We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel and Friendly Staffs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
Ranked #113 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Rabat, Morocco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Hotel and Friendly Staffs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

I had a very good experience in this lovely hotel during my last stay for a conference in the beautiful city Marrakech. Hotel alaso have a very friendly staff like #My Yousef who always my breakfast time at the restaurant more enjoyable...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amalmasoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,533
    707
    246
    124
    104
See reviews for
462
1,021
89
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa for the 2nd time in February 2014, having previously stayed there in June 2013 (see my previous review).

I stayed for a few days in February 2014 with my partner.

Standards are slipping throughout.

The reception staff at Lounge and Spa are mostly young ladies, arrogant and unwelcoming. If you're not proficient in French, they tend to look down on you. That's not the first time I have experienced this from them. I experienced this in my previous visit. Worryingly, they are generally rude and untrained. They insist on a credit card preauthorisation or cash deposit. They do not often raise a smile. They generally do not care. They do not know how to properly treat guests. I specifically remember Wafa and Fatima-Zahra being specfically rude at the Lounge and Spa reception.

No mint tea, drinks, snacks were offered during check-in. That was very disappointing.

Don't get my wrong, on the surface, the hotel is beautiful with superb objet d'art, décor, pools and rooms. It is nicely located within the city as well. It is a short 15min/20min walk from Djema el Fna, located near a Carrefour supermarket as well (ask concierge for directions).

The breakfast selection is vast but service is inconsistent. The jewel of the breakfast team is Fatima, the lady who cooks and serves Moroccan crêpes (mssemen). She is a motherly figure and very kind, caring and a special member of the team at breakfast. The majority of the young men and ladies who serve at breakfast are untrained and overwhelmed. They do not tend to the guest, they must have their attention called for anything to be served, such as coffee, juice, tea or water.

One of the pools is heated during the winter and Hicham is very kind and deserved recognition.

The rooms have superb complimentary toiletries, Les Notes de Lanvin and Hermes. They are modern and comfortable. However, bathtub grouting is peeling away and the lock on our door actually fell off during the stay.

Housekeeping is a deep concern.
The room was not cleaned in the evening and it was cleaned really late during the morning. Rooms need to be cleaned when the guests are at breakfast and when the sign saying 'please clean my room' is up.

Turndown service is done is 5pm when guests are trying to get ready for the evening. This is very inconvenient. It needs to be done after 7pm when guests are going out or going for dinner.

Mr Benkirane, General Manager, please look at:

- Training the young reception staff at the Lounge and Spa side.
- Training your servers at breakfast to provide consistent and dedicated service and not ignoring guests. They should come to guests, not the other way around.
- Looking at the housekeeping situation. Turndown service is an early evening thing, not late afternoon.
- You have an excellent member of staff in Fatima who cooks mssemen at breakfast. She deserves recognition.

I am staying again at the Sofitel Lounge and Spa again in April and I hope all these problems are solved.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rko21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Having sorted out the accommodation on the first day, we had a very good stay at the hotel which is well situated. The staff are very friendly especially Fatima our breakfast waitress who was very helpful and attentive.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueBria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letterkenny, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Sofitel Marrakech is the best hotel in Marrakech. The staff are all very friendly and helpful, always smiling and in good humor. The Palais Darkum is excellent for comfort and servics throughout the day and the staff members Aziza, Hannane and Nezha are particulary good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seamus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

We had a lovely week here. Hotel was friendly, comfortable and atmospheric but what really made our stay was the fantastic service from every single member of staff. They were kind, friendly, helpful, efficient - everything you could want - from early morning til late at night, without fail.
Breakfast gave an amazing range of food, all fresh, with many items cooked as required and we grew used to seeing Fatima's lovely smile and greeting as she prepared the crepes each morning. Rachida Mourad remembered our drinks preferences, the waitress Fatima carefully made sure that we lacked for nothing and her colleagues Hicham, Abderahim and Benayad (the Manager) watched carefully to make sure that plates were cleared away as soon as required, that fresh drinks were supplied and that whatever was needed arrived straight away. This might sound a bit overwhelming but it was all carried out in such a relaxed and friendly way that the whole experience of breakfast was a pleasure.
Although we had only booked for room and breakfast, prefering the freedom to experience different restaurants, we did have several meals (lunch and dinner) in the hotel. All were good and beautifully served.
All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Well I must say, I've been staying here for a week and the service has been great everyone greets you with a smile and immediately your asked what drinks you prefer with your meal.
overall it has been a great experience dinning here. I highly suggest you come and experience this for yourself. You won't regret it.
Thanks to the whole team you guys were always great.
Roch
Jamal
Farah
Aziza
Ibtissam(patisserie)
Hicham

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cassidy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marrakech
0.0 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
4.9 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
0.1 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Hotel
4.7 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#1 of 1 in Lagouassem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa

Property: Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
Address: Rue Harroun Errachid | Quartier de l'hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#65 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#80 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#152 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#171 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by a splendid garden and fountains, Sofitel Marrakech is a premier Marrakech Morocco hotel. Its 346 Marrakech hotel rooms offer terraces or balconies with views of the mountains, swimming pool, or gardens. Guests at this luxury hotel in Marrakech, Morocco, will enjoy restaurants serving local and international cuisine, 3 bars, a nearby nightclub, a poolside snack bar, 3 bars, an indoor swimming pool, a fitness centre with a Jacuzzi, and a Turkish steam bath and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge Hotel Marrakech
Marrakech Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing