We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE place to stay in medina”
Review of Riad Tamarrakecht

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Tamarrakecht
Ranked #74 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“THE place to stay in medina”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Most reviews I've read here before making a decision to stay at this riad are absolutely to the point. The place is very nicely decorated, the hosts are wonderful, and their homemade food is delicious. However, I would like to recommend everyone to slightly lower their expectations. No, I don't want to diss the riad on anything. But it is very important to know exactly what to expect, and sometimes one may have to adjust their western expectations to the Moroccan reality. In reality, the breakfast is almost always a few minutes late, the AC is not as arctically cold as it is at home, and the paint on a bathroom wall may be peeling. But despite all this, this riad is still a great place to stay and I would do so again without any hesitation.

Now, a few tips. Do reserve a taxi from the airport via the riad - in this case the driver will take you directly to the riad's door. It's close to impossible to find the place on your own unless it's marked on the map, you have a GPS, and you know the correct route. Do ask the innkeepers, Sara and Mokhtar, for recommendations about the food stalls on Jemaa El Fna. They have a dog and at least one cat on premises, so beware if you have any dog/cat allergies. 

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank stanberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    40
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
45
182
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I visited Marrakesh for the first time and loved our stay here. However, we would highly recommend contacting the Riad in advance of your flight to let them know when to collect you - if you're unfamiliar with the medina it's extremely difficult to navigate (and we were taken advantage of by a "helpful" stranger). That said, the riad itself is absolutely wonderful and I wholeheartedly recommend it. The rooms are very comfortable and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, and went out of their way to make our visit comfortable and pleasant. I highly recommend this riad.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014

After 7 days of trekking/climbing in High Atlas mountains followed by a 3 day sahara desert tour, i settled in here so i could explore, sight see, shop and get lost in and around Marrakech. When you first walk in you are transported in a oasis, very nice rooms, loved the terrace and the common room. Food was great, staff was very helpful and it was nice to finally meet sara in person. When i had to be up at 6 am for a early tour i had breakfast ready for me, that was a nice surprise. Easy walk to main square and all shopping your heart desires
If you are looking for a holiday inn express close to airport, then that is what you should get, if you are looking for a great locally owned raid, you wont do better then here

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The hotel was a charmingly traditional riad, and comfortable. Sara the owner's daughter, who manages the riad was most helpful and gave us lots of helpful advice. We would strongly advise anyone to contact her to arrange a pickup from the airport . We did not, and were ripped off. Sara was upset that we had missed her e-mail telling us about this. We agree that the location is not for everyone.

The views from the terrace, and the breakfast, were wonderful. But if you are a Hilton-type person this is not for you. For those who want an authentic experience, we highly recommend Sara and her riad.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelJack77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Riad Tamarrakecht is the perfect base within the bustling medina. The riad is impeccably decorated. We stayed for 4 days and stayed in 3 of the rooms, each unique, luxurious, and beautiful. The breakfast on the terrace is the perfect start to any day. Sara's welcome started our trip with a great energy. She and her family are excellent hosts. The location is perfect if you want to get a glimpse of what local life in the medina is like. Getting lost is inevitable but by the end we felt confident getting around the medina. I will tell anyone I know who is going to Marrakech to stay here!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vix313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My mother and I stayed at this Riad and the end of our recent trip to Morocco. It was a lovely end to our stay!
The Riad itself is beautiful, with stunning bedrooms, and the food was the best had during our trip. We had clean fridge with water and juices, and the room had air conditioning. Once you know the route to the main square, its easy to find and takes only 10 minutes. But most importantly the family who run the Riad were the most charming people you could imagine. They were very helpful in giving us directions and ideas of things to do. I had my phone stolen and they extremely kind in helping us with the ordeal, they went out of their way to make sure i had every chance of getting it back.
I can't recommend this Riad enough, and i will definitely stay here again when i return to Morocco!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghunter_1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed at this riad at the start of our trip to Morocco, and it was a great introduction to Marrakech. It's absolutely true that the location won't be for everyone - if you want a more generic holiday experience you're best off staying in the new town. But if you want an authentic experience Tamarrakecht is a great place to be, as you're really in the thick of it.

Sara booked a car to collect us from the airport (note: apparently there are two possible exits from arrivals, so check both if you can't find the driver) and arranged for us to have dinner at the riad on the first night. We had the green room on the first floor and it was very pretty indeed. The whole riad was very clean and - thank god - our room had air conditioning and a fridge. The food was very good - we had lunch once, dinner once and breakfast each day on the nice little roof terrace - and good value too. Sara also booked us into the Alhambra spa for a hammam, which I can't recommend enough.

The riad is family run, and you can really tell. The whole family were super welcoming and helpful, from giving us a map to help navigate to the main square (a bit fiddly the first time, but fine after that and only 10 mins or so walk) to telling us what everything ought to cost. I really wouldn't hesitate to recommend Tamarrakecht.

Room Tip: Green room on the first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gloryindustries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.2 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#73 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#84 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Suliman
Riad Suliman
#97 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#60 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#42 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Tamarrakecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tamarrakecht

Property: Riad Tamarrakecht
Address: 132 Derb Aghrab Bab Aylen, Marrakech 11223, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Marrakech’s medina,Riad Tamarrakecht is a 15-minute walk from Jamaâ El Fna Square. You can admire the view of the Atlas Mountains from the terrace, and Moroccan dishes are served in the dining room. Free Wi-Fi access and a seating area feature in the air-conditioned rooms and suites, which have an elegant decoration. Each room has a private bathroom, which is decorated with Tadelakt. A traditional breakfast is prepared every morning at the Riad Tamarrakecht. Desserts include Moroccan pastries and homemade sorbet, and you can also request cookery lessons. You can relax in the pool in the patio or in the living rooms. Excursions can be organised on site and an airport transfer is possible at an extra cost. Marrakech International Airport is a 15-minute drive from this riad and Amelkis Golf Club is 6 km away. You can visit the Majorelle Gardens, an 8-minute drive away. Medina is a great choice for travellers interested in markets, shopping and street markets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Tamarrakecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing