We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the Heart of Marrakech”
Review of Riad Snan13

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Snan13
Ranked #59 of 1,139 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Oasis in the Heart of Marrakech”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

From the first booking email to the time of departure, my experience at Riad Snan 13 was outstanding. Marrakech is a very beautiful city – and Riad Snan 13’s location in the heart of the Medina was perfect for exploring the city. Upon arrival Stephan met us outside of the city walls. We were guided back through the streets to a Moroccan dream, Riad Snan 13! No design detail was overlooked. From the plaster walls to the light fixtures to the throw pillows on the lounge furniture, all of the Moroccan accents were great. There are a variety of rooms that each offered special design perks. The Riad’s staff was extremely pleasant and attentive to all of our groups needs. The cooked to order breakfast was delectable each morning. Stephan was key in helping us find places in the city, arranging car services & preparing reservations for dinner and spa services. I’d definitely recommend Snan 13 – as I’ve already made reservations for another stay. Great location in the middle of the Medina, amazing staff, customized service…everything you need to make your stay GREAT!

Room Tip: The website has detail about the different room types - they all are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nateairnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
154
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We have had the good fortune to spend two nights with Stephan and Xavier in their absolutely beautiful Riad. This was our first introduction to Riad's in Morocco and it certainly set the bar high for others. We arrived outside the medina and were met by Stephan who brought us in and assured us that we did not need to get lost in the medina. When we stepped inside, having made no judgements based on the exterior, we were in awe. The inside courtyard has a plunge pool, white walls, exquisite artisan-made lamps, beautiful Moroccan furnishings and all of this has been done with artistic style and taste, The stone that they chose to use is simple and contributes to feeling of space with warmth. Our room was lovely and had everything needed- from a small sofa in an alcove to a beautiful bathroom and sunken tub. Dinner on the terrace was magical and breakfast was abundant and delicious- served by extremely friendly and helpful staff . Everything about Riad Snad13 is a 10/10 and Stephan and Xavier have done a remarkable job! Thank you for introducing us to the wonderful world of Moroccan Riads.

Room Tip: Any room will be fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We arrived on the first night of our honeymoon at Riad Snan 13 and could not have been more enchanted by the atmosphere of the place. It was dark, beautifully lit and our room with a sunken bath, which had been recommended, was simply beautiful.

Stephan was an excellent host - sensitive to our needs but not overbearing. He was extremely helpful when giving advice, directions and so on but never intrusive.

It's very difficult to get the fine balance between being professional, hospitable, friendly and warm but also affording your clients and guests privacy. At Riad Snan 13 they manage to do this perfectly. One of the best places we stayed during our ten-day trip vis a vis quality, experience and value for money.

The breakfast is so delicious and if we had one quibble, although it is very small, it would be to say that dinner is available but not advertised. We would have loved to have eaten there in the evening too.

Room Tip: The room with the sunken bath is divine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Riad Snan13 is spectacular. Everything about it was great. The location was perfect – within 10 minutes of many major sites and one of the gates, so access through and out of the medina wasn’t a problem. Unlike some other riads I’ve stayed in, this one has 24 hour a day staff. We were met outside the medina and walked in by Stefan, the manager who stays at the riad. He was extremely helpful with directions and advice on everything from getting around, what to see, and where to make certain purchases. When two of the guest there wanted henna down, Stefan arranged for a women to come out and do it in the hotel. She did a much better job then the women in the plaza, and charged less!

Our room was air conditioned with a fully functional air conditioner and the wi-fi worked (unlike many riads, where these are ostensibly part of the package but not really functional). The rooms were clean and elegant, the showers stocked with very nice products, and the sheets were high quality. Our room, Le Petit Patio, even had its own small, private courtyard! The pool was refreshing, the breakfast was great, the dinner we added on was one of the better meals we ate in Morocco, and the décor was beautiful. The whole place was so comfortable and refreshing it was difficult to leave and see the city.

To top it off, here’s a story of what happened to us: We left on our last day to go the airport, and found our flight had been rescheduled to a few hours earlier and we had missed it. We frantically booked a new flight for the next day but had nowhere to stay that night. We didn’t have the riad’s number (or phones, for that matter) and so we just went back and showed up on their door. Despite the fact that the riad was shutting down for Ramadan and everyone was scheduled to leave the next day, Stefan took us in, sent us to the nicest room the riad had available, and gave us fresh, cold drinking water (if you’ve never stayed in Morocco in the summer, you have no idea how important this is!). He was genuinely concerned and offered to help with any travel arrangements we still needed. It was one of the best customer service experiences ever, and could only come from a manager who truly cares about his clients. After a really bad day, it was exactly what we needed, and one of the highlights of our trip.

Snan13 place really is an oasis in the desert, and I wouldn’t stay anywhere else in Marrakech.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank William_Carmikal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Let me begin by saying that I am sitting in the gorgeous lounge of this Riad, 8 hours after we left for our departure flight.  They welcomed us back when our flight was changed without our knowledge, thereby missing it, and we were stranded in Marrakech for another night.  Our Riad took us in again without question, despite our unplanned (re)arrival.

I cannot say enough about the warmth of the staff and the beauty of this Riad!  It is perhaps one of the best hotels or b&b's that we've ever stayed in!  Upon our initial arrival, we were in awe of the absolute beauty and design that went into the building of this extraordinary place!  It is an oasis of calm and beauty in a city of craziness.  You absolutely cannot beat the location, about a 5 minute walk to the Souks and Jemaa el- The pool was gloriously refreshing, the AC and wi-fi worked like a dream and the room was so comfortable that we felt no guilt spending time in it when in any other hotel, we probably would have felt obligated to get out more. Breakfast was excellent, the dinner we had here was superb, the 24 hour staff gave us directions, advice, and everything we needed. 

We would stay here again in a heartbeat and wish all places were like it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank juliagulia007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

The point of a riad is to feel like a home, albeit one that (in my case, at least) is far lovelier than one's actual home. Riad Snan did this in spades. It's an oasis of tranquility in the heat and hustle of Marrakech, from the time you open the door and walk down the cool, white, rose petal strewn hallway to when you reach the courtyard, with its ample sitting and socializing area and serene pool. The rooms are gorgeous (I got to see 2 while there), with rain showers, comfortable beds, chic decor and more roses. The staff is always ready with water or Moroccan mint tea, and the food - oh, the food. It was, hands down, the best food we had in Morocco, traditional but done in an artful way with European influences. The owner, Stefan, is fantastic as well, and will sit and chat with you over breakfast or in the courtyard. Several members of my party want to come back to honeymoon here - I sound over enthused in my praise, but after staying in many more hotels around both Marrakech and Morocco, Riad Snan truly stood out.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We decided to stay at Snan13 based on the most positive reviews on Trip Advisor. Wow, us four girly's were not disappointed. Xavier and his team made us soooooo welcome. He arranged our transfers for airport, train station and got our tickets for Casablanca and organised an evening at Jad Mahel. After showing us to our beautiful rooms Xavier took us out to show the way to and from the Madina and where to change money. The Riad is a haven away from the busy souks. Breakfast was lovely and plentiful. We ate in twice as the food was the best we tasted in Marrakech. Joe is an absolute sweetie and looked after us very well. Nothing was too much trouble. We can't wait to return one day as the feeling you get is Home from home. We had a fabulous time and would not hesitate to recommend.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely,our first floor room was lovely and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon22tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Ryad Dyor
Ryad Dyor
#60 of 499 in Marrakech
276 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dar Seven
Dar Seven
#93 of 499 in Marrakech
138 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#52 of 499 in Marrakech
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Darma
Riad Dar Darma
#201 of 1,139 in Marrakech
181 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Aguaviva
Riad Aguaviva
#6 of 1,139 in Marrakech
770 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Justo
Dar Justo
#183 of 1,139 in Marrakech
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Snan13? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Snan13

Property: Riad Snan13
Address: Derb Snan, 13. Mouassine (Medina), Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 1,139 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Snan13 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few steps from Jemaa El Fna Square and its celebrated Moroccan markets, you will find Snan13, a hidden jewel created to bring you peace amidst the tumultuous Morroccan life. A relaxing space where charm and essence ran into the city’s bubbly downtown area. Our riad offers you one Grand Suite and five double bedrooms, all of them with their own unique and special character, decorated with the uttermost care and attention to detail. A patio with a swimming pool. A dining area. Two chill-out areas to help you relax, and a panoramic terrace with incredible views over Marrakech’s Medina, Koutubia and Dar el Bacha’s Palace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK) and Hotel.de so you can book your Riad Snan13 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing