We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing place”
Review of Riad Snan13

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riad Snan13
Ranked #63 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I have been meaning to write this review for a while. My boyfriend and I stayed in Snan13 in February this year, and I have to admit it’s the most relaxing and beautiful place I’ve ever stayed in. From the décor to the food, from the absolutely brilliant help and advice that Stefan and Xavi provided to the excellent staff that maintain the stunning riad. I had been to Morocco twice before but this stay really made me fall in love with the place, Marrakech can be chaotic and overwhelming, Snan13 is definitely the calm after the storm. Their bedrooms, we stayed in the petit patio, are carefully decorated, a mix of modern and traditional, beautifully kept. Their breakfast is not only delicious but varied, we had different things every day, mixing European and Moroccan foods. We had the option to have dinner in Snan13 and it was by far the best meal we had in Marrakech, but really, I have to thank Xavi and Stefan, they are amazing hosts that made us feel at home and relaxed. Thank you very much for the best stay and hopefully see you very soon! Monica

Room Tip: We stayed in Le Petit Patio and it was absolutely beautiful, secluded, calming and spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

At the end of a winding alley in the heart of the medina this riad is truly a gem.
Private, quiet and scrupulously clean it is also quite exotic.
Our room had a sunken bath - at the head of the bed - where we could soak after a long day exploring the souk and listen to the call of the muezzin across the rooftops.
The staff offered to prepare a meal for us, in house, the menu to be determined by what was available in the market.
The three course banquet centred around a chicken tagine which resulted was the best meal we ate in Marrakech, where the food generally was outstanding.
That it was served in a private rooftop setting as the sun set over Marrakech made it one for the record.
We didn't meet the owner as he was away but he left us in the care of his family which just added to the sense of security and friendliness.
Beatrix and Jawad and the other staff could not have been more helpful and welcoming.
We would go back in a flash!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Riad Snan13 was part of accommodations arranged by the travel company but we could not have picked better ourselves. Jawad, Beatrix, and the rest of the crew were inviting, helpful, gracious. We arrived but our luggage was on the very slow route ~ while there we did not know whether we'd ever see our things. Beatrix was amazingly helpful ~ lending us computer for correspondence, making calls on our behalf (French not our native tongue), showing places to make low cost purchases, even washing clothes for us. These accommodations were more like family ~ not in-your-face friendly ~ but what can we do to make your stay even better type. A few points ~ eat on the rooftop terrace (serene, quiet) and be aware if you have the courtyard room, windows open to a common area (not as private as other rooms). Location is on the inside edge of the medina (easy to access taxis, etc). I'd highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I was initially scared of what to expect when arriving in Marrakesh but Stephan put us at ease. He was so kind and helpful. He called our tour guide the night before our tours and walked us to the meeting spot as well. He also sat down and reviewed a map with us of the area and told us to call him if we get lost. He was SO NICE. The riad itself is beautiful and VERY clean. I compared all the other riads we stayed in to Riad Snan13 and non of them could compare. Highly recommend this riad. Thanks Stephan for everything!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aneela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

A little late, but better than never!
My wife and I stayed here for a few days for our honeymoon in late October 2013.
The Riad was absolutely stunning, and a well needed calm from the busy Marrakech streets.
Everyone in the Riad was so friendly and welcomed us and the room was gorgeous - ours had a big sunken bath behind the bed!
We would definitely come back here and recommend to everyone.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Joeylamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

we stayed at this lovely riad twice, once on first arriving in Morocco and then for our last sad night before flying away
Jawad and Beatrice (Stephan's mom) welcomed us so warmly that we truly felt that we were part of the family - the airline had lost our luggage and the people at the riad could not have been more helpful with everything they could (side note - one of the other guests extremely sweetly offered us her clothes to borrow!)
1 small issue was that our room overlooked the inner courtyard, and some people came in late 1 night making a ruckus (the sound really travels and bounces off the high walls)
the rooftop terrace is a lovely retreat and the little sitting rooms off the courtyard perfect for a little reading or figuring out one's next adventure in Marrakech
on our next stay we felt like we were coming home and were leaving our family the next morning (sigh) - if ever in Marrakech, do not miss this riad!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2ruse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We had the luxury of spending three nights here in the "Suite Salma", booked through our travel guides. Reaching the entrance door from the dark alleyways in the medina, we were wondering what we'd see on the other side of that door. Well, it was a nice surprise! We were greeted by Jawad, who was very gracious and friendly. Two guys from Spain (Stephan and Xavier) had purchased the riad five years ago and totally renovated it. There are 6 rooms/suites. Ours was a very large suite on the second floor with 6 windows, some are balconies overlooking the courtyard below. There is a little niche with a cushion, lined with pillows, that became my hangout while using the free wifi and reading books. Our bathroom was a huge room with a very large shower at one end, two sink with very usable "ladders" to hang towels to dry upon.
The room was decorated beautifully, as was the entire riad. We ate dinner in on our first night there and had some of our best food while in Morocco. We had breakfast on the rooftop each morning. What a treat!
I would say this is one of the best stays we've ever had in all our travels.

Room Tip: Try for the Suite Salma, it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthursmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#49 of 502 in Marrakech
988 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad le Clos des Arts
#2 of 502 in Marrakech
1,376 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Anjar
Riad Anjar
#141 of 502 in Marrakech
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Aguaviva
Riad Aguaviva
#8 of 1,170 in Marrakech
778 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Jaaneman
Riad Jaaneman
#69 of 1,170 in Marrakech
131 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Azzouna 13
Riad Azzouna 13
#73 of 1,170 in Marrakech
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Snan13? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Snan13

Address: Derb Snan, 13. Mouassine, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £85 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Snan13 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few steps from Jemaa El Fna Square and its celebrated Moroccan markets, you will find Snan13, a hidden jewel created to bring you peace amidst the tumultuous Morroccan life. A relaxing space where charm and essence ran into the city’s bubbly downtown area. Our riad offers you one Grand Suite and five double bedrooms, all of them with their own unique and special character, decorated with the uttermost care and attention to detail. A patio with a swimming pool. A dining area. Two chill-out areas to help you relax, and a panoramic terrace with incredible views over Marrakech’s Medina, Koutubia and Dar el Bacha’s Palace ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing