We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing stay in what should be a very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
Ranked #115 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

First off, it should be noted that the pool area of the hotel is great. I would actually go back just to enjoy lounging there, all the sun beds are modern and the gardens are very well kept. There is sufficient pool staff to assist you.

However, despite the good facilities of this hotel we still had a disappointing stay. There were numerous issues:
- the bed: was surprisingly uncomfortable. My husband and I both lay down and then sat back up and looked at each other thinking something must be wrong with our bed. We look it over entirely and couldn't understand the sheets and mattresses layout (very odd) and didn't have a comfortable sleep.
- the check-in: the check-in process was quite long
- the housekeeping staff: it took three phone calls to housekeeping to get an ironing board
- the room service: our order came and was incorrect
So these issues and several other small ones led to a disappointing stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraParis_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmed B, Directeur général at Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Mr LAURA,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Sofitel Marrakech Imperial Hotel & Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Ahmed Benkirane
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,943)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

425 - 431 of 2,943 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

I was there for two nights for an important business event. The hotel is very upscale, well kept and has all the "ingredients" of old Morrocan charm in addition to the modern infrastructure for a relaxing stay: pool, gardens, entertainment etc....

It is a 20 minute walk from the old town, souks etc... I felt safe in the area walking late at night.

Speed of service and responsiveness of staff could be improved ... they could be faster and quicker to react, but overall no problems.

I stayed in a ground floor suite , which was very convenient for accessing the gardens and pool area.. so cannot comment on the regular rooms.

Marrakesh is a place to see ... some people fall in love or become addicted, others look at it as one of the places you ought to visit once in your life. I would personally not consider it a vacation destination.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmed B, Directeur général at Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014
Google Translation

Monsieur Sherif,

Nous vous remercions pour vos commentaires suite à votre séjour à Sofitel Marrakech Palais Impérial.

C’est avec grand plaisir que nous recevons vos compliments. Aussi, nous ne manquerons pas de partager vos appréciations avec toute notre équipe. Votre satisfaction est la plus belle récompense pour notre personnel qui travaille jour après jour pour vous offrir un service irréprochable.

Dans l’attente de vous accueillir de nouveau, nous vous prions de croire, Monsieur, en l’expression de nos sentiments les meilleurs.

Continuez à suivre toutes les actualités du Sofitel Marrakech en cliquant sur « j’aime » de nos pages Facebook :

Hôtel Lounge & Spa:
SofitelMarrakechLoungeSPA






Hôtel Lounge & Spa:
SofitelMarrakechLoungeSPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

For our first visit to Morocco, we were recommended to go to the Sofitel in Marrakech. I found out that it was an excellent advice. The front desk staff and the concierge were very helpful and pleasant. We enjoyed the Spa treatments and the hammam very much. At the breakfast restaurant, we especialy enjoyed the great and friendly service by the waitresses and waiters, Fatima, Rachida, Chaffira, Mourad and Hicham. All of them provide outstanding service, allways available, and allways with a great smile.
Thank you , Sofitel Marrakech.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uzi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmed B, Directeur général at Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014
Google Translation

Monsieur UZI,

Nous vous remercions pour vos commentaires suite à votre séjour à Sofitel Marrakech Palais Impérial.

C’est avec grand plaisir que nous recevons vos compliments. Aussi, nous ne manquerons pas de partager vos appréciations avec toute notre équipe. Votre satisfaction est la plus belle récompense pour notre personnel qui travaille jour après jour pour vous offrir un service irréprochable.

Dans l’attente de vous accueillir de nouveau, nous vous prions de croire, Monsieur, en l’expression de nos sentiments les meilleurs.

Continuez à suivre toutes les actualités du Sofitel Marrakech en cliquant sur « j’aime » de nos pages Facebook :
Hôtel Lounge & Spa:
SofitelMarrakechLoungeSPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This was my 5th visit to the Sofitel Marrakech , each trip gets better & better !
The hotel has a high standard of consistent excellence throughout all service areas.
The pool lounging area is superbly well maintained & run .
The pool team are exceptionally helpful to make your stay enjoyable . Zakaria stood out to be very accommodating & extremely helpful at all times making every day at the pool a pleasurable experience .
Would highly recommend this hotel & the all round fantastic team

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle998877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmed B, Directeur général at Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014
Google Translation

Madame Michelle,

Nous vous remercions pour vos commentaires suite à votre séjour à Sofitel Marrakech Palais Impérial.

C’est avec grand plaisir que nous recevons vos compliments. Aussi, nous ne manquerons pas de partager vos appréciations avec toute notre équipe. Votre satisfaction est la plus belle récompense pour notre personnel qui travaille jour après jour pour vous offrir un service irréprochable.

Dans l’attente de vous accueillir de nouveau, nous vous prions de croire, Madame, en l’expression de nos sentiments les meilleurs.

Continuez à suivre toutes les actualités du Sofitel Marrakech en cliquant sur « j’aime » de nos pages Facebook :
Hôtel Lounge & Spa:
SofitelMarrakechLoungeSPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. When we walked through the doors, we were greeted straight away, taken to the reception and checked in. A lovely fellow kindly walked us to our room, and on the way said that we had been upgraded from the room we booked, which was the Junior Suite with view of the Atlas Mountains, to the Suite overlooking that Atlas Mountains and the Pool. All I can say is WOW. As you walk in to the hotel, you have SO much space and cupboard space. You have a dining room, a living room, a double balcony with sun bed and table and chairs, an extra large bedroom with massive king sized bed and more drawers, then you have the Bathroom, with more cupboards, a bath, shower over the bath plus your sink, you then walk through to the second bathroom which has a separate shower, toilet and sink. There were 4 towels, HERMES shampoo, conditioner, body lotion and body wash, exfoliator, scales (if you want to weigh yourself on holidays....) and two amazing robes and slippers. There is a Nespresso Machine in the room and you get the first 6 pods free, plus you get 3 bottles of water and 1 sparkling water per day for free. There were also a dozen red roses in the room. The bed is one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in!

The view overlooking the pool was amazing, so relaxing. The hotel itself is massive, there are several restaurants and the breakfast range is like I have never seen before. They have everything you can think of and I think it is worth every cent (although it seems expensive).

We ordered room service for the first night (and second night) and when it arrived, it came with a handwritten note and a birthday cake wishing my husband a happy birthday - I didn't order this! We had a note on the booking, but didn't remind them or ask for it. It was amazing and so generous of them.

The pool area is awesome. There are two outdoor pools and many many poolside beds. You do need to get in early if you want one by the pool or in the sun! They fill up so quickly. We had ordered a fruit platter and some drinks by the pool - very good service and the fruit is delicious, fresh and nice and cold.

We also had spa treatments in the hotel. We got the traditional Hamman, a body wrap and a massage. The spa area is beautiful, you get a robe and slippers and you can also use the facilities such as the steam room and indoor heated pool. The staff are very helpful and the services were really great as well.

I couldn't fault the hotel or the staff, I found everything to be of excellent service and quality. I know you pay a lot of money to stay there, but you do get value for money and I would recommend it, even if it is for just two nights of your stay in Marrakech - just perfect.

Room Tip: Room 203 is a Junior Suite with Pool View & Atlas Mountain views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thewelltravelledman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmed B, Directeur général at Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014
Google Translation

Madame Jenna,

Nous vous remercions pour vos commentaires suite à votre séjour à Sofitel Marrakech Palais Impérial.

C’est avec grand plaisir que nous recevons vos compliments. Aussi, nous ne manquerons pas de partager vos appréciations avec toute notre équipe. Votre satisfaction est la plus belle récompense pour notre personnel qui travaille jour après jour pour vous offrir un service irréprochable.

Dans l’attente de vous accueillir de nouveau, nous vous prions de croire, Madame, en l’expression de nos sentiments les meilleurs.

Continuez à suivre toutes les actualités du Sofitel Marrakech en cliquant sur « j’aime » de nos pages Facebook :
Hôtel Lounge & Spa:
SofitelMarrakechLoungeSPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ahmed B, Directeur général at Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This was the third time that we stayed at this Hotel. The location is very convenient in walking distance to most local attractions and surrounded by the best restaurants and night clubs in Marrakech. The pool area is in a park like setting with beautiful flowers and comfortable Lounge chairs and cabanas. The rooms are just OK, outdated and would need some urgent updates. The wifi internet service most of the time does not work, which is really In today's times not acceptable anymore. The drink service in the pool are is about the slowest and inattentive service we have experienced, the waiters pay no attention and frequently forgot to bring placed orders.
All in all the Hotel is a food place to stay, but needs some attention in the various ares.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Globetrotter1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
0.1 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
0.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel & Ryads Barriere Le Naoura Marrakech
0.1 mi away
Hivernage Hotel & Spa
Hivernage Hotel & Spa
#168 of 500 in Marrakech
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa

Address: Rue Harroun Errachid | Quartier de l'hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#67 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#85 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#104 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#169 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £124 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by a splendid garden and fountains, Sofitel Marrakech is a premier Marrakech Morocco hotel. Its 346 Marrakech hotel rooms offer terraces or balconies with views of the mountains, swimming pool, or gardens. Guests at this luxury hotel in Marrakech, Morocco, will enjoy restaurants serving local and international cuisine, 3 bars, a nearby nightclub, a poolside snack bar, 3 bars, an indoor swimming pool, a fitness centre with a Jacuzzi, and a Turkish steam bath and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge Hotel Marrakech
Marrakech Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing