We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent experience!”
Review of Top Desert

Top Desert
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We arrange all kind of Marrakech desert tours, private Morocco tours and adventure packages for individuals and private small groups: 4x4 desert tours, desert tented camp, luxury desert camp, camel trekking, ATV/quad and dune buggy, sandboarding, Berber music, mountains trekking.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An excellent experience!”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We were a group of friends traveling to Marrakech and visiting the desert for three days. Our experience was amazing. We didn't expect such a great trip and specially the professionalism of TopDesert tour. During the reservation process we were always guided by Moha. He was very nice and he always answered all of our questions. Our guide Salah was a great guy. He was very respectful and even being the Ramadan days, he always respected us and let us have our snacks during the trip. Even though it was a long trip to the desert, he made several stops to take pictures, to have a coffe or a drink, to use a bathroom or to visit places of interest. This really helped us to stretch once in a while and made the trip much more confortable. Salah always looked for places with internet connection (Wi-Fi), so we could be in contact with our loved ones or to post pictures of our great adventure on Facebook :) The breakfasts and dinners included were delicious tipycal food. The hotel in Dades was phenomenal, the staff was great and the rooms were amazingly decorated and spotless clean. Sincerely, we didn't expect such a great night in the desert, even thought it was very hot during the night, we slept outside the tents under the sky and it was amazing (it is important to remember that a trip to the desert involves sand, high temperatures, bugs and a lot of adrenaline). The experience in the dunes was really magical. We highly recommended this tour. Salah, our guide, was professional, funny and respectful. Thank you Salah and thank you TopDesert tours.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    32
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“3 Day Erg Chebbi Desert Trip”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We went on this tour last week. We booked the tour through Moha who answered all our emails and sent us detailed itineraries. Considering what seemed quite a high price for this tour (380 EUR per person), there were some problems.

On the day we were picked up at our Riad by our guide (we think his name was Wahid, not sure how to spell it) and then went to meet our driver Rachid. On our way to the hotel for the first night we stopped at a lot of excellent viewpoints which were also good opportunities to stretch our legs as we naively had not realised how much travelling and sitting in the car was involved in the trip.

We also stopped at a couple of kasbahs including Ait Benhaddou. We enjoyed these sights and walking round Ait Benhaddou, although felt that our guide did not give us a lot of information about the history of the places. We also stopped at the movie studios in Ouarzazate. Although we didn't want to do the hour-long tour here our guide told us we didn't have the time. This seemed a bit strange as we were then at our hotel for the night by 4:30!

The hotel (Xaluca Dades) was fabulous, really nice with great facilities, food, and views. On the second day we also did lots of travelling and stopped and walked around a mosque and 2 spectacular gorges.

We were glad to arrive at the desert and were welcomed with some mint tea on our arrival and then straight to our camel ride to watch the sunset. The camel ride in the dunes was amazing, the dunes were very impressive and the local berber guide for the camel ride was very knowledgeable and told us all about the animals he sees in the desert. This was the highlight of our tour.

We slept in the tent and had an opportunity to sleep outside. We were told to be at breakfast at eight, at breakfast we were then informed by our guide that it was time to leave. We were confused at this as our itinerary had clearly said sandboarding in the morning which was one of the reasons we had booked this tour. Our guide said that if we had wanted to do the activity we should
have gotten up at five when the sand was cooler but this had not been explained to us. After discussion, our guide said that we could go off into the dunes alone to try sandboarding and found us one pair of skis between us to go and try out. This wasn't really what we had in mind as we had no idea what we were doing and were left to our own devices with one pair of skis (and no boots to fit them) between us.

This was one of those 'amusingly bad' experiences. Although it was entertaining to see each other fall over on the dunes we were dissappointed to not have any guide, tutoring, or in fact boards for our sandboarding. We had emailed Moha before the trip to confirm with us that we would get the opportunity to try this activity as it may be a once in a lifetime opportunity for us.

On the way back we stopped at more places to look at. Overall, we enjoyed the trip and found our guide and driver to be polite but did experience a communication barrier on a couple of occasions as we don't think our guide had understood what we had asked, and perhaps his English was slightly too limited to pass on local and historical knowledge.

The dunes and the camel ride were amazing, as were the gorges en route, however we do feel that the itinerary should have been gone through with us by our guide so that everyone was clear on the activities etc. Missing out on a proper sandboarding experience was very disappointing.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
12 Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well planned trip for 2 young ladies”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We both enjoyed the trip and we especially liked that top desert was able to plan a trip that showed us the most Morocco has to offer. Top desert created a trip in which we were able to see
both the desert and the high atlas mountians. Including do some city guided tours. We also liked that the itinerary was flexible and that we could easily change what we did during a day.

Visited June 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
4 Thank linnet v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Trip WorthWhile!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

To be totally honest, I was quite skeptical when my wife booked this tour in Marrakesh. I was in for a pleasant surprise. The tour begins in Marrakesh and takes us thru the Atlas Mountains, Ourzazate,Atlas Studios and the Sahara Desert. The two guides that we were fortunate to have, Sala and Rashid not only were extremely knowledgeable about the ground we were to cover, but made the trip worthwhile. They were pleasing in everyway imaginable, stoping for pictures whenever there was a good oportunity. Without hesitation I would recomend this tour, you will be impressed as we did.
Guys keep the good work! and Shokram!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Leicaman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved every minute of it”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We (2 older couples) would do this tour again in a heartbeat. Booking was easy. Moha is trustworthy. Said, our driver, was respectful, informative, flexible and had a great sense of humor. Spending so much time in the car, we asked him endless questions and learned so much about his country and its people. We can honestly say by the end of our trip Said was our "friend." We landed at Marrakech Airport at 8:00 on a Friday morning, traveled south to the desert, saw unbelievable scenery, camped in the desert, and returned on Sunday to Marrakech. We spent a fabulous day in the city on Monday and headed out Monday night back to Spain on Ryan Air. We loved every minute of it. We highly recommend requesting Said. He made the trip for us. TopDesert is the way to go.

Visited May 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
3 Thank Deb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Top Desert also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Top Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing