We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rose Garden Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Abaca Badra(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
US$84
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Idra(Marrakech)
US$244
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Dar Nour El Houda(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
US$63
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Al Badia(Marrakech)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Romance(Marrakech)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Maison Arabe(Marrakech)
US$371
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$342
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Kniza(Marrakech)
US$408
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$267
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (371)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveller rating
119
101
45
50
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
101
45
50
56
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 371 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2011

DO NOT STAY HERE! I am not sure who is writing all the positive reviews of this resort but they do not reflect this resort at all. This is NOT a 5* star resort. It may have been a 5* star resort 20 years ago, but due to lack of maintenance and poor management, it is now barely a 2 or 3* resort. First, it has a major COCKROACH infestation (along with a ant infestion), which management denies. Having stayed at 4 other hotels during my trip around Morocco, I can tell you that none of the places I stayed had a cockroach problem. Second, the rooms are shabby and lack proper cleaning and maintenance. My friend went to use the bathroom, and upon closing the door to the toilet, she could not open the door again. After dealing with a hostile desk clerk to get maintance to come to our room, it took the maintenance worker over 30 minutes to get the door open, which included him having to completely dismantle the door. My friend was stuck in the 2x2 room for almost 1 hour. When we went to management to request a new room because we had a broken bathroom door and a bathroom with thumb-sized cockroaches, they were shocked that we wanted a new room. They kept us waiting for over 2 hours (till 1:30 a.m.) to provide us a new room. When we were taken to the new room, they flipped on the light and cockroaches went scurrying away. Because it was 1:30 a.m. we opted to spend a sleepless night in our original room. The next morning, the general manager came to speak to us and to offer us apologies and begged us to stay and that he would give us a very clean room that we would be very pleased with. We were told the new room would be ready by 11am, by 2 pm we were finally taken to a new room (the exact same as our earlier room). It was cleaner, but it was obvious that it had been sprayed for bugs as you could still smell the fumes. We did not see any cockroaches (until the next morning).
Other thoughts: We were told the free shuttle would cost 50 dir/pp for a roundtrip to Marrakech, the pool and spa are very old and in desperate need of repair, the hotel tends to be used exclusively by low-end tour companies, front desk staff are often absent or not helpful (we needed a taxi called, and no one was at the front dest at 6pm on a Saturday, the cleaning lady volunteered to contact our taxi for us). Staying here was a true TERROR, and does not compare to the true Moroccan hospitality I experienced at other places.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msnancydrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferrai, Guest Relations Manager at Rose Garden Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing you comments with us regarding your stay at our resort. I want to start off by letting you know that your friend was compensated for the occurance at the resort, and you have neglected to include this information in your review. I do have to disagree with the fact that you state that your room was not clean. We have a cleaning team in place, that ensures that rooms are cleaned and sanitized before a guest checks in. This team also alerts maintainance when there is a malfuntion in the room. Also for extended stays, our cleaning team visits your rooms twice daily, once for cleaning and the other time for turndown service. If your do not disturb sign was on your door then our cleaning team does not enter the room. Once again Thank you for taking the time to sharing you comments with us with regards to your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Disasterous experience at Terre Resort & Spa. A friend booked for a couple of nights in 5 star luxury after a 9 day tour before heading home. Nothing about the resort was even close to five star - from our arrival being ignored, to the cockroaches in the shower and the bathroom door trapping one of my friends for 40 minutes while the maintenance man had to dismantle it - this was all totally unacceptable.

There were four of us traveling together and arrived at the hotel for check in around 1pm. We were totally ignored until told after about 10 minutes standing at the desk to "please take a seat". We then sat for another 20 minutes without any word - I'm not sure if they were not prepared for our arrival or what, but they seemed under pressure.

We were finally showed to our room where we hurriedly dumped our bags and went back to where our driver was waiting - no more than a cursory glance around the room which looked perfectly fine. The problems began when we returned later that night, around 10.30pm, and one of the girls became trapped in the restroom when the lock mechanism was jammed. No one was answering the reception phone so I had to run up there and find someone to assist - I was firstly asked if I had tried turning the door handle. What a good idea! Finally the maintenance man arrived - he also tried turning the door handle then proceeded to completely dismantle the door handle mechanism. My friend was locked in there for 40 minutes and quite upset by the event.

In the mean time three huge cockroaches were found in the shower stall of the adjoining bedroom. Revolting. This took another trip to reception where we were told they would find us an alternative room...we sat in the lobby until 1.30am before being showed another room which also had cockroaches in it. The manager assured us he'd never seen cockroaches in the hotel before, but one of the night staff told me they were a big problem. At this stage we were all exhausted and conceded to sleeping in our original room - but it was an uncomfortable night as not only did the bathroom door now not close, but the air-conditioning unit did not work, so it was very hot.

At 8.30am the next morning the General Manager came to our room to apologise for the debacle and assure us we would be upgraded to another room that would be clean and bug free by 11am. At 1.30pm we were still waiting for the room, which it turns out was identical to our first one - however the bathroom doors did work and there were no bugs to be seen. We were also kindly offered a massage each, which we enjoyed later that afternoon. They were only 20 minutes long, but we did get to enjoy the steam room, and it was appreciated that they tried to make us feel better.

The pool area is nice, but the pool towels are small and of poor quality - a stark contrast to the large, high quality towels in the bedrooms. It could do with a bit of a tidy up.

Our waitress at breakfast was also exceptional - she said she was sorry to hear about our drama the night before and really looked after us. The coffee was good, as were the croissants.

Another note is that while it says the shuttle is free on the website and in other reviews, we were quoted 25 dirham per person each way. This is only about US$3 each way, so not huge but I was offended that some people were getting the service free and others weren't. We ended up using the hotel's private car for 150 dirham.

The cleaning team were kind, but the hotel obviously has a bug problem that a cursory spray of bug repellent can not fix. The rooms are showing some wear and tear, there were stains on the walls and marks on the carpet. We were really sad to waste good money on such a crappy hotel when we could have stayed in one of a hundred cleaner and more luxurious hotels in Marrakech.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferrai, Guest Relations Manager at Rose Garden Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments with regards to your experience at our resort. I want to start off by letting you know that your friend was compensated for the occurance at the resort, and you have neglected to include this information in your review. I do have to disagree with the fact that you state that your room was not clean. We have a cleaning team in place, that ensures that rooms are cleaned and sanitized before a guest checks in. This team also alerts maintainance when there is a malfuntion in the room. Also for extended stays, our cleaning team visits your rooms twice daily, once for cleaning and the other time for turndown service. If your do not disturb sign was on your door then our cleaning team does not enter the room. Once again Thank you for taking the time to sharing you comments with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Our experience of the Terre Resort & spa was fantastic. We were met at the airport by the hotel shuttle bus service we arrived at the reception and were welcomed by the staff. We stayed in a cosy room . it was above expectation. To eat you could do so on the resort site at the restaurant or poolside or arrange for a taxi into Marrakech to for 150 Dirham each way booked at reception, the only thing is if you are more than 3 in your party you may need two taxi's or a grand mercedes taxi which take 4 passengers. I had read articles from other travelers before going and they were mixed so go with an open mind and embrace the beauty of the resort.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mcruisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferrai, Guest Relations Manager at Rose Garden Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing you comments with regards to your experience at our resort. We are pleased to hear that your stay was fantastic! Let me assure you that we are continuously working hard, so that our guests have an unmatched experience. Thank you for choosing Terre Resort & Spa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

I booked this hotel as a surprise trip for my husband's 30th birthday in April 2011 and as a nice bit of relaxation before our wedding in the summer and I was very much looking forward to a well-earned break. I did write a letter to head office and emailed the hotel following our stay to make a formal complaint but as I never received a response, I now feel compelled to post a review on here to warn others.

The first sign that something wasn’t quite right came on the very first night shortly after arrival when we looked at the dinner menu. All we found were six Moroccan starters and five Moroccan main dishes and no other international options as stated on the website. When we enquired about this we were told this was all there was. Unfortunately this was by no means 5* food, more the sort of thing we would cook on a week night in a rush at home, not what I expected to pay £20-£30 per dish for. It also had the unfortunate effect of making us both unwell throughout our first night but we put this down to a change in bacteria, water etc. and tried to forget about it.

The second night we hoped there would be more choice but sadly, this was not so. It was at lunchtime on our second day when we realised things were really not going to go as planned. We attempted to order several items from the lunch menu to be told that only pizzas were available at lunch and that there were no diet cokes. In the evening we attempted to order two beers from the bar only to be told that there were no beers. We assumed the hotel must be waiting for a delivery and weren’t too bothered about all this, until we saw another couple happily ordering and drinking beers. We decided to order room service as we didn’t want to eat from the same limited Moroccan menu two nights in a row. We called the number on the room service menu several times with no answer. We then called the front desk and were eventually told there was no room service that night. We were offered no explanation as to why. The receptionist said he would phone us back to explain but we never received a call. We decided to go and investigate and found a crowd of disgruntled guests at reception. The restaurant was closed, the chefs huddled around the door looking angry, and members of staff tight-lipped as to what was going on. We found out from other guests that the restaurant staff were on strike. There were several hungry people waiting, some with children, as well as two girls who had booked in on full board and were therefore expecting a meal every night. We were told we must take a taxi the seven miles into Marrakech to get food and that there would be no international menu all week. We were also told that staff did not know when they would be opening the restaurant again, maybe not all week. Eventually the restaurant was opened with a choice of three Moroccan main courses, none of which I liked but it was that or go hungry all night but again it had the unfortunate effect of keeping us up unwell all of that night too. We were again charged the usual price for this even more limited and poor cuisine.

After this we made sure to eat in Marrakech for the remaining nights of our stay and purchased our own bottled water (priced at 60p as opposed to £2.50 from the hotel), snacks and other food from a local supermarket. This is a shame as we were happy to put our money back into the hotel had there been a range of acceptable food to purchase.

On our last night, hoping to redeem things, we again tried to order room service and were told that from the whole menu only club sandwiches were available and that, despite being on the menu, pizzas were only available for lunch, and not after 4pm. Again, no explanation as to why. I explained that I was very disappointed in the service we had received throughout our whole stay and would be making a complaint and writing a review on Trip Advisor to warn other travellers. It was at this point that I was then offered two beef burgers with french-fries which until then had been completely unavailable. Strange. They arrived and were delicious, and the sort of thing I had expected when I booked the hotel, and the sort of thing I certainly didn’t mind paying over the odds for.

We spoke to other guests who had had similar experiences: a couple who had had to move rooms three times, people that had not been picked up from the airport despite having transfers booked, people who were told there would be no restaurant or bar all week, others who had also been unwell after eating the food and a couple who had ordered from room service and received completely different food to that which they ordered.

Upon checkout we mentioned the problems we had had, and were ushered into a private room out of earshot of other guests whilst we explained. We were then offered a free massage but as we were checking out we clearly did not have time for this and it wasn’t in line with the sort of compensation we expected. Upon pushing further we were offered a 20% discount off our room bill which, with the two unsatisfactory evening meals, a couple of lunches, a few beers and a decent room service meal had come to over £300. We took this discount and left. When we returned to London, we looked up recent reviews on Trip Advisor, only to see that a couple we had met whilst there had received 100% off their bill and had still complained on Trip Advisor!

It's a shame to have to write this review as we'd really been hoping for an amazing stay, if not 5* as advertised then at least 4*. Sadly it was nowhere near that and the only thing to be said for the whole experience was the beautiful surroundings, the free return shuttle service into Marrakech and the kindness and attentiveness of the restaurant and bar staff. Hopefully the staff have made vast improvements since April.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Suse R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferrai, Guest Relations Manager at Rose Garden Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments about your experiences during your stay at our resort. Please be assured that there have been radical changes that have taken place from the last time that you and your husband visited us in April. We are continously finding ways to improve the quality of our service so that we can enhance our guests' experience. We hope that we can once again gain your trust and that you will allow us to serve you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

From the moment you arrive at Terre, you cannot help but be impressed, the pool, gardens and architecture of the buildings, are truly stunning and the atmosphere is perhaps more importantly, very relaxed!

Rest and relaxation are very much part of Terra's charm, why? Because, Marrakesh is intense, noisy, busy and oh so crazy!

So, here are a few pointers when it comes to what to expect when arriving at the Spa....

The Spa Itself:

Pleasant, clean, well finished in a traditional style with a contemporary twist. Stunning poolside dining and very well appointed in terms of the lay out of the resort as a whole.

Rooms:

OK, not 5 Star more 3 Star. Non functional shower, broken tiles and generally shabby (chic?...I suppose that depends on your perspective..)

Dining:

Breakfast is continental, croissant, yoghert, fruit, OJ etc.

A la carte and dinner is pretty average, but, this is just one mans opinion, the pasta brick I ordered was still struggling to digest 48 hrs later...plus the menu is pretty limited.

Location:

I personally like the location, it is about 20 mins by taxi out of the city and in the middle of the desert outskirts. Getting into the city via the hotel taxi is 150 dirams or £12, there is a complimentary infrequent bus service that the hotel lays on, but, a local taxi back is only 100 dirams or £7.50 (just haggle!).

Marrakesh:

Monkey's, snake charmers, tarot readers and a hundred other people biding for your custom...at first it can be pretty overwhelming, it's a life experience you need to have for yourself....

Would advise however, do not let any so called guides follow you EVER, they will tell you anything under the sun, "you nice person, I want to help you, no money, no money!" = I'm going to follow you like a bad smell and cop a backhander for every overpriced trinket you haggle for....having a guide massively limits you power of negotiation...

In terms of negotiation, when haggling, offer 60% under the asking price and let the fun start from there! (I downloaded an iPhone app called eCurrency, that allowed for me to update the currency rate daily using the free hotel wifi and haggle amounts quickly offline in the city).

Use the bus tour, the ticket is about £12 and valid for 24 hrs, hop on hop off, the best value I found and it takes in most of the major sites.

Sites themselves have cheap entry (£1-2), buy a decent guide book to organize yourself in conjunction with the bus routes.

Food:

The horror, the horror!!

Forget most of the stories, stick to the more prominent restaurants surrounding the markets and for a great dining experience, eat at one of the evening market stalls (just be sure they are wearing white jackets as these guys are more 'official' and are regularly quality checked for hygiene.

In Conclusion:

Have a great stay, I'm sure you will!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrightonNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferrai, Guest Relations Manager at Rose Garden Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share you comments with regards to your stay at our resort. Please be assured that your comments help us determine the areas where we need to improve to continue to bring you a higher level of service. As far as the statement you made about the rooom, I have to disagree with you. We ensure that our rooms are cleaned thoroughly and tested for equipment malfunctions before a guest checks in. This team also alerts maintainance when there is a malfuntion in the room. Also for extended stays, our cleaning team visits your rooms twice daily, once for cleaning and the other time for turndown service. If your do not disturb sign was on your door then our cleaning team does not enter the room. Now with regards to the menu offerings, our menu is extensive and we can also honor a special request. Once again Thank you for taking the time to sharing you comments with us with regards to your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews