We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Riad”
Review of Riad Vanilla sma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Vanilla sma
Ranked #24 of 1,154 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Riad”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We spent 4 nights at Riad Vanilla Spa. The owner Nelly was away during our visit, but Redwan and Sultana looked after us incredibly well.

The rooms were beautiful and the baths the biggest I've seen! - I had booked the "moon room" for the 4 nights, but after 2 nights Sultana (the cook/housekeeper) requested that we change rooms. Due to her limited English it was not explained why, but to be honest, the rooms were equally as nice, and the second room a lot quieter and cooler so we didn't mind too much.

The Riad is down a network of twisty lanes which were clearly explained by Redwan upon arrival so we didn't get lost trying to find our way back. It is about a 5 minute walk to the Souks, and Jemaa el-Fna down a lively hustly bustly lane.

We booked the Hammam experience to include dinner for 70 Euros each. It was a unique experience (especially for a lady!) as being from England it is not typical to remove bikini tops (and bottoms for the showering part!) during a spa experience, but this is typically Moroccan and once I got over my inhibitions if was perfectly fine and comfortable. My husband did not encounter any problems and his shorts remained on throughout!

The food cooked by Sultanta was delicious.

The breakfasts consist of orange juice, pancakes, cakes, toast, fruit, omelettes, coffee, and varies slightly from day to day which is nice. You will never be hungry, and will always fill yourself up regardless of your morning preference (savoury or sweet).

This is a good value for money Riad (there are some cheaper, but I would highly recommend Vanilla Sma).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1984TravelAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
152
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I stayed at this B&B for a week and I could not find a better place to spend my holidays. It was very clean, very cosy environment and a quiet place to relax.. Nelly is very nice and friendly, she is a great hostess. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vannatoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The Riad Sma was amazing!! my friends went there last year and they recommended to us (my husband and me) We went there the owner ( Nelly ) was very friendly and such a good host the picture are nothing to compare when you go there its more amazing in person. The food is very good also. We stayed at the suite Najma beautiful and so romantic. I will recommend this to everyone that want to stay to an amazing place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Logan, Utah
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We were so lucky to got that riad Vanilla sma...Thanks to my friends who took care of our trip.
The riad was so close to the souks and the big square . Very clean, very friendly and the room were so cool. Breakfast were huge and diner was excellent , well I just loved it. The whole crew Roudan and sutana were the best and the owner Nelly such a great person , very helpful and always here for you....She spoke very good English which made things easier. I will recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: At night the room schamss is very cozy and romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The transfer arranged by the riad waited for us, in the airport, for almost 2 hours during which we waited and complained about our luggage. As a result, we entered Vanilla Sma almost at 2:00 a.m. starving and completely frustrated with our luck. Nelly, the wonderful host and Redouan, her assistant, were waiting for us and made all the difference! In a minute, Redouan went to the kitchen and came back with great food while Nelly took note of all airport details to trace our bag the next day. She also advised us on all the places we should visit and the restaurants where we could experience the local food without having digestive problems.
The next day we woke up on a lovely, charming bedroom, had a marvelous breakfast and went to tour Marrakech knowing that everything was being handled to get our bag as fast as possible. And so it was ... :) At the end of the day, Nelly arranged a transfer so that we could collect our bag (as RAM does not deliver the bags!).
We do recommend the riad hamman (specially after coming back from the desert!) and a dinner cooked by Redouan!
The riad location is perfect as it is 5 min way from Djemal El Fna.
In the end, you get the perfect stay! That's what happens when you run a business with your heart and a great team. Congratulations Nelly, we look forward to go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaSBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Vanilla sma is a very nice, clean and charming hotel. We staid three nights in this lovely place. After enjoying a rich breakfast you can walk to Djemal El Fna in just a few minutes or just spend your days in the souks.
The owner (Nelly) is super friendly and makes sure everything is in order. If she's around don't skip the thee as she will entertain you with lots of good stories!
I will definitely recommend my family and friends to spend their nights in this riad when visiting Marrakech

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steijn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We were picked up at the airport (you should really do that) and accompanied to the Riad. When the beautiful Moroccan door opened we felt immediately that we made the right choice. Like you are in a very tail.

As a welcome, we were given mint tea and the staff gave us a lot of inside tips. Where to go, where to eat etc. Nelly is a very warm en welcoming person. ‘’This is your home now’’, was one of the first things she said to us. And it really felt that way.

The riad is beautiful decorated and really clean. Rooms are amazing and so is the breakfast. Very big, with fresh orange juice, yoghurt, fruits, bread, pancakes and an omelette if you want. The location of the raid couldn’t be better. It is literally 8 minutes from the big main square and very close to a lot of nice restaurants. Nelly can arrange bus tickets, excursions and tons of other things for you. Nothing is too much for her.

This Riad is really a hidden gem. After a day in the hustle and bustle of the medina it is such a nice place to come back to. Very quiet, relaxing and it always smells good in the Riad. Fresh flowers everywhere and a bottle of water in your room. I couldn’t think of anything I didn’t like. Really a five star place with a personal touch because of the wonderful staff and Nelly. Thank you so much, we definitely will be coming back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joooolien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Boussa
Riad Boussa
#12 of 1,154 in Marrakech
1,114 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Dixneuf La Ksour
Riad Dixneuf La Ksour
#23 of 1,154 in Marrakech
430 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Alili
Riad Alili
#10 of 1,154 in Marrakech
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Helen
Riad Helen
#35 of 1,154 in Marrakech
288 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar Mo'da
Dar Mo'da
#2 of 1,154 in Marrakech
438 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Charme d'Orient
Riad Charme d'Orient
#13 of 1,154 in Marrakech
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Vanilla sma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Vanilla sma

Property: Riad Vanilla sma
Address: 166 Derb Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 1,154 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Vanilla sma 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad has been renovated with passion, respect to authenticity into a peaceful, supremely comfortable, elegant oasis.Our discreet staff will be on hand at all the time to assist you, to make your stay unforgettable perfect in every way.We are just a five minutes walk from the famous Jamaa El Fna square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Vanilla sma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing