We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (408)
Filter reviews
408 results
Traveller rating
345
51
10
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
345
51
10
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main squarebab aylenfamily run riadmoroccan familyroof terraceairport transferbusy medinado's and don'tsdetailed mapbreakfast was amazingmint teathe ground floorevery morningtucked awayjemaa elrooms are beautifulnice riad
Filter
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 408 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a stay in Marrakech - our final holiday as a couple before our first baby arrives in the summer. We chose this riad based on another Tripadvisor review by accident really - what a good accident! The riad collected us from the airport, depositing us at Bab Aylen, where we were met and guided to the riad on foot. There we were welcomed by Muqta, who provided tea, cakes and a ten minute orientation lesson, complete with an extremely handy map of how to get to the main square! And within seconds of sitting down there was a cat on my lap! In fact there were three cats, two of which (Mimish and son of Mimish) belong to the family. The third (nicknamed Stareycat) is a neighbourhood cat. But they were very sweet, led us to our rooms, tried to climb on us, and ducked in our room when we weren't looking! So if you really hate cats, perhaps this might not be great, but we loved them.

Our room (first floor, furthest away from the stairs) was really lovely. Clean, great bathroom, with a table and chairs outside looking over the centre of the riad. It was just lovely. Breakfast was superb, and eating it on the roof was great too. You can see the rooftops of the medina.

The hotel is about a fifteen minute walk from the main square. There are plenty of riads closer than this, but we loved the walk. We felt that we saw real life in those streets, further away from the tourist zone. We would have missed that if we stayed somewhere else. So if you want an experience that takes you off only the main roads, that shows you real Marrakesh people going about their daily lives, then this is perfect.

The hotel was fantastic value, 60 euros a night including breakfast! We could not fault it at all.

Sara and Muqta were really friendly, helpful, and you know they would look after you.

So all in all, we would highly recommend this place to anybody.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank louisochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I cannot say enough nice things about Sara and the family that runs the place. They make sure you are looked after as you acclimate yourself to the Medina area. She drew us a map of the old village and gave us great advice for getting around the Medina. And because they are a Moroccan family, they know everyone in the area.

The rooms are well-appointed and very luxurious. The Riad is impeccably clean and the beds are very comfortable. Everything about the place is first class. Its perhaps a 15 minute walk to get to the Medina and there is a lot of great stuff to experience on the way. And its really wonderful to come back to a quiet refuge like this Riad after being immersed in the spectacle of commotion that is the Medina.

This placed should be listed a lot higher!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GozerTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Tried to write in danish, but Tripadvisor didnt like that. Well, this Riad is situated in the old original part of the city, the Medina. We were picked up in the airport and recommend doing so, as Marrakech is a bit confusing the first days of the stay. But after that you quickly learn your way around without getting too much lost. You pay the Riad for picking you up - and only the Riad!
The Riad is a small family owned hotel, where Sara and her family makes you feel very welcome. They are always smiling and friendly. All questions are being answered correctly and does not cost you extra (like outside these walls). And - most important - you can trust the information you get here. Sara gave us a very good description about finding our way around and a general info about the city and even about the whole society.
The included breakfast is excellent and plenty. Fresh orangejuice and pancakes every day :) We also had dinner some evenings, and you owe yourself to do that. Sara's mom is a very competent chef. Try her pastilla :) We really enjoyed the food here.
After walking around for hours in the narrow and noisy streets, it was a relief to enter the Riad again, where it was always very peaceful and quiet. All the rooms were beautifully decorated after local traditions. We liked that a lot.
They have cats in the Riad. They are cute, but beware - they might try to grap some leftovers from the table ;) And another thing. We were there in January, and it was a bit chilly. So remember to bring your warm clothes this time of the year, as dinners are served outside in the atrium.
Finally is just left to say many thanks to Sara, her brother and the rest of the familiy for a nice stay in Marrakech. We recommend others to stay in Riad Tamarrakecht.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Ivan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We had an excellent stay at Tamarrakecht and would definitely recommend it to others who are seeking an authentic, non-touristy experience in this wonderful city. We are a young, well-traveled couple and spent three nights here in January. Seamless airport transfer was arranged at a very reasonable price, taking us right to the front door (important to help get your bearings the first time around!). The Riad is located about 10-15 min walk from place Jemaa-el-Fna. At first glance the route to get there may seem confusing but once you've done it once, it is easily remembered and the staff will always come get you if you are lost! The bonus is that you get to walk through a "real" neighbourhood and get the taste of Marrakech that is lacking in the fancier Riads around the square. We walked it many times at all hours of the day/night and did not feel unsafe in the slightest -- and some of the best mules and chicken vendors were along the way!

The Riad is comfortable and unpretentious; clearly family-run and Sara and Moktar were gracious hosts, answering all of our questions and providing us with many awesome inside tips on the culture and vibe of the country (and fair price for teapots!). This is what made the difference -- you can go crazy comparing Riads but we learned that they are all basically the same, it's the people that make the difference and you will feel at home at Tamarrakecht. There are even a few adorable cats that hang around and snuggle you on request!

We rented the Bab el Jdid suite on the second floor and it was lovely and calm (note from my wife to the ladies -- hair dryer is included!) The room is authentically decorated and quite comfortable, though hot water was sporadic (common throughout Morocco, not their fault!) and the WiFi signal came and went in the room. We had breakfast each morning on the rooftop terrace and it was wonderful -- they changed it every day but it invariably included Moroccan pancakes, eggs, pastries and fresh OJ/tea/coffee.

On our last night Sara's mother cooked us the best meal we ate in Morocco -- savoury and warm Harira (soup), succulent beef and prune tajine and lovingly prepared chicken pastilla (b'stilla). We ate so much we could not move for almost 24 hours but it was worth it!!

In short, if you are looking to experience the "real" Marrakech at a reasonable price, and are not afraid to walk through a real street on the way to the main square (why some people prefer to avoid the locals while travelling mystifies me...) then look no further! Thanks again to Sara and her family!

Room Tip: We can only speak for the Bab el Jdid suite on the top floor, which was wonderful! Other reviews seem to have mentioned noise but we did not have any problems, the room was pitch black and quiet and we slept extremely well!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean_Karolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed here for one night and wished we had more time to spend at this lovely family owned riad. It is very well decorated and the rooms are stunning, and have modern amenities. Lovely breakfast on the terrace! The owner's daughter Sara was a most gracious and informative hostess who gave us an excellent map of the route to the main square, and her brother was very helpful with the breakfast and other needs. The owner is very polite and personally made sure we were well cared for. And the roaming cats were a special attraction for the children. We hope we will be back one day for a longer stay!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank AP20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews