We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place with the nicest staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad La Rose Du Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We stayed in this riad for 4 nights and Samira (the manager I think) was nothing more than accomodating. Upon arrival we were greeted with mint tea and biscuits and taken to our room which was clean and pleasantly decorated. Breakfast is included and sets you off for the day - which consists of pancakes, bread, coffee, mint tea and fresh orange juice. If you want more options you can pay for this but this seemed to suit me fine. The room is cleaned daily and is a peaceful quiet place (only thing it is near to the mosque so you do hear morning prayers if you are light sleeper). You do have to walk down an alleyway to get to the riad but to be honest having walked around Marrakech you pretty much have to walk down an alleyway to get in the city to anywhere and I never felt unsafe. I couldn't praise this little riad anymore - pleasant staff, clean premises, and a nice hospitable welcome. Great location to get to the key tourist areas and is in a perfect place. Definitely recommend this place and will return to stay here if I return to Marrakech. Thanks for a wonderful stay to all those in the riad.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TT S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2013

The room was clean and the staff hospitable. The location is not as close to the center as that of other hotels but still reasonably close. A bit difficult to find and requires a short walk through a few dark alleys at night. Breakfast was OK. An excellent value for money if one is looking for budget accommodation in Marrakech.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OmniDomni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Myself and my husband stay in this Riad for a short city break Mon-Fri in Feb 2013. It was excellent value for money. The Riad is in easy reach of all the sites and the staff could not be more helpful, explaining how much to pay for things and giving directions and maps. The Riad is clean with the towels changed and rooms cleaned every day. There is constant hot water (just leave it running a while first) and the breakfast was a nice start to the day.

We ate in the Riad and the food was very nice, 20 Euros each for a three course traditional home cooked Moroccan meal and a bottle of water.
I would recommend this Riad it is an excellent little place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IOMtraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

My partner and I were nervous about choosing a riad as we are a gay couple (illegal in morroco), I checked via email and was told we would be welcome at the Riad Rose Du Desert.

Upon arrival at 7pm on Friday 8th February 2013 we were a little concerned about the location of the riad, after an interesting taxi ride from the airport we thought we were being led into a trap....... How wrong I was, how guilty I now feel :-( Ok the taxi driver charged 50Dirham too much (250D in total) and I gave our guide from the taxi drop off point at Bab Doukkala Mosque to the riad 20D as a thank you, he didn't demand the money though.

I would recommend using the riads pre arranged taxi or transfer as it could save you some Dirham. If you don't you will still be perfectly safe :-)

The staff at the riad, Samira (Manager), Youseff who appears to be assistant live in manager (always around) and two other general staff are all very friendly and willing to go out of their way to help you with directions, meals in the riad or directions!

The Riad is amazing, I would only say it gets a bit nippy at night in the rooms but it is February! And that the in Riad Drink prices are a few pence more expensive than the take aways or Cafe's. There not extremely bad points but they really are the only downs.

Please don't be concerned when you arrive about the location or getting lost etc, passage ways are a little intimidating at first but the people really are harmless and you soon find your way around from day 1!

The Riad is perfect for visiting places such at jemaa el fna, the koutoubia mosque, the souks, the walls and gates, the saadian tombs, medersa Ben youssef, badii palace, majorelle gardens and the new city! Arset moulay abdesslem aka the cyber park is perfect for a quick hours relaxing with you iPhone etc.... Wifi is free and good signal and its only a few mins away! The wifi in the riad is ok too, if it doesn't work then just get Youseff to reset the router above office door, only happened twice so far.

Happy exploring, don't forget to learn "no thank you" in French for the souks and have a good time in morroco, we have 2 nights left at the Riad Rose Du Desert.

My partner and I really will miss the Marrakech people, they have all been lovely (apart from the henna ladies on the main Jemaa El Fna square lol oh and don't fall for 400dirham monkey photos lol we paid 20Dirham in total for 9 photos and that's only because I wanted to have them taken!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sherkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We have spent in Riad Rose du Desert 4 nights. The service was very professional (multi-language), the ambient - amazing, the rooms - newly renovated, well-equipped and very clean. The hosts wanted us to feel like home and we really did :) I strongly recommend the setting to those who look for a place to stay which represents very decent balance between price and quality. The Riad is within medina district however not very close to Jemaa el Fna square. You need around 15 minutes walk to get there. Nice attraction for guests is arabic breakfast in the morning sun at the terrace of Riad.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nandogf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

It's a great little riad. The location is perfect, in a quiet little street, but very close to main attractions. Walking distance to Jemma el-Fna square, Jardin Majorelle and all other main sights. No need to use taxis.
The riad itself is perfectly clean and recently renovated (it looks like it has been renovated this year - but we didn't ask). It has a truly beautiful patio and a roof terrace where you are served breakfast. There are also sunbeds on the terrace so you can relax during the day. Breakfasts are continental, with baguette, pancakes, honey, jam, orange juice, coffee and moroccan mint tea. Super tasty!
The staff is very kind and helpful.
Even though the price was really low, our room was cleaned and towels changed everyday.

Extras offered by the staff (like taxis, massage, tea) are paid extra with prices higher than in the street. I guess it is normal. If you really are on budget, it's better to catch a taxi to airport by yourself, rather than ask at the reception. Also, the airport bus 19 has a stop very close to the hotel (at Bab Doukala), so if you don't have heavy luggage, it is a pleasant 5min walk.

Other than that, it's a great value for money! I really recommend it.
It's a perfect combination of great location and high standard.

Room Tip: Standard rooms on the ground floor are small and don't have air-conditioning. Bigger, suite room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank MrrAnonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#53 of 500 in Marrakech
977 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#9 of 500 in Marrakech
249 reviews
0.4 mi away
Equity Point Marrakech Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Villa El Arsa
Riad Villa El Arsa
#5 of 312 in Marrakech
303 reviews
6.3 mi away
Manzil la Tortue
Manzil la Tortue
#2 of 312 in Marrakech
401 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Pachavana
Riad Pachavana
#4 of 312 in Marrakech
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad La Rose Du Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La Rose Du Desert

Address: 181 Arset Aouzal Bab Doukala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 312 Speciality Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range: £28 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad La Rose Du Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad situated right in the heart of the medina, in a district the most secure which is DAR EL pasha, and 10 min stands of the famous place(square) JEMAA EL FNAA, it is Riad which has the best value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad La Rose Du Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing