We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in Marrakech”
Review of Albakech House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albakech House
Ranked #143 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Oasis in Marrakech”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The Albakech House was phenomenal. The hotel was small, intimate, clean and wonderfully staffed. While it is outside of the city, they provide a driver to take you downtown during the day and it is only a short taxi ride away. The little garden/pool area is perfect for sunning, swimming and relaxing outside of the hectic downtown area. We had a ground floor room which was very big, although dark, and it stayed cool during the day which was great (there was aircon in any case). The room was beautifully decorated with Moroccan lanterns, big leather furniture and a giant comfy bed. The bathroom was recently updated with new chrome fixtures and a high power rain showerhead. Breakfast was fantastic and the service was of such a high standard. One day we slept in until very late and the kind staff brought us omlettes in our room, despite having closed the kitchen. The hammam in the basement is very intimate - we had a couples hammam treatment and I had a massage which was fantastic. The owner, a Scot, is very friendly and knowledgeable. I would highly recommend the Albakech House to everyone. My husband and I will be back for sure. Recommendation: Book through the hotel directly for a cheaper fare than using other hotel websites.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjsaih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    52
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
39
124
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We spent 4 night at Albakech House and were so impressed with the hotel, the staff and the service. Starting with mint tea on arrival, a car service in and out of the Medina throughout the day and an excellent pool to relax by. Albakech House is about 10 minutes by car to the Medina, but don't let that put you off. It is a sanctuary to escape back too after a crazy day in the bustling Medina. There were plenty of restaurants nearby and even a supermarket for convenience. We truly couldn't have asked for more during our stay here. The rooms were immaculate and very comfortable and I recommend this hotel to anyone looking to travel to Marrakech.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwiashleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Entrerrios
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Stayed 3 nights with some friends and whilst I enjoyed it, the surroundings could be better.Although it´s only 10 mins drive from the airport and same to the medina, the area is a bit of a mish mash of unfinished buildings, upmarket hotels, shopping malls and waste ground.However,the big plus of this hotel has to be the pool , which in the 40C heat we experienced at the end of June was a godsend, maybe not so important in December though.The room I stayed in( Number 19)was certainly big enough, high ceilings and good sized shower and a terrace that had uninterrupted views ...... of the unfinished building next door. The staff were all pretty much friendly ,however when asking for something to be done e.g. wake up calls, "yes" didn´t mean it was actually going to happen, but hey! this is Morocco and things do tend to get lost in translation.The hotel also has a hammam and I can definately recommend the massage from Niama after a hard day on the dune buggies. Overall , if you can get over the area and you´re looking for a place to chill out and relax for a few days you could do a lot worse than Albakech House.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This was a wonderful hotel and my only regret is not staying longer. The location is about 5mins drive from the Medina but the hotel offers a free on-demand shuttle service between 10 and 6 I think it is? We paid for a taxi afterhours and it was inexpensive also. We were 2 girls travelling alone and felt safe and welcomed at all times. We were offered peppermint tea on arrival while sorting out the paperwork and always greeted personally when entering/exiting the hotel.

The rooms are large, spacious and authentic-looking and were spotlessly cleaned each day. There was no fridge or tea & coffee making facilities in the room but we were out exploring so often it hardly mattered. You can order soft drinks and tea to the room or the poolside. I also didn’t see an iron or hairdryer in the room but neither did I ask for them so they may have been available. Despite the pool being in the sun during the day it’s very cold, but refreshing!

Just across the road from the hotel is a small mall with shops, fast food outlets and a supermarket for any supplies you might need – occasionally a welcomed change from the hectic medina! The breakfasts served at the hotel were delicious and brought out on a tray specifically for you & were plentiful – we chose to eat outside by the pool each morning in the sun which was bliss. The hotel doesn’t have a restaurant but they made reservations for us on our request at a local restaurant and you can arrange with them in advance for meals to be eaten at the hotel.

We had a hammam at the hotel too and thought they were good value for money and great to try something new (for us anyway) in the comfort of the hotel & conveniently just downstairs. A great hotel and if I’m in Marrakech again I’ll be back!

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiki_Touring_Kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for a week at the end of May and we couldn't have chosen a better hotel! The location was excellent as it was quiet and away from the hustle and bustle. The hotel has a free driver service who will take you into the city which is only a 10min drive away.

The staff were amazing and couldn't do enough for us. The owner Adam, was particularly attentive and a good laugh. He organised sand buggies in the desert and a cooking course for us (both I would highly recommend!). The hammam and massage were also excellent! Adam even arranged for the masseuse to give me a pedicure which isn't a service the hotel offers, and it was a beautiful pedicure too!

The rooms were lovely and very clean. The balcony was lovely to sit in the evening sun. The pool was also very nice as it was quite large and had sun pretty much all day!

The breakfasts were delicious - pastries, bread, pancakes, eggs, fruit, yoghurt, fresh orange juice - enough to fill you up that's for sure! The evening meals (which you have to preorder during the day) were also delicious. The vegetable tagine was particularly yummy!

All in all we found this hotel to be excellent and would definitely go back again! :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chezi87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We came here for two nights after a few days in the main town of Marrakech and the Atlas mountains. It provided a lovely tranquil retreat. The staff were welcoming and friendly, the house beautifully decorated and the pool area fabulous!
Staff couldn't have been more helpful and although we didn't use the free driver facility as we'd already been in and around the city, it was nice to know it was there. It was really helpful to be able to pay for a late checkout on our last day as the flight wasn't until evening time.
Breakfasts were wonderful - french pastries, hot chocolate, fruit, yoghuts, eggs - different on both mornings we were there - our kids thought they'd died and gone to heaven!
The only thing I'd say was that it's more of an adult type environment - our children are 8 and 10 and like to play and splash around in the pool and I was conscious of the noise and splashing that they were making. Having said that, we more or less had it to ourselves some of the time so it wasn't really a problem.
There is a large shopping complex just opposite it which we went to for lunches as the eateries there were relatively cheap and child friendly. There are other nice restaurants nearby for evening meals too. There's also a large Carrefour supermarket under the shopping mall so you can stock up there with pastries / fruit / alcohol (which staff are fine with you having to drink by the pool or in rooms, and will even supply you with bottle opener!) etc for lunches anyway.
Hotel also has various excursions on offer which looked great, though they weren't cheap.
We loved it! Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamP07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend booked us a weeks holiday and this was to be our hotel. As soon as we got to the airport and had checked in we had a driver sent by the hotel to collect us and he gave us info about the country on the short drive. The lady at reception was helpful and couldn't possibly do more to help us. We decided to have half hour by the pool and the owner Adam made himself known to us and to make sure we had everything we needed. We had trips booked through the hotel and again, I can't fault them. Adam booked us taxis (at the rate it should be) to get into town t night and even made sure we got picked up by a private hire taxi. Again the lady at reception booked us a table at a moroccon restaurant just down the road and that was awesome. Basically, I can't think of a single fault with this hotel. Considering it was newly opened when we stayed it felt like they had been running it for a long time. It really made the holiday so much better. Thanks guys. We will be going back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greeni-greenslice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Al Fassia Aguedal
Al Fassia Aguedal
#83 of 500 in Marrakech
383 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kech Boutique Hotel & Spa
Kech Boutique Hotel & Spa
#167 of 500 in Marrakech
446 reviews
2.2 mi away
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
#121 of 500 in Marrakech
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#157 of 500 in Marrakech
256 reviews
4.5 mi away
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
#87 of 500 in Marrakech
241 reviews
2.6 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#73 of 500 in Marrakech
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albakech House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albakech House

Property: Albakech House
Address: Rue Mohamed El Bakkal | Zone Touristique Agdal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Albakech House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Albakech House, a British Moroccan owned luxury riad situated in the new Touristic area of Agdal, only 5 minutes from the airport, medina and new town. Situated right next door to Pacha Marrakech complex and the Almazar shopping centre which has lots of restaurants offering a wide range of cuisine. Come meet Adam and the team at this fantastic location with panoramic views of the Atlas Mountains. Experience the beauty of Marrakech, in a relaxed, friendly and welcoming setting. We offer excellent customer service and complete comfort. You'll never want to leave! Come and join us aboard the Marrakech Express, for a stay you will never forget! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Albakech House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing