although the hotel is in a quieter area to the south of the city. We hope to return.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank AAM12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I must echo the others on here who speak highly of Albakech House. Absolutely wonderful place to stay in Marrakech. I decided to stay on for an extra few days on my own in Marrakech after being with friends for a week and stumbled across Albakech House. What a find! The rooms are superb as are the staff...and the Scottish owner, Adam, is an absolute gent. The warm welcome, tips and general service is flawless. There's a charm to Albakech house that I haven't found in any of the other hotels or riads in Marrakech. From a practical point of view, it's slightly outside the Medina. Just a few kms...about 20 minutes (very pleasant) walk to the Djamaa El Fna (main market square). Or 10 minutes walk to the royal palace. They run a shuttle from here to the Medina if you don't like walking and a taxi back costs about 20 Dirhams (on the meter). Great supermarket right next door..as are the restaurants/cafés in a newly developed area of Agdal. There are some new developments in the vicinity that weren't finished when I stayed here (march 2012) but don't let that put you off. Ask for Andy when you arrive for tips on authentic desert/camel trips if you want to try that. Wifi in rooms was 5 bars (v good connection).

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gusg97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.9 mi away
2Ciels Luxury Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Al Fassia Aguedal
Al Fassia Aguedal
#74 of 502 in Marrakech
402 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kech Boutique Hotel & Spa
Kech Boutique Hotel & Spa
#195 of 502 in Marrakech
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#86 of 502 in Marrakech
677 reviews
2.1 mi away
Riad Suliman
Riad Suliman
#134 of 502 in Marrakech
390 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dar Crystal
Dar Crystal
#110 of 502 in Marrakech
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albakech House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albakech House

Address: Rue Mohamed El Bakkal | Zone Touristique Agdal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: £53 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Albakech House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Albakech House, a British Moroccan owned luxury riad situated in the new Touristic area of Agdal, only 5 minutes from the airport, medina and new town. Situated right next door to Pacha Marrakech complex and the Almazar shopping centre which has lots of restaurants offering a wide range of cuisine. Come meet Adam and the team at this fantastic location with panoramic views of the Atlas Mountains. Experience the beauty of Marrakech, in a relaxed, friendly and welcoming setting. We offer excellent customer service and complete comfort. You'll never want to leave! Come and join us aboard the Marrakech Express, for a stay you will never forget! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Albakech House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing