We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family run hotel”
Review of Riad Tamarrakecht

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Tamarrakecht
Ranked #79 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed here for two nights at the beginning of our trip, and had a lovely time. Sara is a great host and was really helpful in answering any of our questions and giving directions. Sara organised a transfer from the airport which was effortless and great after arriving at night. The rooms are lovely and feel quite grand, and the breakfast on the rooftop in the sunshine was the best breakfast we had on our trip!
The riad is about a 10 min walk to the Jemaa el-Fnaa (main square), however it is an easy walk and gives you a taste of life in Marrakech. I also liked that the riad was away from the hustle and bustle of the main tourist area, and is so quiet once you step inside the doors.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sarah611Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

My partner and I stayed in this Riad for a week mid December. The Riad is small but homely and has an authentic feel. We stayed in two of the rooms available both of which were very pleasant. The food we requested for our night of arrival was better than much of the food we experienced in top restaurants during our stay. What makes this place so very good is the owner. The owner is English speaking and she went out of her way to ensure we had everything we needed for a terrific break. No request was too difficult and believe me my partner made plenty!!! I have no hesitation in adding my 5 rating to the many others this Riad has achieved.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Francis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I stayed there 3 nites with my son.
Very caring and lovely family run Riad. Only 15 minutes from Main Square. Nice Breakfast
on the roof, pleanty of items, with Fresh Orange Juice make our day refreshing.
Will come back again.

Room Tip: All rooms are quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lonely mountaineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Had a very relaxed stay here.
Sara and Mokhtar are nice and welcoming! You get greeted Mint tea and moroccan sweets on arrival.
We stayed one night in the Bab Agnaou and two nights in the Bab Ighli.
Both pretty rooms with very comfy beds. There is no wifi reception inside the Bab Ighli though in case that is important to you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheekyjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed Mid December. Airport pickup was prompt well-arranged no hassle, very glad we took the option as the guy walked us to the door and waited till Sara opened the door.

Very warm welcome, the raid looked gorgeous. Was satisfied with our room the only down side was the toilet had a strong smell of the drainage system.

The explanation and map Sara gave us was very helpful, good advice on our first day which saved us loads of hassle and time throughout the trip.

Will definitely recommend as Sara and her brother make you feel at home and quite relaxed, they are very friendly and welcoming.

Thanks

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fanexgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I stayed there with my husband and parents the first week in December and it was incredible. The best points were:

a) We were greeted with mint tea and Moroccan sweets.

b) The whole hotel is very clean and extremely well decorated. You really feel like you're in Morocco.

c) Sara (the daughter and hotel manager) is sweet, friendly and helpful.

d) The breakfast (served in the rooftop terrace) is great!

e) It's only a 15 minute walk (slow walk) to the main square and market.

f) You REALLY experience Morocco because the hotel is located in the Old Town where you don't find tourists until you reach the market.

We totally recommend this hotel!
Love to you Sara!
Patrícia, Eduardo, Rita and Paulo (Brazilian family)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDuarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This Riad is ranked so highly for a reason. After booking it based on reviews read here we were not disappointed.
The greeting and orientation were invaluable in the maze of the Old Town - no request was too much - the breakfast was exactly what was required. The Begging cats added charm - the room was clean cool and quiet and simply beautiful.
Worth absolutely every penny and would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_Leslie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#52 of 500 in Marrakech
979 reviews
0.7 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#80 of 500 in Marrakech
562 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#66 of 500 in Marrakech
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#57 of 500 in Marrakech
251 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
1.2 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#89 of 500 in Marrakech
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Tamarrakecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tamarrakecht

Address: 132 Derb Aghrab Bab Aylen, Marrakech 11223, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: £49 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Tamarrakecht 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Marrakech’s medina,Riad Tamarrakecht is a 15-minute walk from Jamaâ El Fna Square. You can admire the view of the Atlas Mountains from the terrace, and Moroccan dishes are served in the dining room. Free Wi-Fi access and a seating area feature in the air-conditioned rooms and suites, which have an elegant decoration. Each room has a private bathroom, which is decorated with Tadelakt. A traditional breakfast is prepared every morning at the Riad Tamarrakecht. Desserts include Moroccan pastries and homemade sorbet, and you can also request cookery lessons. You can relax in the pool in the patio or in the living rooms. Excursions can be organised on site and an airport transfer is possible at an extra cost. Marrakech International Airport is a 15-minute drive from this riad and Amelkis Golf Club is 6 km away. You can visit the Majorelle Gardens, an 8-minute drive away. Medina is a great choice for travellers interested in markets, shopping and street markets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays and Ebookers so you can book your Riad Tamarrakecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing