We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A reliable Chain Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
Ranked #116 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A reliable Chain Hotel”
Reviewed 20 March 2008

I was taking my elderly mother on a trip to Marrakech and needed somewhere "reliable" to put us up for 4 days. Having read several reviews about the "gestapo" attitude to taking bottled water into the hotel rooms, I can admit that I was a little apprehensive!
However, all went swimmingly! The hotel staff was welcoming and very pleasant. Speaking french was a help, and I imagine communication is more tricky in english.
Breakfast was copious and good, freshly cooked with plenty of choice. The pool area made for a "haven of tranquility" after a hectic morning in the souks! The water was pleasantly cool and most refreshing. Pool staff friendly and efficient. Plenty of comfy loungers.
Fresh flowers, imaginatively displayed every day in the lobbies was enthralling for my mother who is always impressed by such touches.
We took advantage of an offer on the net, a "hot deal" ,and enjoyed rooms overlooking the mountains and pool/garden area at a considerable discount. It was however an expensive 4 days!As for restaurants I would recommend "La Villa", opposite Kenzi Farah, also a good japanese "Tanabaschi" near the Palais Royale and for a real treat, the "Villa des Orangers" is perfection!! All the travel negotiated in the "petits taxis" for a few pence. A perfect trip...

  • Liked — Attention to detail
  • Disliked — Bedside lighting too dim
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank OldishBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,573
    716
    254
    135
    106
See reviews for
477
1,043
96
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
stoney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2008

We recently returned from a long weekend at Sofitel Marrakech and were pleasantly surprised at the beautiful interior, gardens and friendly staff. Pool was nice but be prepared for the chilly water!

After reading some earlier reviews we were witholding judgement, but the staff were welcoming, especially to our 2 1/2 year old son. The locals love young children. Although I wouldnt exactly say the hotel caters for children as such, they are not frowned upon when in restaurants or by pool as with some other holiday locations of a high standard.

The check in was fuss free and we we allowed to keep our room on the day of departure until we left. (check out time was supposed to be 12.00)

Food was of a very good standard, and breakfast was a wide choice, although steer clear of lunch in the orangerie restaurant. It cost us £180 for 6 people (and no alcohol was consumed), so very pricey!

Try the local restaurants outside the hotel which are less expensive, or the restaurants surrounding Jemmaa el Fna square are much cheaper.

Would definately stay again.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
5 Thank stoneyStoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2008

Despite some less than flattering reviews we had nothing but praise for the Sofitel - perfectly located just outside the mayhem of the old town, it was a tranquil and sophisticated place to enjoy a winter break. The entrance is grand and imposing in a french colonial style and the service we received was faultless from start to finish. We were upgraded to a suite on arrival and enjoyed the space this afforded. The balcony had an excellent view over the exceptionally well-tended grounds to the Atlas mountains (althought they were shrouded in mist for most of the time we were there!) The pool was cold (it was February!) but clean and pleasant and made a great place to take a break from the chaos of the souks! The breakfasts were to the usual high standard of a Sofitel and the bar and restaurants were of a good standard. The staff were friendly, the hotel immaculate and our stay a delight. The area around the hotel has some good bars and cafes - cheaper than the hotel but less classy and there is a city tour bus which stops almost outside and visits all the main sites. In short an ideal base for a short break in a fascinating city!

  • Liked — Location & tranquility
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JVJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2008

Perfectly located, nice hall, charming bar, nice restaurant (but food not too good), comfortable rooms with great views on the Atlas, good "cold" pool...It is a nice option for Marrakech considering you are close to everything including to a number of very nice restaurants. The rooms are well appointed. The staff is nice (but very unpredictable service, can be the best and the most ineffective), also interesting crowd at the hotel, mix of tourists, businessmen- local and international, local visitors, it gives a not too touristy atmosphere which we really enjoyed.
The internet was not working in the rooms (and it took the staff two days to say it!), the breakfast buffet is huge and good (but no service), the pool bar has nice food but poor service. Nice and efficient concierge. So we were pleased with our stay, it is a perfect option if you want to visit the city. If you want to stay at the pool and relax, the Amanjena is certainly a better option.

  • Liked — The view and atmosphere at the hotel
  • Disliked — The service can be uneffiicient
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank OlivierReykjavik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
49 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2007

we arrived at the airport and were unable to find the booked hotel minibus, perhaps due to airport rebuilding, so we had to get a taxi (fleeced, and no seat belts). While we were checking in at the hotel the minibus driver phoned to say that he couldn't find us.
Perhaps due to this we were upgraded from a superior room to an Ambassador suite for our three night stay . It was very grand with fresh flowers everywhere, even in the dressing gown pockets! We also had fresh fruit and a voucher for two free cocktails .
The food was excellent but very expensive . We did think that more prepared fresh fruit at breakfast would have been nice.

After a week in Essouira we returned for one night and were upgraded to a (the?) Presidential suite which had two bedrooms, a shower room and a bathroom with jacuzzi. We had cocktail vouchers again.

The staff were always friendly and helpful and we can't understand why some contributors to Trip Advisor didn't like this hotel.

  • Liked — the rooms and the garden views
  • Disliked — prices of food and drink .Somewhat limited menu for dinner
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank elizalily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2007

We stayed in the Sofitel, Marrakech in September 07. The hotel itself is lovely - nicely decorated, stylish, clean pool and other communal areas all meant our overall impression was to be impressed. The hotel is also in a good location - 10-15 minutes walk both to the Medina and to Avenue Mohammed V, where you can find modern stylish restaurants and bars.

There are however, just a few snagging points with this hotel that can leave a bad taste in your mouth.

1. On the whole we found our hotel room to be very good - all the facilities you would need, a pleasant balcony overlooking the gardens, clean, attentive room service, etc. The only problem for me was that the bed is as hard as a rock - you know the type, completely unforgiving should you turn over in the night, especially if you're a little tender from over-doing it in the sun.

2. As you'd expect for a Sofitel in Morocco, the hotel has a very French feel about it, particularly in the attitude of the staff. Many of the non-front desk staff spoke very little English (or were reluctant to do so). This wasn't a problem for us as both of us speak French. However, the front-desk receptionist was rude enough to say to us - "speak to me in English, I speak 5 languages so there is no need for you to try to speak French!". It seems the Parisian attitude has made it to Marrakech!

3. The hotel has an interesting security policy. We returned one evening with 4 bottles of still water that we bought in a nearby shop (the heat in Marrakech means it's essential to drink a lot of water). On arriving back at the hotel, security stopped us and told us it is forbidden to bring bottles into the hotel as it is a security issue. I could understand dark or unrecognisable bottles, but sealed water, the same brand as the hotel sells??!! After arguing our case, we were escorted to reception, where it was let slip that it had more to do with hotel policy of buying water from room service. Put it this way - 6 dirham (£0.40) in a local shop, or 90 dirham (£5.00) from room service for an identical bottle (which took 40mins to deliver)....hmmmm. If you're in the same situation, argue your case, this is daylight robbery, as we told them in no uncertain terms.

Anyhow, despite the above, we had a very nice stay in Marrakech, and if the management can iron out a few issues with their staff, we'd be more than happy to return.

One tip - for a fantastic, French-style bar and restaurant with great service, visit Cafe de la Poste on Avenue Mohammed V.

  • Liked — Great communal facilities
  • Disliked — Attitude of staff
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank PW33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivehurst, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2007

My husband and I visited the Sofitel Hotel for three nights in November 06. We were initially quite impressed by the hotel’s exterior and lobby area (which was bright and airy), and with the polite staff who served us mint tea while we waited to be checked into our room.

We stayed in a double room on the second floor, and although our room was nice, it was rather dark, due to the dark colour of the walls, and the lack of sufficient lighting, which seemed to be a problem in all areas of the hotel (apart from the lobby area). The bathroom was adequate, although we did find it quite annoying to have the toilet in one tiny room, and the sink and bath/shower in another room.

We stayed at the Sofitel on a Room Only basis, and soon learned that buying breakfast, or even a snack or drink, was a huge challenge in Marrakech, as there are no local convenience stores in the vicinity of the hotel. I would therefore recommend anyone planning to stay at this hotel to consider booking a room which includes breakfast.

Location-wise, the hotel is perfectly situated for those who don’t mind a short walk into the city centre (it took us roughly twenty minutes). Be warned, however, that some of the pavements (if you can call them that) near the hotel are in drastic need of repair, so bring a sensible pair of shoes.

Overall, we enjoyed our brief stay in Marrakech, and despite having a few issues with regards to the poor lighting inside the hotel, the Sofitel suited our basic needs for a reasonably priced hotel within walking distance of the city centre. I would therefore recommend this hotel to anyone planning a short stay in Marrakech who doesn‘t want to pay over the odds for a hotel near to the hustle and bustle of the city centre.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — Lack of Sufficient Lighting
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SnyderFamily25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
4.9 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
0.1 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel & Ryads Barriere Le Naoura Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa

Property: Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
Address: Rue Harroun Errachid | Quartier de l'hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#65 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#86 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#152 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#171 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by a splendid garden and fountains, Sofitel Marrakech is a premier Marrakech Morocco hotel. Its 346 Marrakech hotel rooms offer terraces or balconies with views of the mountains, swimming pool, or gardens. Guests at this luxury hotel in Marrakech, Morocco, will enjoy restaurants serving local and international cuisine, 3 bars, a nearby nightclub, a poolside snack bar, 3 bars, an indoor swimming pool, a fitness centre with a Jacuzzi, and a Turkish steam bath and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge Hotel Marrakech
Marrakech Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing