We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sofitel Marrakech”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
Ranked #109 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Excellent hotel with excellent service. You don't even have to be on the check in desk on your arrival. Person comes to you with all the paper work to get you signed and you are also greeted with cold towels and Morrocon tea. Very lavishley decorated and very comfortable spacious rooms with everything you can think of. Swiming pool area is also excellent, you can spend whole day there. Breakfast with lots of varieties. Can't fault in anyway. It also has good spa facilities.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandeep S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,869)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

708 - 714 of 2,871 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2012

We recently stayed at the Sofitel Marrakech and had an amazing time. We had originally booked into a Riad in the central Medina area, but when we discovered that the air conditioning wasn't working (unfortunately at midnight!) we had to try to find somewhere else that would be able to help us with a room at the last minute. This was our fist time in a Sofitel and I must say that we were not disappointed.

I would recommend this hotel for anyone who wants to be able to quickly access the best points of Marrakech from a tourism perspective while still having a relaxing oasis to return to when they aren't out and about in the city and need a break from the heat.

Best Points:

1) The Pool: The pool is fantastic with large lounges all around the perimeter. Each lounge has multiple umbrellas for when you want some shade and there are plenty of staff to help you with towels, the umbrellas and anything else you need while relaxing. Given that the temperatures are so high in July, the pool was a real life saver as you could spend the morning hours touring the Medina and other historical places and the hot afternoon out by the pool relaxing. I think staying in a Riad at this time of year would be a bit of a struggle as they don't have the amenities of a larger hotel such as this.

2) The Breakfast: We had breakfast included in our room rate and it was fantastic. A very large buffet selection with fresh juices, smoothies, fresh made eggs and omelettes, all types of pastries, crepes etc. A great way to kick off the day before touring around town.

3) The Design/Standard: The hotel is beautifully designed and kept to a high standard. The staff were very friendly and said hello to us every time we passed by.

4) The Room Rate: The room rate (which included breakfast) was a great value and was actually less expensive than staying at many of the high-end Riads in the Medina. I have paid a lot more for hotels in the past that cannot compare to the standard of this hotel.

5) The Location: While technically not in the central Medina of Marrakech, the hotel is very conveniently located just outside the walls of the city. It is a 10-15 minute walk or a 5 minute taxi ride (which are very inexpensive) into town. There is a taxi rank right outside the hotel so you can grab them with ease. Also, because the hotel is well known, it is very easy and safe to get a taxi back there at night.

Some Areas for Improvement:

1) Price of Food/Drinks: While I usually expect food and drinks within a hotel to be a bit on the pricey side, I did find that the price of beers, cocktails and food to be a bit higher than I would have expected. We mostly ate our meals / had drinks outside the hotel, but it would have been nice to feel like we could have a few pre-dinner cocktails without breaking the bank.

2) Food Service by the Pool: The service by the pool was friendly and accommodating, however we did find that it took some extra time for food / drinks to arrive than would be expected. Wasn't too bad, but could be improved.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank byronc83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel in July for 4 nights. The hotel general areas are very nice, reception, breakfast room, gardens are stunning. I have stayed at a lot of hotels but this has to be the best outside area, sunbeds, hammocks, and large sofa beds around the pool are luxurious. Service around the pool was amazing too for drinks, towels, and the man cleaning sunglasses was just an added bonus as was the live singers each afternoon. Location is excellent too not far to Medina, in a nice area with some good restaurants in walking distance. Only slight negative I would state is the hotel air conditioning was not efficient and struggled to keep the room cool. Service around hotel was generally excellent (pool bar was a little slow) but overall an excellent hotel and would def go back and stay if in Marrakech and would def recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

My friend and I recently spent four nights at the Sofitel Marrakech Lounge & Spa, we thoroughly enjoyed our time experiencing Marrakech. The hotel is situated in a perfect location for the medina, it was approx 15min walk (slightly longer in the heat).
The hotel, the surrounding grounds and the breakfast were outstanding. The service however was not so great! We felt it was very poor for a 5* hotel. The doormen were very courteous, the ladies on reception were very rude and the service at breakfast each morning was very poor! We found that they were not very attentive at all, despite lots of staff being in the restaurant. The selection and choice of food was brilliant! I've never experienced anything like it.

We were upgraded to a Luxury Room, I really couldnt see or find anything luxurious about it, it was most definitely in need of a refurb. The bathroom and furnishings were very worn out/tired looking. Again, I didnt expect this for a 5* hotel.
As we had a 'Luxury Room' this meant we overlooked the pool. Every other night we experienced very loud music quite late in the evening which kept us awake.

Beware that the hotel staff are quite slow to respond, I wouldnt say they were very proactive at all.
We had to chase three times for bottles of water to be sent up to the room, over a space of four hours! To me this was unacceptable when you are in 43 degree heat!

Beware that to eat and drink at this hotel is quite pricey. We found a lovely cafe/restaurant just a short walk from the hotel called 'Cafe Extrablatt'. We actually saw quite a few guests from the hotel here. It's quite a busy/lively place to eat. Note that the drinks are cheaper on the ground and first floor, if you drink on the rootop you will find drinks are more expensive as that is the only place you are allowed to consume alcohol in the restaurant, it is more of a bar/lounge.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ELWilko1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

On our last day in Marrakech, my partner and I wanted a relaxing day by the pool. We were able to lounge by the pool at Sofitel for a small fee. It was quiet and relaxing on a super hot day. The pool attendants were attentive and friendly and made sure we were treated to great service. The hammocks on the lawns were also a nice place to relax. After the pool we stopped in the outdoor lounge for a cocktail and a bite. It was a nice afternoon.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Where can I start? The whole experience has been wonderful. You are welcomed by friendly smiling staff. Hakim, the tea maker welcomes you with the most friendly smile and he makes the best morrocan tea. And I mean the best!!! The food is amazing too though we ate out alot as wanted to try authentic morrocan cuisine. The facilities are of high standards and if there is anything you cannot find they will try their best to get it for you. Definately stay here again. Oh and finally the smell of the morrocan roses in the lobby is infectious.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheilashah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Had a wonderful 4 night stay in a beautiful room at this hotel. There was an issue with the rooms when we arrived which was no fault of the hotel (the company we had booked with fault) yet they worked hard to rectify the situation anyway!

We were on a B&B basis and the breakfast was AMAZING!!! Better than any breakfast i've ever had in another hotel!

Overall it was a great hotel in an excellent location....My main fault was the cost of the drinks and the spa.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
4.9 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
3.6 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#79 of 502 in Marrakech
380 reviews
0.7 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#61 of 502 in Marrakech
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa

Address: Rue Harroun Errachid | Quartier de l'hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#63 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#81 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#151 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#170 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £126 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by a splendid garden and fountains, Sofitel Marrakech is a premier Marrakech Morocco hotel. Its 346 Marrakech hotel rooms offer terraces or balconies with views of the mountains, swimming pool, or gardens. Guests at this luxury hotel in Marrakech, Morocco, will enjoy restaurants serving local and international cuisine, 3 bars, a nearby nightclub, a poolside snack bar, 3 bars, an indoor swimming pool, a fitness centre with a Jacuzzi, and a Turkish steam bath and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Booking.com, Prestigia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge Hotel Marrakech
Marrakech Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing