We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff”
Review of Riad Amlal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Amlal
Ranked #633 of 1,160 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Nice hostel with funny and attentive staff. We spent there 5 amazing nights, almost each night Hicham and Amar were playing on guitar and entertaining everyone. Hostel is located in quite remote area (15 minutes from main square) which both good and bad thing. We heard that in Morocco it's hard to find cheap hostel without fleas. Luckily we found one that was clean and comfy! bathrooms were cleaned every day and there was no sign of any fleas .The only thing we didn't like was the fact that we had to change rooms as the ones we've booked were occupied. All in all I can certainly recommend this place for people without kids.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for Riad Amlal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2012

This is a great place to stay. We came here after taking a desert tour with Mustapha, the owner of the riad. All of the staff are so welcoming and accommodating, anything you need they will happily help you! When we arrived on the first night, Alle took us to find some cheap street food, as we were too tired to head to Djemaa el Fna and made sure the cook didn't overcharge us! The riad is about 15min walk from Djemaa el Fna and is nice and quiet - a nice break after the craziness of the square! We would definitely stay there again and will recommend it to all our friends.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cakelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

My room was located on the terrace and was bright, quiet and private. It was a comfortable room. The shower was good with warm water and lots of pressure. The towels were good quality.
This is a smaller riad and because of this, it had a more homey feel. The other guests staying there were friendly and it was nice to share our experiences at the end of the day. There was always mint tea offered and the hosts were very friendly. One even played the guitar as we sat in the common area in the evening.

There were a couple of downfalls that I experienced: The room and shower did not feel the cleanest but it could have been due to the finishing: cement floor and slate bathroom.
It was far from the square and the souks and it was difficult to find. It took me a few tries before I could find my way back without getting lost but I am not sure that any other riad would be easier to find in the maze of streets in the medina. It was helpful to take photos of the route so that I could find my way back. Due to its location off of the beaten path, the small streets were deserted past a certain hour, making the walk back to the riad a bit unnerving.

For the price of my stay, it was excellent value for my money but it depends on what you are looking for in an accomodation. It was not luxury, but it was a comfortable place to rest your head. For me, I enjoyed the atmosphere and I would return there again.

And the staff were very friendly.. Thank you Farid for your kindness. You went out of your way to help me and I appreciate it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chica m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Riad Amlal is like coming home. The owners and staff are very friendly and customer service is their top priority. The other travelers were consistently interesting and fun. Like everyplace in Marrakech's Medina, it's a little tricky to find. The location is great for people who want to get away from the center tourist crush, but stay within easy walking distance of the heart of things.

Room Tip: The upstairs terrace room has the best light, but you'll have to come downstairs for WiFi.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Todas las habitaciones están mal aisladas y dan a un patio interior así que vas a oir todos los rui...
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CeciliaFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Thaynã A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Ambrapolizzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#44 of 502 in Marrakech
1,268 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#238 of 502 in Marrakech
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#204 of 502 in Marrakech
765 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Shanima & Spa
Riad Shanima & Spa
#83 of 1,160 in Marrakech
305 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
#447 of 502 in Marrakech
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Amlal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Amlal

Address: Rue El Gza derb Ezzamouri sidibouamar N 128 | Bab doukala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #633 of 1,160 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £34 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Amlal 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haven of peace in the heart of the Medina for a wonderful relaxing stay, Riad Amlal is located in the old city of Marrakech, just off the souks and close to the Jemaa-el-Fna square. The Riad is a sanctuary for travellers, with dorms, double and single rooms. All of the rooms feature air conditioning and en-suite bathroom facilities. Kitchen facilities are available for your use. Why not relax with a cold drink on the sun-loungers and plan your next shopping excursion to the souks. Attention to detail and beautiful, traditional decoration throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Amlal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing