We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (413)
Filter reviews
413 results
Traveller rating
349
51
11
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
349
51
11
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main square bab aylen family run riad moroccan family roof terrace airport transfer busy medina do's and don'ts detailed map breakfast was amazing mint tea the ground floor every morning tucked away jemaa el rooms are beautiful nice riad
Filter
Updating list...
159 - 164 of 413 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed Mid December. Airport pickup was prompt well-arranged no hassle, very glad we took the option as the guy walked us to the door and waited till Sara opened the door.

Very warm welcome, the raid looked gorgeous. Was satisfied with our room the only down side was the toilet had a strong smell of the drainage system.

The explanation and map Sara gave us was very helpful, good advice on our first day which saved us loads of hassle and time throughout the trip.

Will definitely recommend as Sara and her brother make you feel at home and quite relaxed, they are very friendly and welcoming.

Thanks

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fanexgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I stayed there with my husband and parents the first week in December and it was incredible. The best points were:

a) We were greeted with mint tea and Moroccan sweets.

b) The whole hotel is very clean and extremely well decorated. You really feel like you're in Morocco.

c) Sara (the daughter and hotel manager) is sweet, friendly and helpful.

d) The breakfast (served in the rooftop terrace) is great!

e) It's only a 15 minute walk (slow walk) to the main square and market.

f) You REALLY experience Morocco because the hotel is located in the Old Town where you don't find tourists until you reach the market.

We totally recommend this hotel!
Love to you Sara!
Patrícia, Eduardo, Rita and Paulo (Brazilian family)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDuarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This Riad is ranked so highly for a reason. After booking it based on reviews read here we were not disappointed.
The greeting and orientation were invaluable in the maze of the Old Town - no request was too much - the breakfast was exactly what was required. The Begging cats added charm - the room was clean cool and quiet and simply beautiful.
Worth absolutely every penny and would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_Leslie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights on our honeymoon. It was the end of July and temperatures were at about 45 degrees celsius but the Riad was cool and calm. Our room was well furnished, quiet and comfortable.

The family were very helpful, organising coach tickets to Essaouira and even finding us a rental car at late notice on a Friday.

It seemed that anything we asked about, they were able to sort out. They even managed to find my wife's lost wedding ring for us.

The Riad is in a less touristy part of the medina but this meant that we could feed ourselves quite easily by shopping around the stalls in the area. It took about 20 mins to get to the main square. This could be quite hairy when it was busy, especially during Ramadan when everybody came out at night. Our tip would be to walk into town when evening prayers are on, to avoid the crowds and scooters. This would probably apply in most parts of the medina though.

The roof terrace was very pleasant for evening meals and the cat (Bruce), entertained us by strutting around and fighting off any cats that bothered us.

The family were extremely kind and took very good care of us which made our stay all that much better. The only negative for some people might be that it isn't as close as some Riads are to the centre but we preferred to be able to get away from the chaos and have a breather.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor in Bab Ighli and were greeted by Missimon (Bruce) the cat every morning to be led to breakfast.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic dip into Moroccan culture! The Riad was so beautiful and so typically Morrocan. Our hosts Sara and her family looked after us very well and we felt like nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are stunning as is the roof terrace. We were moved due to building work
Which gave us an opportunity to see two rooms, the second of which was the honeymoon room!
We can't recommend them enough but if you do book pay for the airport transfer. I can't imagine making the journey without a guide for a first timer in Marakesh!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Richardgems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews