We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So disappointing stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
Ranked #121 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So disappointing stay!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

First impression was the building and the interior design of the building which was we were expecting for as a palace. On the way walking in, we just hoped that our a-week holiday would have been unforgettable, YES it was horribly unforgettable one.

At the reception, the welcoming was SO COLD, 20 mins to get the check in process completed and get a room key. A guy who was checking us in, just left in the middle of the process (Dinner break?) and a young lady just took care of the rest without excusing or explaining anything to us, and we started again. (She said you filled in the form and I will be back) SO unprofessional. No information about the hotel facilities given neither any anticipation of our expectation. We discovered by ourselves each day.

On the following day, we asked where we could find the breakfast room, a girl just point to the right and say it's just over there.

Poor service of the Pool bar restaurant even though the pricy item on the menu which we were ready to pay. A lot of staffs walking around doing nothing instead of giving attention towards the guests.

Many technical issues encountered during the stay, the room was not at all what we expected. Bed was not comfortable at all, A/C didn't work and etc.

Having walked and seen so many staffs on the corridor each day, they just ignored us, didn't even say "Hi". In general, the service was horribly far away from what we call Luxury.

Very disappointing and highly not recommended.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marek_bxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,533
    706
    246
    124
    104
See reviews for
462
1,020
89
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

This Hotel has a good location and its Moroccan spirit with a touch of France has his charm. The choice of the room is important! Some rooms are very dark and noisy others charming with a great view of the palms and the Atlas Mountains. The service is ok, sometimes slow and sometimes not that friendly like you think it will be in a luxury hotel. The charm of the lobby and the bar/ lounge is very Marrakech and relaxed. The pool and backyard is one of nicest in Marrakech. The Spa is excellent ! The sleep quality of the bed is excellent.

Room Tip: Go high up and avoid rooms around 250 to 270. The rooms on the pool side on the 3,4 and 5th floor ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hahee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

My husband and I (plus my sister and her best friend) stayed at the Sofitel Marrakech Lounge & Spa for 5 nights:
1.Breathtaking reception with cold and refreshing wipes and an easy check-in
2.Hotel was stunning, beautifully decorated and clean with lovely aromas
3.The room was in need of refurbishment but generally comfortable, although the view was less than to be desired and the noise of building works was annoying
4.The pool area was relaxing but got quite busy and the staff were sluggish to say the least
5.Breakfast was okay but had a variety of options

I won't be staying here again, as I am used to a different sort of service but overall it was okay, close to the souks and shops!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsSAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

The Sofitel Marrakech is a beautiful hotel located in the Hivernage, the trendy new part of Marrakech. The lobby and restaurants are luxuriously furnished, and you expect five-star treatment from its appearence. Don't be disappointed if you won't!

In our room, the carpet was stained, two out of four lamps were not working, the toilet leaked and the TV was out of order. You would think it takes one call to housekeeping in order to fix all this. No, it doesn't. At times, we had three officials in our room, one as helpless (and as uneager to help) as the other. Except for the toilet, nothing was fixed, but a lot of promises were made, some of which were repeated daily.

We made the same kind of experiences at breakfast: We were early guests, and we had the impression that the service staff arrived at seven o'clock, as we did: Tables were not set, no napkins, it took up to 15 Minutes to get a simple coffee... Many times a waiter just forgot what we asked for. There's plenty of staff everywhere, yet it's unefficient and slow.

All in all it was a mixed experience: The hotel's location is great, it is nice and quiet - and yet, we did not feel welcome as guests.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bettina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reading
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

beautiful terracotta buildings on three sides of two outside swimming pools and garden area with bougainvillea flowing down the sides from the fifth floor and cheerful flocks of sparrows all around. Very helpful staff across the entire hotel and a yummy breakfast. convenient to walk into the old town (about 20 mins to main square). prices for food and drink in the hotel is high, but there is a supermarket 10 minutes away to use instead. amazingly comfortable beds.

Room Tip: ask for a pool view, and the newer end of the hotel has slightly larger rooms and is less distance t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tricia32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

We had a great experience in the breakfast restaurant. We were superbly serviced by smiling faces of Said, Fatima Zohra, Brahim, Youssef, Ilham, Omar and Zaidan. We were overwhelmed by their dedication to serve me and my family while spending holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

We have just returned after a five night break at the Sofitel. We arrived approx 7-15pm and were met by four doormen who just whisked us off to reception, on getting our room number all luggage etc was gone and we next found it in the room which overlooked the pool and Atlas Mountains. All staff were very friendly and efficient. At breakfast(which was excellent)Fatima,Falim, Brahim, Zindine, Ilham were really lovely and looked after us very well. In the Restaurant L'orangerie the food was very good and Siham and Saking who were our waitresses were a great team.
The whole experience was wonderful, we shall have no hesitation to recommend this hotel.
D&J Ipswich

Room Tip: Rooms facing swimming pool/Atlas Mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank d_scofield841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marrakech
0.0 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
4.9 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
0.1 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Hotel
4.7 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#1 of 1 in Lagouassem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa

Property: Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
Address: Rue Harroun Errachid | Quartier de l'hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#68 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#84 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#152 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#171 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by a splendid garden and fountains, Sofitel Marrakech is a premier Marrakech Morocco hotel. Its 346 Marrakech hotel rooms offer terraces or balconies with views of the mountains, swimming pool, or gardens. Guests at this luxury hotel in Marrakech, Morocco, will enjoy restaurants serving local and international cuisine, 3 bars, a nearby nightclub, a poolside snack bar, 3 bars, an indoor swimming pool, a fitness centre with a Jacuzzi, and a Turkish steam bath and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge Hotel Marrakech
Marrakech Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing