We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing holiday”
Review of Riad Tamarrakecht

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Tamarrakecht
Ranked #74 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Awesome vacation in this beautiful Riad! mohammed and his son were so nice and thoughtful we felt like we were at home!! Whenever we needed help mohammed was there for us and made our stay great! Very clean and every morning a nice breackfast with fresh juice. Very calm and nice place to be after a impressive day in the medina!

Room Tip: the best riad in the world! you should visit it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mohja12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2012

We stayed in this family-run Riad for two days and had the most wonderful experience. Without exaggerating, this was one of the best places we have stayed at. Although in the center of crazy medina, inside it was a peaceful, clean and quiet. You could only hear the water fountain and mellow arabic music. On entering we were welcomed with the typical tea and delicious sweets. Our room was spacious, had amazing bathroom and was designed with great taste. The whole Riad looked like someone really took their time designing every single piece of it. On the top of the roof there was very nice terrace, where we were served delicious lunch we ordered extra from the owner's wife. The breakfast were so huge, they could easily feed more than just a couple :) There were various types of sweets, pastries, juice, teas, fruits etc.

The only disadvantage was that the owner did not speak English, but he always called for his son to translate. The son was very helpful - he personally took us to the main square, organized hammam or taxis for us.

I would definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: We had the room in the first level with red bathroom and sky bed. Highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tereza H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I don't think I have given 5 stars before but I have no hesitation in doing so for this charming little riad. In that I pretty much echo what others have said, so obviously they are maintaining their standards. Nothing seems too much trouble for the family who own it. English and French are both spoken, breakfast and mint tea come when you want them, there's a comfortable roof terrace, bus tickets are bought for you.

Rooms are a decent size with great decor, very comfortable king size beds, a/c (heats in winter), good showers with plenty of hot water. It's a 15 minute walk from the main square but they will draw you a map and also direct you anywhere you want to go.

This won't suit you if you want 5 star luxury, pool, fitness centre etc, but if you want peace and quiet and excellent attentive service, it's perfect.

You don't have a snowball's chance in hell in finding it, so do accept their offer of collecting you from the airport for 8 euros a head. If you really want to do it yourself, take a taxi to Bab Aylens, walk through the gate into the Medina, fork right at the first mosque, carry on for 100m and turn left when you can see down an alley 20m to a wall with CH written on it about. Left again at CH and it's the doorway on the right before the arch.

Hard to beat.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Discowilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Out of season, they are still an attentive riad with good size rooms and great breakfasts! The walk into town is a reasonable distance but for this you do get a bit of peace and quiet away from the bustle of the square. The only real downside is that in dec it is a bit chilly, and the heaters only blow hot air into their built-in box and not into the room!

Best to stay when it's warm.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K85az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

This riad is a great place. The rooms are really clean and nice design. The family that run this place are very nice and welcoming. I could not recommend this place more. I will for sure stay here again. A great escape from the busy square of Marrakesh!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marcus z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

After a day spent in the chaos and noise of the Marrakech medina there is nothing better than going back to an oasis of peace where people are warm, friendly and make you feel at home.
Riad Tamarrakecht is a beatiful little guesthouse with amazing rooms where you can really feel like a princess or like in 1001 nights :)
Every decoration and detail of the Riad and its rooms are simply fantastic and the breakfast is almost like a ritual. Every day you get different kinds of bread, Moroccan-style crepes, eggs or fruits, jams, honey, coffe, fresh orange juice etc. Plan at least half an hour for breakfast in order to enjoy it at its best, it would be a shame not to do so.
The first welcome you get in the Riad is also lovely, with some mint tea and pastries, a very detailed map of Marrakech and its medina along with very clear explanations (marked with a highlighter on the map :) ) to find your way from the Riad and back...thanks to this never got lost in the medina :) The Riad also offers excursions. I had already booked mine before booking here at different agencies, so I am not able to judge on the quality, but I think it is great that such service is also on offer.
Rooms are very comfortable and extremely clean.
You can also have lunch and dinner there and the quality is fantastic. There is a beautiful roof terrace where you can choose to have your meals if you wish to do so.
Location is great: it is quieter than in other parts of the medina and it takes only 20-25 minutes on foot to get to Jem El Fnaa. If you need a taxi you can walk to Bab Aylen, a gate at less than 10 minutes from the Riad.
I would definitely recommend this Riad!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrancyBudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Great place to stay. You' re welcomed by Sarah in a perfect english and the riad is 10 min. walking from the grand place. The rooms are spacious and clean , the breakfast served also on the terrace is gorgeous. The staff is helpfull and ready for information. If we came back to Marrakech we'd definitly stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PAOLO M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#84 of 500 in Marrakech
564 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
1.2 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#93 of 500 in Marrakech
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#53 of 500 in Marrakech
998 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad L'Emir
Riad L'Emir
#66 of 500 in Marrakech
228 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#58 of 500 in Marrakech
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Tamarrakecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tamarrakecht

Address: 132 Derb Aghrab Bab Aylen, Marrakech 11223, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: £55 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Tamarrakecht 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Marrakech’s medina,Riad Tamarrakecht is a 15-minute walk from Jamaâ El Fna Square. You can admire the view of the Atlas Mountains from the terrace, and Moroccan dishes are served in the dining room. Free Wi-Fi access and a seating area feature in the air-conditioned rooms and suites, which have an elegant decoration. Each room has a private bathroom, which is decorated with Tadelakt. A traditional breakfast is prepared every morning at the Riad Tamarrakecht. Desserts include Moroccan pastries and homemade sorbet, and you can also request cookery lessons. You can relax in the pool in the patio or in the living rooms. Excursions can be organised on site and an airport transfer is possible at an extra cost. Marrakech International Airport is a 15-minute drive from this riad and Amelkis Golf Club is 6 km away. You can visit the Majorelle Gardens, an 8-minute drive away. Medina is a great choice for travellers interested in markets, shopping and street markets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Riad Tamarrakecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing