We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“superb!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Tamarrakecht

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Tamarrakecht
Ranked #68 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

This riad is a great place. The rooms are really clean and nice design. The family that run this place are very nice and welcoming. I could not recommend this place more. I will for sure stay here again. A great escape from the busy square of Marrakesh!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marcus z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    38
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
43
177
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
Level Contributor
122 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

After a day spent in the chaos and noise of the Marrakech medina there is nothing better than going back to an oasis of peace where people are warm, friendly and make you feel at home.
Riad Tamarrakecht is a beatiful little guesthouse with amazing rooms where you can really feel like a princess or like in 1001 nights :)
Every decoration and detail of the Riad and its rooms are simply fantastic and the breakfast is almost like a ritual. Every day you get different kinds of bread, Moroccan-style crepes, eggs or fruits, jams, honey, coffe, fresh orange juice etc. Plan at least half an hour for breakfast in order to enjoy it at its best, it would be a shame not to do so.
The first welcome you get in the Riad is also lovely, with some mint tea and pastries, a very detailed map of Marrakech and its medina along with very clear explanations (marked with a highlighter on the map :) ) to find your way from the Riad and back...thanks to this never got lost in the medina :) The Riad also offers excursions. I had already booked mine before booking here at different agencies, so I am not able to judge on the quality, but I think it is great that such service is also on offer.
Rooms are very comfortable and extremely clean.
You can also have lunch and dinner there and the quality is fantastic. There is a beautiful roof terrace where you can choose to have your meals if you wish to do so.
Location is great: it is quieter than in other parts of the medina and it takes only 20-25 minutes on foot to get to Jem El Fnaa. If you need a taxi you can walk to Bab Aylen, a gate at less than 10 minutes from the Riad.
I would definitely recommend this Riad!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrancyBudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mestre, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

Great place to stay. You' re welcomed by Sarah in a perfect english and the riad is 10 min. walking from the grand place. The rooms are spacious and clean , the breakfast served also on the terrace is gorgeous. The staff is helpfull and ready for information. If we came back to Marrakech we'd definitly stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PAOLO M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

The Riad Tamarrakecht was supurb. Very relaxing environment and the attention to detail was beautiful. There were so many lovely features, flowers arrangements, wooden doors, water features etc. the family who own this riad did their best to make us feel like home and enjoy every moment. they managed to provide family atmosphere and high service in the same time.we especially enjoyed deliciously cooked dinner served on the roof and smoke hookah listening to the sounds of busy Medina. the rooms are uniquely decorated. interior is made in Moroccan style. overall our stay was amazing. i would recommend it to each and everyone. i promise you wont regret!!!
P.S i would also say a big THANKS!!!! to Sarah and her family for being a great hosts and just exceptional people.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellie-Jelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

I could not fault this Riad! The family running it were so attentive and helped us with absolutely anything. The rooms were beautiful and spotless. Breakfast was included and was excellent, always serving more than enough! Treated like royalty and loved every moment of staying there! Their hard work and dedication to the place really shows and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Thanks!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

The attention to detail at this Riad was exceptional. It was beautifully decorated, perfectly clean and there were fresh flowers in the pool and petals on the bed everyday. The family atmosphere, and the service provided was what really set it apart. Although the father could not speak English he did all he could to help us; drawing us maps for directions to the square and serving us breakfast. The daughter, Sara, was so friendly and extremely helpful (especially after she found out we had the same birthday!) The food, although quite a lot more expensive than other places, was by far the best we had. So much so that we ate there 3 out of 6 nights! We would definitely return to this Riad!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabbi893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

Every aspect of our two nights at Riad Tamarrakecht was superb. We had a transfer waiting at us for us at the airport, a man waiting to guide us from the bab, or gate, through the winding streets to the centrally-located Riad. It is family-owned, and they were all kind, helpful and an absolute joy to stay with. The food, while slightly expensive for the area, was delicious - we recommend the chicken tagine. The room was beautiful, with a four poster bed, Moroccan carpets and artifacts, and a comfy - if slightly pokey - bathroom with plenty of hot water.

Maps were made, directions were given to the point of the owner's daughter personally ensuring we went the right way. We cannot recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheIntCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#83 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#72 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.6 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#58 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Suliman
Riad Suliman
#87 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#44 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad L'Emir
Riad L'Emir
#42 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Tamarrakecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tamarrakecht

Property: Riad Tamarrakecht
Address: 132 Derb Aghrab Bab Aylen | 132 Derb A ghrab Bab Aylen, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Marrakech’s medina,Riad Tamarrakecht is a 15-minute walk from Jamaâ El Fna Square. You can admire the view of the Atlas Mountains from the terrace, and Moroccan dishes are served in the dining room. Free Wi-Fi access and a seating area feature in the air-conditioned rooms and suites, which have an elegant decoration. Each room has a private bathroom, which is decorated with Tadelakt. A traditional breakfast is prepared every morning at the Riad Tamarrakecht. Desserts include Moroccan pastries and homemade sorbet, and you can also request cookery lessons. You can relax in the pool in the patio or in the living rooms. Excursions can be organised on site and an airport transfer is possible at an extra cost. Marrakech International Airport is a 15-minute drive from this riad and Amelkis Golf Club is 6 km away. You can visit the Majorelle Gardens, an 8-minute drive away. Medina is a great choice for travellers interested in markets, shopping and street markets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Riad Tamarrakecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing