We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great 5 Star hotel if you have the right room.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
Ranked #109 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The hotel is very impressive when you arrive and we received a very courtious and friendly welcome, and offered fresh mint tea.
Meeting our Kuoni representative in an hour we did not get a chance to really look at the room but were not happy. Our rep said he would see if he could get them changed but was told there were no other rooms available. Later we found 10 bad faults with our rooms definitely not 5 Star, would not put up with them in a 3 star hotel. We went down to reception, asked to speak to the Manager, told him the faults and that if they could not give us the standard of room we expected we would go to another hotel. He then upgraded us and gave us 2 lovely rooms with which we were very happy. I must say the beds were so very comfortable.
All the staff were very friendly and efficient and they did everything they could to make our stay in Marakesh a memerable one.
We enjoyed the food at the hotel though had planned to eat out most evenings to enjoy Moroccan cooking to the full. We had no complaints at all with the food or service and enjoyed the entertainment at the night club in the hotel.
There are 2 swimming pools, the one nearest the restaurants is cold but the 2nd pool is very warm. The Jacuzzi is not hot. The staff around the pool are excellent finding you a suitable sunbed and towels. The sunbeds are pretty fantastic.
Except for at first being given poor rooms everything else about the hotel, its position, style, service, staff and food made our visit to Marakesh a great experience and the Sofitel was a great choice of Hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room in the old block at the end of the swiming pool 380 which was really nice. We were fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mike_StAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,869)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

656 - 662 of 2,869 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2012

The Sofitel Lounge & Spa is a beautiful hotel located in Hivernage . The staff is very professional and friendly. We booked a Suite Prestige for 2 nights and got a good deal. The Suite was pretty big, the bed very comfy but we did not find welcome fruits plat when we arrived,like other 5 stars hotels and especially when you are booking the best Suite!
I will return to this hotel and highly recommend the Sofitel

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Najib_EM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

I stayed here for a conference about a month ago. I found the hotel to be perfectly nice - restaurants and facilites were fine - however it was a real ordeal getting any sleep. I stayed in a room facing the road, and between 2-4am every day there was loud shouting/talking, dogs barking, car horns and police whistles.On asking the hotel staff, they said there was nothing they could do, and that no other rooms were free. I was very unhappy with this, and as there was no other option I toughed it out for the next few days. I was very glad to be leaving after this continual lack of sleep. I certainly will not be going back.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not given a room facing the road - demand a room facing the pool and gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew_Nolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

I stayed at this hotel this summer for a week with my girlfriend. We were undecided which hotel to stay at in Marrakech but after having the Sofitel recommended by some Moroccan friends and after looking at pictures and reviews, we decided to book here.

The rate I got through my credit card company was surprisingly cheap (I can't remember exactly the price but it was around 160EUR per night, breakfast included and special rates at the spa).

The first impression of the hotel was good as we were greeted warmly and the place looked very nice and well kept. Although we had to wait quite a long time to check in, we were offered tea and local sweets during our wait.

The room was large, although not very modern and not very clean: on my arrival I noticed that the rubbish bin was still partly full and there was an empty bottle of coke on the balcony. This really upset me as the main thing I care about when staying at a hotel is cleanness and hygiene.

The pool area was nice and relaxing an the service was prompt and attentive. Also the spa was good and there was a wide choice of massages.

The food at the hotel was overall good but not exceptional. I enjoyed the breakfast because of the very wide choice of sweets, pastries, fruits and hot food.

The concierge was at times arrogant and it felt like that he had some interest in the restaurants that he was recommending to us as some of them felt like tourist traps..

The So club was actually very fun, probably the best night club in Marrakech.

Overall the hotel was good.. not exceptional but good.. I'd recommend the Sofitel to young people or couples who don't want to stay at a very posh hotel (La Mamounia) which would be more appropriate for older people but who still want to have the comfort of a 5stars hotel.
Would I stay here again? Probably I would try out other ones..

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maurizio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

I have just returned from a 5 night stay here and felt I had to share my views on this hotel.
I have travelled widely, stayed in many wonderful 5* hotels but have to say this is probably one of the best. From the moment we arrived the staff proved to be courteous, helpful and made one feel nothing was too much trouble.
On arrival at the hotel the local rep who met us at the airport tried to convince us that we had been upgraded to a superior room with pool view. On pointing out that this was in fact what had been booked anyway, he became somewhat flustered and back peddled - I have read elsewhere that this has been the experience of other guests. In fact this tactic was quite unnecessary as the whole hotel is a delight and facilities are of an extremely high standard anyway.
Breakfast is an absolute joy and one could take all morning over it. The staff moved in and out of each other seamlessly, noticing each and every used plate or glass. They remain friendly yet very professional and discreet - the best waiting-on at table I have ever encountered. Great choice of food and as much as one can possibly eat, so keeps one going until the afternoon.
We didn't eat in any of the restaurants, mainly due to preference to sample local restaurants but menus looked wonderful, if rather pricey!
The room we had was on the 2nd floor and views were rather obscured by olive trees growing outside, so a higher floor might be better. The bedroom and bathrooms are very relaxing and comfortable and most wonderful of all, the room has a loo separate from the bathroom - great when sharing facilities.
Vast reception areas, well kept gardens and fantastic garden lighting made this a fabulous refuge and escape from the chaos that is Marrakech.

Room Tip: Higher the better in order to get good views across grounds. Pool side is best option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank feta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

A beautiful hotel. The public rooms are so welcoming and intriguing that it is almost an effort to go outside into the sunshine. Guest rooms are spacious and well equipped and comfortable. A bed to get lost in. Room service provides a varied selection of pillows.
Gardens and pools are delightful and inviting. A serenity almost to match The Chedi in Muscat.
Food. Excellent choices. The Oasis by the pool provides daytime delights and is quite reasonable. L'Orangerie in the evening has an excellent choice of food and wines. Service is what I have come to expect from Sofitel. Caution. On darker evenings a 'romantic' table on the Terrace of L'Orangerie throws up a problem. The candles are quite inadequate to read the menu! Amusing to watch other guests confront the situation you have been in. Perhaps a Caver's Lamp might help.
This lighthearted carp aside I would recommend a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a Garden View (over Pool)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gwel19tek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

we had a package via Broadway Travel that included accommodation in superior pool view rooms at the Sofitel Lounge and Spa. The bedrooms were large and nicely furnished - the beds were SO comfortable! We were a group of eight and all of us commented on how fabulous the beds were! The bathrooms were large with lovely toiletries, robes and slippers. Breakfast offered plenty of choice - fresh fruit, smoothie bar, omlette station, crepe station, cereals, the usual hot selection on a buffet, cheeses and meats, and a wide range of bread, croissants and pastries. A selection of teas was available and coffee served in cafetieres and left on the table! There are two outdoor swimming pools - a cold one at the Lounge and Spa and a (very) warm one at the adjoining Imperial Palais hotel. Sunbeds were mainly lovely double divan's with plenty of cushions, and there were even some four poster style ones for those who wanted more shade than was afforded by sun umbrellas! there is plenty of staff poolside to serve drinks or food and even a man who came round cleaning our sunglasses! we had lunch a couple of days at the poolside restaurant, a little bit expensive for what it was but that was compensated by the great service and quality and the ever smiling staff. we ventured into the Lawrence Bar late evening for a drink and there was a truly terrible singing combo on - one of the singers appeared not to know the words and couldn't be heard properly at the end of the room we were in, although that was maybe a blessing!! Some of our group ventured to the spa and came back raving about how fabulous it was and how great their treatments were. We used the So Bar as our meeting place pre dinner, a lovely place to sit and catch up on the day and enjoy a drink, and later in the evening to watch the beautiful people go into the So Lounge (club!). Plenty of staff to help us get taxis and advise us on the price we should be negotiating with the drivers. We all agreed that it was a great hotel and we wouldn't hesitate in staying there again if in Marrakech...

Room Tip: Pool view rooms on 4th floor have a great view of the pool and you can see the camel farm over the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJ62_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
4.9 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
3.6 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#78 of 501 in Marrakech
379 reviews
0.7 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#60 of 501 in Marrakech
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa

Address: Rue Harroun Errachid | Quartier de l'hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#62 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#81 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#151 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#170 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £126 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by a splendid garden and fountains, Sofitel Marrakech is a premier Marrakech Morocco hotel. Its 346 Marrakech hotel rooms offer terraces or balconies with views of the mountains, swimming pool, or gardens. Guests at this luxury hotel in Marrakech, Morocco, will enjoy restaurants serving local and international cuisine, 3 bars, a nearby nightclub, a poolside snack bar, 3 bars, an indoor swimming pool, a fitness centre with a Jacuzzi, and a Turkish steam bath and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge Hotel Marrakech
Marrakech Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing