We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, modest and very welcoming”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Tamarrakecht

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Tamarrakecht
Ranked #73 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly, modest and very welcoming”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We felt really well cared for by Sara, who could not have been more helpful. The riad is modest, peaceful, clean, and well looked after, with an air of simple charm. The roof terrace is lovely for breakfast (which was very good) or for relaxing in the sun or shade during the day.

We liked the location - tucked down a back alley among the maze of narrow streets in one of the non-touristy souks - so that as soon as you set foot outside you are in the middle of the full-on bustle of the medina. It is about 10/12 minutes walk to the Fna Djema square. But don't try to find the riad yourself when you first arrive in Marrakech as you will almost certainly get lost in the tangle of streets. The Riad will arrange a taxi transfer from the airport, which drops you at the nearest gate in the Medina wall, where Sara's brother will meet you and escort you to the Riad.

The rooms on the ground floor are darker than the first floor - especially the one with brown walls (the one with white walls feels much brighter) . The ground floor rooms also give directly onto the reception area and TV/sitting space, so I was a bit concerned that other guests might decide to watch TV or sit talking late into the evening. As it turned out, there was someone playing the guitar there on our first evening, but it was actually quite soothing, and Sara would have asked him to move up to the roof if we had found it disturbing. The 2nd night it was perfectly quiet.

We paid 46 euros per double room per night, including breakfast. We felt it was good value and would happily return.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are airier and quieter than on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmy286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    39
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
178
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

The Riad is very nicely decorated, maybe too much. There are way more pieces of furniture than you will see on the photos. I was wondering if we walked into the wrong Riad at first. Its very cosy. The terrace is very nice with a big lounge area completely in the shade.

The breakfast was excellent. Half Moroccan half European. The Moroccan part was different every day. Its copious. So copious you don't need to eat lunch.

The staff was very friendly. Walking directions and local restaurants suggestions were not the most accurate though.

The room is very nicely decorated and of good size. It was a little ternished by the extreme humidity of the bathroom, the smell coming out of the drain, and the 3 ginormous cockroaches that we saw in the room. After pointing it out, the room smelled very much like bug spray for the next 2 days...

Finally, location. It is right in the middle of the Medina, were the locals live. The surroundings of the riad are not touristy by any means. You have to walk at least 10 minutes towards Jemaa el Fna to see another tourist. The streets are very busy with pedestrians, donkey towed carriages and polluting scooters. It can be scary at first but you get used to it quickly.This is an experience to livenat least once in my opinion.

I would recommend this hotel but not the main floor rooms because they are very damp and attract roaches, and the kitchen noise as well as the reception desk's music spoil the otherwise silent and calm sanctuary.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabien W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

When we arrived we were amazed how quiet and peaceful it was at this Riad compared to the bustling streets of Marrakech!
The inner courtyard is just beautiful, there is a lovely water feature with dramatic colourful curtains and rose petals, and our room was also very pleasant - spacious, very comfortable bed and large shower.
Both Mukta and his sister were fabulous help whilst we were there - Mukta came and found us when we were lost walking from the grand square to the riad (it can get a little difficult to find your way, particularly at night!) and his sister was lovely to talk to (very well spoken english and french too of course)
We would be very happy to stay here again, it was a lovely visit and we felt it was a shame that we were staying only for one night!

Room Tip: when we walked from to the grand square from the riad it was light, when we returned to the riad the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StKFlossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Riad Tamarrakecht is a great little place to stay in Marrakech. Sara, the young woman who more or less runs the place, speaks great English and extremely friendly and helpful. We paid about 50 euros a night and stayed for three nights.
The WiFi in the Riad isn’t always fast since lots of people are on it, but it works. It’s only available in the common areas, though. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and are cleaned daily. The breakfast provided is really tasty, and is available until 10:30am (if I remember correctly). Laundry is 1 euro per piece.
We booked a camel trip through the Riad which cost us 65 euros. My advice is to do more research on camel tours and choose a different provider. I did a camel tour out of Jaisalmer, India, so my judgment is relative to that tour operator.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rollo_Tommo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zaandam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

My daughter and I stayed at this Riad after a long journey and were welcomed by Sarah and her brother with fresh mint tea and cakes. After we had the best shower in Morocco we went straight to sleep. Fantastic room with very comfy bed so that was no trouble at all. Sarah had told us that we could get breakfast any time we liked, so we did not have to hurry in the morning. When we finally got up we had a great breakfast on the roof and it all tasted so good!
We really loved this beautifully decorated, warm and welcoming Riad and will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riadenhollander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stayed in this Riad for 5 nights in May 2013
The staff at the Riad organised an airport transfer and the taxi took us to the gates of the old medina where we were met by Sara from who walked us to the Riad.

This was handy as we never would have found the place on our own. It's tucked away in a back street in the heart of the old medina about a 10 minute walk from the main square.

The Riad is beautiful , an absolute gem, we were treated wonderfully through our whole stay and it felt like nothing was too much trouble, Sara organised a trip to the waterfalls and our bus tickets to Agadir for when we left.

Breakfast each morning was presented wonderfully on a stunning roof terrace and the food filled you up for a day exploring Marrakech.

The rooms are very beautifully decorated and very quiet.

If we were to ever stay in Marrakech again this place would be the top of our list.

A much more genuine feel than the hotels in the new town, a must stay if you want a real Moroccan experience.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MK_travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
293 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I don’t think we could have been better taken care of if we had stayed at my mothers. Sara and her family are so warm, welcoming and attentive. There was nothing too much, too late, or too difficult for her or her family to accommodate. There were four of us staying at the Riad and upon our arrival there was mint tea and deserts for us to just sit back and relax for a moment. It is a bit of a culture shock, and as we walked through the Medina for the first time I thought…Oh my goodness, where have I booked us. There were hanging meats, chicken parts and other undetermined delicacies and the streets were filled with people and activity. So we were happy to be led to our Riad and sat down for a cup of tea. It was hot and our first thought was hot tea? But it was just what we needed and we also didn’t feel so hot afterwards.

Sara took care of tipping the boys that had carried our luggage on a cart through the Medina since only cars are allowed to a certain point. Jalil took care of arranging for the boys (see my review “Morocco Unplugged-Day Tours”) needless to say, by the time we got to our Riad we were tired from our overseas flight and a little dazed and confused…Sara took care of everything.

Our rooms were AMAZING! Just like the photos and they were a good size with a good size bathroom as well. The water was always hot and the pressure was always good and the air conditioner was quiet and worked well. Just a word of note, the shower drain in the Bab Ighli room has an odor. Given the Riad is located in the oldest part of the Medina, it’s to be expected. I had read other reviews commenting on the smell from the drain. All we did was cut a piece of plastic bag and put it over the shower drain when we were not using it and didn’t smell a thing…so not a problem after all.

We ate most of our meals at the Riad in the evening and of course each morning since breakfast is included in the rate, which by the way, breakfast was always different. We never once had a bad meal or a course where we were like….ugh, no thanks….EVERY course… and just to warn you…there are 3 to 4 courses to each dinner meal and everyone as delicious as the next. Sara’s mom is the BEST COOK! We ate in other establishments and only one was on parr with Sara’s mother. I did see her mother and stopped to give her a great big hug and kiss for all the fantastic meals she was preparing for us. I had left the meal planning up to Sara, I just instructed her that we wanted wine and beer with our meals, what time they should be served and left the rest to her and also that one person in our party was vegetarian.

Everything was so perfect. The beds were very comfortable, I slept comfortably and like a log. The time we spent upstairs on the roof was amazing too, we loved the cats that run and play around and named one “Maynard”, he was so clumsy …he fell three stories into the pool one morning causing such a ruckus! I will never forget it.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Riad Tamarrakecht and it isn’t much of a walk to the front gate where you can get a taxi, but you need to be careful, you are sharing the walkways with motorbikes, and bikes and other people. If anything, this was the most annoying, I even got hit by a child on a bike way too big for him to manage, another of our group got hit by a motorbike, nothing serious, we didn’t get knocked down, just a bump and a bruise.

I thought the Riad was placed just far enough away from the souk, just close enough to the main gate and pretty center to wherever we wanted to go. Sara and her family did an amazing job making sure we were always taken care of and happy whether it was for an early morning breakfast or a late night dinner and hookah, they were always happy to accommodate. Her handsome father could only communicate in French but Sara and her brother were always on hand so there was never a problem. Thanks Sara’s Dad for the champagne on our last night, it was very good as was everything else. Don’t hesitate to book this Riad, you will be taken care of like family. If we ever come back, we are staying at this Riad.

A few things to note: we were told that we could pay with a credit card for our meals at the end of our stay, but when they tried to run our American credit cards, they wouldn’t go through, there is a special square on the front of UK cards that American credit cards don’t have. Unfortunately, we were not able to tip Sara and her family like we had wanted since we had just enough Dirham and Euros left to get to our next destination and it was late and we were already in bed when the knock came that the card wouldn’t work. Thank goodness I had put away a few extra Euros and we were able to pay our bill. Sorry Sara, you deserved a great big tip for all your hard work, we felt really bad but will know better next time. Also our American credit cards worked in other places so the one the Riad had access to, which was a neighboring Riad must have just been for UK cards. We also chose to pay our Riad bill our first day which we paid in Euros…but you would think since they already had our money the service might not be all that…well, it was perfect never faltering from beginning to end. Take Dirhams for shopping, if you pay in Euros, they will give you change in Dirhams…exchange will not be right and you will lose money. Take tennis shoes, the streets are cobbled and pretty dirty, if you wear open sandals, your feet will be disgusting by the end of the day…so will your pretty sandals. also, there is no lift so you will have to climb stairs, but it's not bad. Sara will give you a map and explain the location which is very helpful.
Sara and family, we will always remember our wonderful experience with you. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boo2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.2 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#71 of 494 in Marrakech
659 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#86 of 494 in Marrakech
526 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Suliman
Riad Suliman
#93 of 494 in Marrakech
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#56 of 494 in Marrakech
911 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#44 of 494 in Marrakech
1,054 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#38 of 494 in Marrakech
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Tamarrakecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tamarrakecht

Property: Riad Tamarrakecht
Address: 132 Derb Aghrab Bab Aylen, Marrakech 11223, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Marrakech’s medina,Riad Tamarrakecht is a 15-minute walk from Jamaâ El Fna Square. You can admire the view of the Atlas Mountains from the terrace, and Moroccan dishes are served in the dining room. Free Wi-Fi access and a seating area feature in the air-conditioned rooms and suites, which have an elegant decoration. Each room has a private bathroom, which is decorated with Tadelakt. A traditional breakfast is prepared every morning at the Riad Tamarrakecht. Desserts include Moroccan pastries and homemade sorbet, and you can also request cookery lessons. You can relax in the pool in the patio or in the living rooms. Excursions can be organised on site and an airport transfer is possible at an extra cost. Marrakech International Airport is a 15-minute drive from this riad and Amelkis Golf Club is 6 km away. You can visit the Majorelle Gardens, an 8-minute drive away. Medina is a great choice for travellers interested in markets, shopping and street markets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Riad Tamarrakecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing