We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (412)
Filter reviews
412 results
Traveller rating
349
51
10
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
349
51
10
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main square bab aylen family run riad moroccan family roof terrace airport transfer busy medina do's and don'ts detailed map breakfast was amazing mint tea the ground floor every morning tucked away jemaa el rooms are beautiful nice riad
Filter
Updating list...
160 - 165 of 412 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This Riad is ranked so highly for a reason. After booking it based on reviews read here we were not disappointed.
The greeting and orientation were invaluable in the maze of the Old Town - no request was too much - the breakfast was exactly what was required. The Begging cats added charm - the room was clean cool and quiet and simply beautiful.
Worth absolutely every penny and would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_Leslie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights on our honeymoon. It was the end of July and temperatures were at about 45 degrees celsius but the Riad was cool and calm. Our room was well furnished, quiet and comfortable.

The family were very helpful, organising coach tickets to Essaouira and even finding us a rental car at late notice on a Friday.

It seemed that anything we asked about, they were able to sort out. They even managed to find my wife's lost wedding ring for us.

The Riad is in a less touristy part of the medina but this meant that we could feed ourselves quite easily by shopping around the stalls in the area. It took about 20 mins to get to the main square. This could be quite hairy when it was busy, especially during Ramadan when everybody came out at night. Our tip would be to walk into town when evening prayers are on, to avoid the crowds and scooters. This would probably apply in most parts of the medina though.

The roof terrace was very pleasant for evening meals and the cat (Bruce), entertained us by strutting around and fighting off any cats that bothered us.

The family were extremely kind and took very good care of us which made our stay all that much better. The only negative for some people might be that it isn't as close as some Riads are to the centre but we preferred to be able to get away from the chaos and have a breather.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor in Bab Ighli and were greeted by Missimon (Bruce) the cat every morning to be led to breakfast.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic dip into Moroccan culture! The Riad was so beautiful and so typically Morrocan. Our hosts Sara and her family looked after us very well and we felt like nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are stunning as is the roof terrace. We were moved due to building work
Which gave us an opportunity to see two rooms, the second of which was the honeymoon room!
We can't recommend them enough but if you do book pay for the airport transfer. I can't imagine making the journey without a guide for a first timer in Marakesh!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Richardgems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Riad Tamarrakecht is a peaceful and relaxing riad in the heart of the bustling medina of Marrakech. Sara and Mukhtar are extremely friendly and helpful and Sara provided a number of hints, tips and pieces of advice as well as a wonderful hand-drawn map to allow us to get to the Jemaa el-Fna and back. We stayed in two different rooms on the second floor and both were equally comfortable. At night it was so dark and quiet inside the rooms, I think I had some of the best nights' sleep of my life. Breakfast was enormous with a large variety of different foods and it kept us going until late in the day. It's worthwhile to take up their offer of a transfer from the airport as Marrakech is difficult to navigate at first. Otherwise, the taxis (which you can take from nearby Bab Aylen) are very inexpensive and a good way of getting around. Overall, Riad Tamarrakecht represents excellent value for money and is a good base from which to explore Marrakech.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne-Dani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights towards the end of October. In summary we loved it here. Sara and Mukhtar were so helpful in ensuring we found our way around and with organising transfers for which we were really grateful. Our room was lovely and we both really enjoyed taking breakfast on the roof terrace. The Riad is an easy 10 minute walk from Djemarr El Fna and we were grateful not to be more central than this, it was no hardship at all walking in for the evening, at no stage did we feel intimidated wandering around Marrakech in the evening. Our only slight gripe and reason for not giving 5 stars was we did find the Riad quite noisy... as we were on the ground floor we were always woken by people arriving, breakfast being organised and quite often they stayed up late watching telly quite loudly just outside the room... really is nitpicking as meant the family were always pleasant but is worth taking into consideration and if this would really bother you would be worth asking not to be on the groundfloor. All in all we would absolutely visit and stay here again.

Room Tip: avoid ground floor rooms if you are a light sleeper or may want a lie in in the morning.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ElleC80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews