We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Marrakech must visit”
Review of Fellah Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fellah Hotel
Ranked #245 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I visited the Fellah last month, and was incredibly impressed with the hotel - from its location, decor, ambiance and most of all the work it is doing with the local community.

When you stay at the Fellah, you realise straight away you are staying somewhere special and very different from the 'standard' luxury hotel in Marrakech. There is spirit in this hotel!

If you are an art buff, who loves nothing more than to soak up local culture, relax by pool with a good book, enjoy A-MAZING thai massages and eat tasty food, then this is your place.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank DanielaMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qayqay, Manager at Fellah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2016

Dear Sirs,

Thank you very much for your comments, it is great to learn that you had a pleasant stay in our property but mostly to learn that we made our commitment, to make you feel as you deserved. We hope to have the chance to host you again.

Looking forward,

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

i could not recommend another place in marrakech for cool artistic and nature lovers it s the perfect place plus a real thai treatment center and a unique view of the atlas mountains by the pool food can and is doing better be precise on what kind of room you want bathtub, area of the room you can only be pleased by the new staff if u express what u want before. excellent vacation!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drissm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I stayed at Fellah Hotel back in August for 5 nights. While the hotel was visually outstanding, I would have to say that the level of service, compared to other luxury hotels i've stayed in in Marrakech was not of the same standard.

For the most part, there seemed to be no staff around when you needed them and when they were around, it wasn't really visible that they were staff. The majority of the time, there was no staff at Reception which on many occasions was disappointing. The staff were very young and seemed inexperienced in their approach to what a good level of service is. There was one incident the night before we checked out where we couldn't get into our room. For some odd reason, no matter how much we tried, our room door wouldn't open. The staff seemed clueless as to what to do and it took over an hour for the problem to be solved and that was only because we kept out balcony door unlocked. The next day, there was no apology or There was only a lot of wifi problems and the telephone in our room seemed not to work.

Moaning aside, it was an absolutely beautiful and peaceful stay and the food was really really good and the thai massage was excellent!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carissa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qayqay, Manager at Fellah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2016

Dear Sirs,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your opinion here on Tripadvisor.

I deeply regret that your experience at Hotel Fellah Marrakech did not live up to your expectations and I am terribly sorry that the service you received was not up to the high standards we strive to deliver to all of our guests. I ask you to accept my most sincere apologies and I will follow up on your comments with my team.

I sincerely hope to have the chance to welcome you back to Fellah Hotel one day in order to give you the excellent treatment you deserve and I personally remain at your disposal for any further comments or questions.

Yours sincerely,

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

A very good hotel, that has great scope to be even better. I understand why it divides opinion. It's beautiful, isolated, calm and quiet. Fantastic gardens. A feast for the eyes. The pool is amazing, with architectural cacti all around, and lovely furniture throughout. There was hardly anyone there, which is a mixed blessing. It's tranquil but lonely after a few days. There is a koura player each evening by the pool, which is beautiful to listen to. The rooms are very comfortable. we stayed in a deluxe, which had everything we needed, but was quite exposed, on the ground floor of the library block. and the hot water was not quite hot enough. the food is quite limited, which is probably because so few people eat there, but it is all fresh and local. the breakfast is lovely, with incredible jams and tapenades all from local ingredients and largely organic. the coffee could be better/stronger. apart from the buffet breakfast, the food is quite expensive, the same as london prices really: £7 for a starter and £11 for a main, which were tasty, well presented, but not very big.
service does need to improve. receptionists were keen but didn't get things done to the standard the price tag demands eg. the shower was broken on our arrival, and they told us the engineer would be fixing it at once, but i called three times before it happened in late afternoon.
£15 does seem like a lot for a car into town, so we made good use of the free staff shuttle that goes to and from town several times a day.
service at the bar/restaurant is satisfactory, quite slow, willing but not very confident/experienced. alcohol is expensive - they should have bottles of wine for less than £30, and more than just small Heineken bottles for £4. cocktails were all £7.50, and competently made.
they advertise a piano in the main area, which is there, but totally ruined and out of tune. unplayable. i thought there would be more art and culture being offered, judging by the website. there was one small film screening for 20 minutes at 2200 one night. there is art around, but it's mostly rubbish, in some cases literally. maybe these are artists who have contributed their works in return for board, but it's a shame it's so low quality/weird. there should at least be labels to say by whom, title, and what it is about on the pieces. maybe a tour of the artworks should be offered with explanations of each.
the Wat Po massage/yoga place is beautifully decorated, but really the teachers/masseurs need to speak better French and/or English. same as London prices mostly for the massage, which is disappointing.
for two nights of peace and quiet and beautiful sun by the pool, not worrying about the cost of things, this place is great. but for much longer it's too expensive to eat and drink without enough company or activities of interest.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms in villa 2 are quite exposed, so ask for a different villa or first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruno L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The hotel villas architecture and furnishing are amazing. The service was a catastrophy - probably also due to the fact that the hotel was full but not excusable. All the staff are wonderfully kind but completely clueless. They say "yes" and just don't do what you ask for. Have to call reception three times over three hours for anything. Laundry arrives a day late but only because you call to know where it has disappeared, taxis requested are not ordered (a few persons practically missed thier flights), etc, etc...
Also a pity that the restaurant does not offer a higher level of Maroccan cuisine on top of the usual two tagines.
If management gets their act together it could be a truly amazing hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the Suites. The price difference is not very big, and they are large and beautiful - and try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maximilian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My sisters and mother decided to book a night at this hotel while on holiday in marrakesh as we were staying in the Medina but decided we wanted a quieter end to our holiday.
We weren't sure what to expect but were very pleasantly surprised by the friendly and helpful staff and the vibe of the hotel - which we felt was like a luxury Moroccan Ranch. The hotel is set out in large grounds which have an array of different areas of planting - including fragrant herb gardens, cactus gardens, as well as animals including donkeys/ goats/ rabbits and chickens and also lots of quirky chill out areas including a tree house!
The rooms are arranged in large villas with approx 5-6 bedrooms/ suites which would be perfect for a group staying together as each villa had very generous living spaces including kitchen, lounge and outdoor space. It worked very well for us too as our rooms were generous, comfortable, stylish and very clean. I would note that we were told we had just missed a wedding party and felt if you were staying in a villa alongside a big group or event it might feel very different so perhaps would check that if staying again in the future. (Saying that it would make a brilliant wedding venue!
The pool area was lovely and we spent most of our time here with delicious cocktails and food from the restaurant (which we were told is all sourced from the hotel grounds and the adjacent village. We also understood that the hotel supports the adjacent village, paying for the schooling of the local children which is a really refreshing set-up which made for a less 'commercial' feel that luxury hotels can have.
It was my mums birthday and we asked if the restaurant might be able to find a candle or something to put in a muffin at breakfast - instead, the French chef sourced an incredible chocolate cake and candles beautifully presented and all the staff came to sing happy birthday.
It was a perfect end to our stay in Marrakesh and I would certainly stay at Fellah again and recommend to others who want to visit the souks/ Atlas Mountains etc but want a quieter base outside the Medina. The staff and the set up of this hotel make it a very unique experience. Go and see it for yourself!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abbie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qayqay, Manager at Fellah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2016

Dear Sirs,

Thank you very much for your comments, it is great to learn that you had a pleasant stay in our property but mostly to learn that we made our commitment, to make you feel as you deserved. We hope to have the chance to host you again.

Looking forward,

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

What a wonderful place, I came here with my boyfriend, it was so romantic, the lovely villa and pool, the thai massages and the wonderful evening dinners by the pool.

He proposed to me here with the help of the staff, he arranged a romantic dinner with music, an exotic setting and intimate environment all set-up by the manager, thank you.

We wanted to play tennis in the day that they arranged for us and have some traditional Moroccan food in the evening, tanginess and lovely mint tea on call.

The hamam was arranged for us two as the ladies scrubbed and massaged us.

The sound of the cockerel from the farm would wake us in the morning and being able to pick our own eggs and vegetables' it was so much fun.

From living a busy city like London to come to such tranquility really cured so much stress' thats why the hotels meditation and yoga was catered for and each day began with so much peace.

If you want the hustle and bustle of Marrakech and the peace and tranquility of an oasis then l recommend this haven.

Room Tip: The yoga is great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NKadri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qayqay, Manager at Fellah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2016

Dear Sirs,

Thank you very much for your comments, it is great to learn that you had a pleasant stay in our property but mostly to learn that we made our commitment, to make you feel as you deserved. We hope to have the chance to host you again.

Looking forward,

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
12.1 mi away
AG Hotel & Spa Marrakech
AG Hotel & Spa Marrakech
#266 of 502 in Marrakech
65 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rose Sultan
Rose Sultan
#238 of 502 in Marrakech
223 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dar NanKa
Dar NanKa
#177 of 502 in Marrakech
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Fairmont Royal Palm Marrakech
Fairmont Royal Palm Marrakech
#98 of 502 in Marrakech
378 reviews
9.0 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Hotel
7.5 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fellah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fellah Hotel

Address: KM 13 Route de l'Ourika, Tassoultante, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #245 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: £68 - £785 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fellah Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Splitty, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Fellah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing