We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hosts, clean, beautiful riad” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Tamarrakecht

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Tamarrakecht
Ranked #68 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great hosts, clean, beautiful riad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

We had a great experience inside Riad Tamarrakecht. The main guy who runs the riad (I'm assuming the son from reading the other reviews), was hospitable, nice, and very chill. One of the first things I learned about entering the riad is that you are entering a paradise from the busy city and labyrinths. We were in a "hotel" mentality- get keys go in room. But the idea was, enter the riad, sit down and relax...because they were preparing desert & tea! It was so nice! Upon entering the room, there was fresh oranges, flowers, a bottle of water, and towels. Was very clean and the room decor was beautiful. We were impressed with breakfast- generous portions and assortment. One of the morning we ate on the roof terrace and it was such a gorgeous feeling with the rich colors of the terrace and blue sky. Make sure to read the fine print upon booking this riad, b/c it is cash only (like everything else in Marrakech). We forgot about this and the son was so chill and understanding. He was willing to come with us to the airport so we can pull out cash at the ATM! But luckily there was a cash point close on the way! But it was so great of him to be so accommodating to the situation. I'd sum up that this place is great and the host is one of a kind. The only thing is that the location is a bit too far from the plaza. There was absolutely no way we would of found the place without asking directions from the local people. They are very helpful and willing to help. They will insist on taking you to the riad for a tip. It's intimidating being lost in the labyrinths at night. The walk to the main plaza is probably about a half hour b/c it's a long walk and also the motorcycles, cyclists, and foot traffic on the way makes it longer. If you are not going to the plaza, the riad is close to a main street where you can catch a cab very easily (about 5 min walk). All in all, we had a great stay and it was an amazing experience and adventure!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GKCALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    38
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
43
177
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We had an amazing time in Marrakech, the Riad was a peaceful escape from the busy Medina, you can relax whilst hearing the water trickling from the courtyard.
The room was very clean and had everything we needed (towels, comfy huge bed, rose petals, fruit, water and a GREAT shower!).
The family that runs the Riad was really friendly and attentive from the very beginning. The son walked us down to the Square the first night so we weren't hassled by the opportunistic locals, this really helped since after that we knew our way. They also took the time to book several trips for us, even those offered by other companies. They would call and make the reservation for us. We cannot thank them enough!
Breakfast was plentiful and fresh, specially the orange juice! It was great to have breakfast while catching some sun in the lovely terrace!
Thanks family to make from our stay a wonderful one!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TaniaMMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

This Riad is beautiful, and I would go as far to say the most hospitable and beautiful place I have ever stayed. The hosts went out of their way to make our stay as pleasant as possible. I was particularly impressed that they took time to cook me a specially prepared breakfast due to a food allergy, and the breakfast is very generous. They prepared a meal for us when we arrived late, even though I stupidly didn't inform them. It is clean and safe. It is the place to stay in the Medina of Marrakech if you want to soak up the atmosphere and stay in a traditional Riad.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jofish13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013 via mobile

The two of us stayed at Riad Tamarrakecht for five nights and we thouroughly enjoyed each day! The riad itself is a piece of art, very looked after and beautiful throughout. The breakfast is tasty and rather generous and the hosts, although do not speak much English with the exception of Mocktar (the son of the family who run the riad), are all very attentive and polite. Our room was lovely and very atmospheric with some colourful stained glass and fresh flowers; the cosy terrace was perfect for both the breakfast and smoking some sheesha (5eur), or simply socializing and chilling in the evenings. The riad can also recommend some day trips, we went to see Cascades D'Ouzoud (30eur pp), and absolutely loved it! All in all, a great stay at the riad, would definitely stay again if ever back to Marrakech!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irina_Mackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

The owner of the hotel and his sun very good people. When we went to walk to Marrakech in the first time. He went with us to show us the way and that we do not get lost. Also, they prepared breakfast for us at 4 am and after that the hotel owner drove us in his car to the bus station.

The hotel inside very clean and they cook a delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sashkii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

People are lovely. Breakfasts are gargantuan. Accommodation is authentic, with a careful eye on the attention to detail. We arrived as guests and departed as friends.

Riad Tip: Do make use of the Riad's Airport Transfer Service.

Marrakech tip: Have spare toilet paper as many loos tend to be "out of stock"

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank okaycrokay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights to celebrate my birthday with my friends. The family that run the hotel were very nice and very welcoming. Sara (one of the daughters) showed us how to get around, her and her father even walked with us to the market to make sure we knew our way. The hotel room was amazing and the terrace was lovely. The breakfast was amazing and they had so much variety, after breakfast I wouldn't eat again until late afternoon. Sara ensured that we had her mobile number and if we ever got lost we could just call them. One evening we wanted to go to the new town, and Sara's father drove us there and collected us, because he said that the taxis would be too expensive. I've never stayed in a hotel that was so focused on ensuring their guests were happy and catered for. I am planning to come back again with my mum and granddad. If you stay here definitely have at least one meal from the hotel, the food was one of the best meals I had whilst in Marrakech, one of my friends was vegetarian and didn't have much choice in restaurants, we told Sara this and she offered to cook my friend whatever she wanted. If you like fish definitely request for the grilled fish or fish tagine, you won't regret it. The location is great and so close to the main square in the old town, and the airport is only 20-30 minutes from the hotel. They really looked after us, and Sara's father treated us like were his daughter.

If you go to Marrakech in an all female group be prepared to get unwanted attention from the Morocco men. The best advice I could give would be to ignore them.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sim231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#82 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#72 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.6 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#58 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Suliman
Riad Suliman
#88 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#44 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad L'Emir
Riad L'Emir
#41 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Tamarrakecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tamarrakecht

Property: Riad Tamarrakecht
Address: 132 Derb Aghrab Bab Aylen | 132 Derb A ghrab Bab Aylen, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Marrakech’s medina,Riad Tamarrakecht is a 15-minute walk from Jamaâ El Fna Square. You can admire the view of the Atlas Mountains from the terrace, and Moroccan dishes are served in the dining room. Free Wi-Fi access and a seating area feature in the air-conditioned rooms and suites, which have an elegant decoration. Each room has a private bathroom, which is decorated with Tadelakt. A traditional breakfast is prepared every morning at the Riad Tamarrakecht. Desserts include Moroccan pastries and homemade sorbet, and you can also request cookery lessons. You can relax in the pool in the patio or in the living rooms. Excursions can be organised on site and an airport transfer is possible at an extra cost. Marrakech International Airport is a 15-minute drive from this riad and Amelkis Golf Club is 6 km away. You can visit the Majorelle Gardens, an 8-minute drive away. Medina is a great choice for travellers interested in markets, shopping and street markets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Tamarrakecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing