We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely”
Review of Riad Tamarrakecht

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Tamarrakecht
Ranked #74 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Really lovely”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This is a beautiful riad 10 mins walk from the central square. A family affair. Architect father designed the refurbishment and run by the very hardworking siblings Sara and Mucta. They could not have been more helpful and friendly. Rooms are beautiful. A great experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ansbnks2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    40
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
45
182
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cadiz, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Me and my girlfriend just came back from Marrakech and from this Riad. I just want to tell that I met the persons of all my trips! this riad is amazing but the best from there are Sara, ''Murrta'' ( I never know his name :) ) and the parents. this people makes your stay in Marrrakech unforgettable! thanks to Sara family, you made our trip amazing, and if someone tells something bad about this Riad and about this people, is lying! thank you so much for everything! thay more than staff, they are friends!!
THANKS, and we will be back!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimGuimaraes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Absolutely beautiful riad, so finely decorated and pieces chosen with care. The Bab el Jdid suite was sumptuous and the bed was more comfortable than my bed at home. The breakfast was so relaxing, served on the roof with the sun shining down on us as the cats watched us eat. Only 15 minutes to the main square, and easy directionally, once you get it right. Sara was kind enough to give us insights into Moroccan women's lives, and I'm happy to see a Moroccan family own and operate a riad. Overall a beautiful place to stay that was simply perfect.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HSS2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
68 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

To quote Monty Python - "And now for something completely different". Forget about staying in tourist hotels in the New City, where you will only get a sanitised version of Morocco. Riad Tamarrakecht is situated in the heart of the medina - the Old City - where you are surrounded by the "real" Morocco, but in no way does this involve slumming it as it is nicely decorated in local style, it is peacefully quiet, the food is good and the personal service is excellent. Whatever you do, make sure that you ask them to arrange transport for you to get from and to the airport as they will meet the taxi at the gate of the medina (Bab Aylen) and take you and your bags to the Riad - without it, you will never find your way. As soon as we arrived, Sara drew us a map showing the way to Jemma El Fna, the main square where it all happens in Marrakesh and which will inevitably be your focal point, and we had no difficulty in getting around. However, I would not recommend the experience to anyone with a severe mobility problem as the route is crowded with street vendors, motor-cycles and hand- and donkey-carts - though, having said that, my wife was recovering from a recent broken leg and managed fine. I would also suggest when you first venture out into the medina that you identify a landmark by which to identify the turning to find your way back to the Riad as it is down a rather anonymous-looking alleyway. Sara arranged for us to take a one-day excursion over the Atlas Mountains to Ait Benhaddou and Ouarzazate and her brother took us to make sure that our transport was waiting. The money for this, as well as for our accommodation and airport transfers, was payable in dirhams or euros (we chose dirhams), but Sara was totally relaxed about payment and I think I was more anxious to pay her than she was to receive payment! Incidentally, it might help if I mention that on leaving Marrakesh you will need to stand in the queue at the airport to get your boarding card stamped even though you may have checked in on-line, as you will not be allowed through security without this. In summary, a most enjoyable 6-night stay, largely due to the attentiveness of Sara and her brother - and of course those cats!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cymro36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a stay in Marrakech - our final holiday as a couple before our first baby arrives in the summer. We chose this riad based on another Tripadvisor review by accident really - what a good accident! The riad collected us from the airport, depositing us at Bab Aylen, where we were met and guided to the riad on foot. There we were welcomed by Muqta, who provided tea, cakes and a ten minute orientation lesson, complete with an extremely handy map of how to get to the main square! And within seconds of sitting down there was a cat on my lap! In fact there were three cats, two of which (Mimish and son of Mimish) belong to the family. The third (nicknamed Stareycat) is a neighbourhood cat. But they were very sweet, led us to our rooms, tried to climb on us, and ducked in our room when we weren't looking! So if you really hate cats, perhaps this might not be great, but we loved them.

Our room (first floor, furthest away from the stairs) was really lovely. Clean, great bathroom, with a table and chairs outside looking over the centre of the riad. It was just lovely. Breakfast was superb, and eating it on the roof was great too. You can see the rooftops of the medina.

The hotel is about a fifteen minute walk from the main square. There are plenty of riads closer than this, but we loved the walk. We felt that we saw real life in those streets, further away from the tourist zone. We would have missed that if we stayed somewhere else. So if you want an experience that takes you off only the main roads, that shows you real Marrakesh people going about their daily lives, then this is perfect.

The hotel was fantastic value, 60 euros a night including breakfast! We could not fault it at all.

Sara and Muqta were really friendly, helpful, and you know they would look after you.

So all in all, we would highly recommend this place to anybody.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank louisochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I cannot say enough nice things about Sara and the family that runs the place. They make sure you are looked after as you acclimate yourself to the Medina area. She drew us a map of the old village and gave us great advice for getting around the Medina. And because they are a Moroccan family, they know everyone in the area.

The rooms are well-appointed and very luxurious. The Riad is impeccably clean and the beds are very comfortable. Everything about the place is first class. Its perhaps a 15 minute walk to get to the Medina and there is a lot of great stuff to experience on the way. And its really wonderful to come back to a quiet refuge like this Riad after being immersed in the spectacle of commotion that is the Medina.

This placed should be listed a lot higher!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GozerTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Tried to write in danish, but Tripadvisor didnt like that. Well, this Riad is situated in the old original part of the city, the Medina. We were picked up in the airport and recommend doing so, as Marrakech is a bit confusing the first days of the stay. But after that you quickly learn your way around without getting too much lost. You pay the Riad for picking you up - and only the Riad!
The Riad is a small family owned hotel, where Sara and her family makes you feel very welcome. They are always smiling and friendly. All questions are being answered correctly and does not cost you extra (like outside these walls). And - most important - you can trust the information you get here. Sara gave us a very good description about finding our way around and a general info about the city and even about the whole society.
The included breakfast is excellent and plenty. Fresh orangejuice and pancakes every day :) We also had dinner some evenings, and you owe yourself to do that. Sara's mom is a very competent chef. Try her pastilla :) We really enjoyed the food here.
After walking around for hours in the narrow and noisy streets, it was a relief to enter the Riad again, where it was always very peaceful and quiet. All the rooms were beautifully decorated after local traditions. We liked that a lot.
They have cats in the Riad. They are cute, but beware - they might try to grap some leftovers from the table ;) And another thing. We were there in January, and it was a bit chilly. So remember to bring your warm clothes this time of the year, as dinners are served outside in the atrium.
Finally is just left to say many thanks to Sara, her brother and the rest of the familiy for a nice stay in Marrakech. We recommend others to stay in Riad Tamarrakecht.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Ivan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.2 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#73 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#84 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Suliman
Riad Suliman
#97 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#60 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#42 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Tamarrakecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tamarrakecht

Property: Riad Tamarrakecht
Address: 132 Derb Aghrab Bab Aylen, Marrakech 11223, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Marrakech’s medina,Riad Tamarrakecht is a 15-minute walk from Jamaâ El Fna Square. You can admire the view of the Atlas Mountains from the terrace, and Moroccan dishes are served in the dining room. Free Wi-Fi access and a seating area feature in the air-conditioned rooms and suites, which have an elegant decoration. Each room has a private bathroom, which is decorated with Tadelakt. A traditional breakfast is prepared every morning at the Riad Tamarrakecht. Desserts include Moroccan pastries and homemade sorbet, and you can also request cookery lessons. You can relax in the pool in the patio or in the living rooms. Excursions can be organised on site and an airport transfer is possible at an extra cost. Marrakech International Airport is a 15-minute drive from this riad and Amelkis Golf Club is 6 km away. You can visit the Majorelle Gardens, an 8-minute drive away. Medina is a great choice for travellers interested in markets, shopping and street markets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Tamarrakecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing