We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opera Plaza Hotel.”
Review of Opera Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Opera Plaza Hotel
Ranked #113 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Leopold
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Opera Plaza Hotel.”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I must say my first time in Morocco was not without drama, this included spending time time in an ICU unit in Marrakesh. Had it not been for the wonderful staff at the Opera Plaza Hotel it would have been much worse. The Opera Plaza Hotel is a modern hotel with large rooms, great balcony overlooking the pool area & a varied breakfast menu. The staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome and I'm really sorry I spent half the time in hospital. If you are looking for a great hotel in Marrakesh book a room at the Opera Plaza you won't be disappointed, it is located just across the road from Marrakesh Central Train Station. There is however one thing that should be upgraded that is WIFI it is not the best connection, apart from that it is a wonderful hotel. In the future I intend to return and visit the places I missed and will definitely choose the Opera Plaza. Thank you Mr Mohamed & Staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonita I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    336
    99
    38
    35
See reviews for
153
304
38
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

It was a good impression when we walked into the lobby; a local performer was playing the Moroccan music with string attached to his hat spinning around. The people are friendly and courteous. However, you need to filled out your own registration with lots of info in it.
The dinning room was nice and the buffet displayed variety of Moroccan food. The breakfast was also wonderful with plenty choices. The room was spacious, and clean and we can see the outdoor swimming pool.

Room Tip: All lights along the hallway has timer and you need to turn it on by yourself. The light switches ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LifeAt60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed here with a friend in June, although the hotel itself is really nicely decorated, kept very clean, has a fantastic pool area and is in a great location we found some of the staff unpleasant at times. Dont bother calling housekeeping or room service, if they ever pick up the phone it will probably take them an hour to bring anything up and If you even think about walking into the hotel with a bottle of soda/water it is confiscated by the "bouncer" at the door, at one point we were asked to throw our full water bottles away while sat in the lobby, we decided to go sit by the pool with them and were followed by the doorman who took them off us and threw them out. There's a Mcdonalds over the road but the staff don't like you bringing food upto your room either so was asked not to take it up even though my friend wasn't feeling well, couldn't come down and had to have his medication on a full stomach. For the price we paid though, breakfast was great, the majority of the staff are polite and helpful, location is great, however they lack tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms and the shower setup is terrible, you have to climb into the shower, shut the screen which doesnt fully close which means water goes everywhere, our bath tub had a huge crack it in also which meant we had to shower in an akward position or risk going through the bath. The safe isnt very "safe" either, the one we had in our room the first night was locked open so a new one was brought over in the morning and just left on the shelf without being secured, wouldnt stop someone picking it up and walking off with it. We booked a taxi to the airport on out last day, the guy on reception obviously forgot so after waiting around for a while they booked us a mini van (for 2 of us) for 100dh. Rip off, but at this point I couldn't be bothered arguing. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rish2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The hotel itself was a nice place with a good location and a nice swimming pool etc. However the reason I am giving it a bad review is that on our second night my friends phone got stolen from the hotel room which was locked ! The hotel staff took no responsibility and basically said its our fault for not putting it in the safe. One member of staff did try to help but advised us to call the police which did not make any difference. Later on in the week there were two more incidents of peoples phone going missing , the hotel need to have cctv in corridors and find this thief who is ruining peoples experience.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
8 Thank Awais B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is probably one of the best I've ever stayed in. It's definitely a 4* if not a 5*! My friend & I stayed for 11 nights & we were so delighted with our choice of hotel. The staff were fantastic, especially everyone at reception & really took care of us which was really appreciated as we were two females travelling alone. Everyone was so polite, helpful, friendly, kind & attentive. The staff always made sure we got the best deals, gave great reccomendations & even haggled taxi prices for us. Our room was on the third floor & was poolside which was good since the front of the hotel was roadside & I would imagine might be noisy. The hotel has a cafe, a nightclub, bowling alley & a number of great restaurants including Moroccan, Thai & Italian. It has a pool snack bar which serves lovely hot & cold food at the pool side restaurant until 11pm & they even served us the delicious pizzas inside the hotel bar when we were watching the world cup! Everything was luxurious about this hotel from the fabulous beds to the wonderful spa, the fantastically cool pool to bamboo woven sunloungers & from the delicious & varied food to the fantastic staff. I have nothing but compliments for this hotel. My only suggestion would be to maybe have a kettle with tea & coffee in the rooms. My favourite thing of all about the hotel was definitely the staff. Such lovely people! Thanks you so much for the wonderful experience & amazing holiday from the Irish girls in room 328 & a special hello & thanks to Faiczel & Abdullah in reception :-)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dee222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The hotel is next to the train station ,but you do not hear anything. The pool and the food are super.
I should recommend this hotel. All the people , at the reception, in the restaurant who work there are really friendly.

Room Tip: Even the rooms on the street Side , you do not hear any noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nera2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel itself is a lovely hotel! Very chic, kind of decent location and modern HOWEVER compared to the very hospitable Morrocan culture you encounter in Marrakesh in general, the hotel staff and the front of door men are VERY RUDE AND BAD MANNERED! Totally not what you would expect from a hotel of this standard! The Morrocan hospitality is what makes your holiday amazing and unique and it is a shame to say that they failed miserably in this department! All they care about is money and charge 200DH to use to the pool if you are not staying at the hotel and on top of that the drinks menu is overpriced, the food is horrible and service is extremely slow by the pool. Would not recommend a stay here better off staying in The Guilez area where it's cheaper to get around, more hospitable and deliciously beautiful food restaraunts right on your door step!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Montsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Red Hotel Marrakech
Red Hotel Marrakech
#178 of 500 in Marrakech
504 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marrakech Carre Eden
0.0 mi away
Mogador Opera
Mogador Opera
#315 of 500 in Marrakech
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Kech Boutique Hotel & Spa
Kech Boutique Hotel & Spa
#194 of 500 in Marrakech
453 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Suites Marrakech
Novotel Suites Marrakech
#199 of 500 in Marrakech
1,349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tempoo Hotel
Tempoo Hotel
#217 of 500 in Marrakech
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opera Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Plaza Hotel

Property: Opera Plaza Hotel
Address: Angle Avenue Mohammed VI et Avenue Hassan II, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Opera Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Opera Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing