We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 00:00 - 23:59
Save
Review Highlights
The Best Experience We Had In Morocco!

We did a 3 day desert tour from Fes-Erg Chebbi- Marrakech and LOVED it. Our guide Said absolutely... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Kendra B
,
Saint George's, Saint George, Grenada
Fabulous!

The Top Desert tour was fabulous, and Said, the driver was excellent.  Starting in Fes, and taking... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Stephanie A
Read all 856 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Marrakech
from £87.04
More Info
from £95.74
More Info
from £13.93
More Info
from £26.11
More Info
Reviews (856)
Filter reviews
856 results
Traveller rating
785
55
10
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
785
55
10
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews erg chigaga day tour camel ride first night luxury tour luxury camp sand boarding atlas mountains once in a lifetime long drive sand dunes toyota land cruiser milky way great trip great driver off road watched the sunset
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 856 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2023

My wife and I (mid 30's) were traveling from Fes to Marrakech and rather than take the train opted to do a 4 day 3 night trek through the desert. After painstaking research we landed on Top Desert Tours for the adventure. There are a lot of options out there for small group and big bus tours but given the sheer amount of travel involved I think having a private tour is the right way to go. Top Desert is not the cheapest tour out there but the value cannot be matched.

To start our guide Said was absolutely wonderful, felt more like having a road trip with a friend rather than a guide. We were picked up on time, communications were done through Whatsapp, he stopped when we asked him too and didn't stop if we didn't want to see something in particular. The drive is broken up with stops into several towns, which is needed because a) the tents would be too hot during the day and b) the total journey was about 11 hours on the first day. There is ALOT of time in the car, so be prepared for that.

The luxury tent is separated from the other campsites on the desert so you truly feel secluded. Having a private bathroom is luxury enough but the added shower was pretty sweet, I've had way worse outdoor showers in different glamping sites. The food was some of the best we had on our trip to Morocco and the activities included were unbelievable. Visiting the Gnawa people, drum circles around a fire pit, a sunset camel ride on the dunes and for a little extra we drove a dune buggy early in the morning.

We were in the campsite during the earthquake and Said didn't feel it was safe enough for us to make one of the stops at Ait Ben Haddou which I appreciated. He could have easily taken us but he said we're his responsibility and it just added to the feeling of being taken care of. We kept each other in the loop with information as it came through and we felt safe enough to continue to Marrakech.

The only two bad marks were - the luxury hotel we stayed at for one night en route to Marrakech. It's built for tourism and while it has picturesque sites and a beautiful pool, the food is setup strictly for foreign tastes. None of the warmth of the Moroccan cuisine and it buffet style as well, no thanks. The bed we had was also not very comfortable and just overall it wasn't a great experience. Considering it was only one night to me it doesn't negate all of the other positives, but just be aware. Some folks might like it! The other was the AC on the first day of the drive. I'm a cool climate person and run very hot, when we were picked up in the morning through about 2-3pm having the windows open was perfectly fine. When it got a little too warm I asked to turn on the air conditioner but it was blowing out hot air. Before we got to the campsite Said stopped and got it fixed which was a blessing for the rest of the trip. Do not be afraid to ask for the AC, Moroccans are used to the heat so unless you ask it won't be turned on.

This was one of the highlights of our trip and I couldn't recommend this company enough. Please go for at least 3 days 2 nights, the drive isn't worth doing for less than that.

Date of experience: September 2023
1  Thank Raymond B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 September 2023

We had a great trip with a wonderful guide, Sad. The clear highlight were the camel rides through the Sahara Desert and the night in the desert camp. We also enjoyed the private tour of a Berber village, it was fascinating to see their farming plots and techniques, talk about organic!

I recommend this trip, but also need to comment there is a lot of time in the car. More than we expected (we probably should have done more homework). Even with that, It was worth it.

For me, the perfect 3 day trip would have had fewer “side tours” (like the movie studio, interesting, but I live in LA..) and more time in the desert. 2 nights in the camp and one more camel ride would have made this a perfect 3 day tour for me!

Date of experience: September 2023
Thank megenm2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 August 2023

We had a fantastic experience on our tour from Fez to Marakesch via Merzouga. I’d highly recommend the tour, as it was well-organized and they take care of everything. Our guide, Said was so great and accommodating. It was very hot as we did the tour in August, so make sure to check the weather, but Said went out of his way to help us and make sure we were comfortable. He clearly cares about creating a great experience!

Date of experience: August 2023
Thank chrismO9018GU
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 August 2023

We took a 4 day tour from Essaouira to Fes with our 2 kids, 9 and 11 - and from the beginning, Top Desert was fantastic. They tailored a trip for us that will be the highlight of our 2 1/2 weeks in Morocco. Said, our guide, was so kind and helpful and made sure we were comfortable and happy at every turn. He is warm and informative and… a great driver - which means a lot, there was a lot of driving! The desert and camel rides is so special, a must! Thank you Top Desert :)

Date of experience: August 2023
Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 August 2023 via mobile

From the 21st to the 25th of july my girlfriend and I went on the trip from Marrakech to Merzouga. We chose the trip of 5 days, because then we would have all the time in the desert and it was recommended by Top Desert. Our driver Jamal picked us up from our Road and we started our tour towards Merzouga. Jamal is the best driver and person we could wish for! He was very nice to us and knew everything about the road on the way to Merzouga. We had a lot of beautiful stops in the way where we could take pictures. All accompanied by good and interesting information of Jamal. On the way we had beautiful places where we could eat very good food. The places where we spend the night were also amazing. Every place we slept was amazing and comfortable. Even in the desert, where we booked the basic tour, the beds were comfortable and there even was a shower and a toilet. In the desert there are a lot of good activities included and we advise you to do the quad tour as well. It may cost a bit extra, but it was amazing. We also sat for lunch with the nomad people, which we highly recommend, because we love their live style and the calmness that is among them.

After 3 days though we got food poisoning. This happened on the square in Marrakech (do not eat there!). The heat of the desert caused trouble for our bodies to recover from that and from that day on we were not able to do anything anymore. That was a shame, because we loved our trip until this point. Top Desert ofcourse couldn’t help that! Jamal did help us very good and together with the company he helped us to a good accommodation where we could rest. He drove us back very carefully and because the airconditioning in the car was very good, it was good to do. We really felt very sick, but Jamal made us feel very safe and comforted us! He checked on us a lot to make sure we didn’t have to go to the hospital. As we said, we couldn’t have asked for someone better!

All things considered we would still do this again every day. The only things that you should take in consideration are the price and the heat. The tour is a bit expensive and you can make the trip yourself and find it less expensive. However, if you do the trip yourself, you won’t learn as much about the culture, the landscape and buildings you see along the way. Because you are driven by someone who lives in Marokko and grew up in the surroundings you drive by, you get to know everything. Also, when it’s planned by top desert, you have the safety of knowing you will sleep at a good place, drive in a good car and that you will not be scammed anywhere. All those things combined for us, is worth every penny! We wouldn’t know what we would have done without Jamal. As for the heat, we would advise you to not book it in the peak of the summer, because for us the temperatures reached 46 degrees and during the night it didn’t go below 28 degrees. Do yourself a favour and don’t book in peak summer!

We highly recommend this tour and we hope your driver will also be Jamal!

Date of experience: July 2023
Thank joriskZ7747KX
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews