We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfectly located hotel, lovely atmosphere in public areas tho room not 5* quality.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
Ranked #112 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A perfectly located hotel, lovely atmosphere in public areas tho room not 5* quality.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2010

We stayed for 5 nights and found the hotel to be perfectly located for the medina, we didnt need a taxi at all. The public areas in the hotel are fabulous, lots of lovely seating areas and attentive staff. By the pool there were various types of sun lounger/beds hammocks etc for relaxing. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of staff to attend to your needs and a wide range of food available - the freshly squeezed grapefruit juice was just delicious!! On a down side the price of food and drink was hideous - £4 for a can of coke!! My tip is to buy bottles of drink in the medina at 40p and take back to the hotel though if you put them into room fridge make sure you arent charged for items from the mini bar as we were. Our room was a little tired looking, the shower leaked, air conditioning was not efficient in the 40 degree heat and there were no tea/coffee making facilities. There was some building work on the floor above ours so there was constant banging and tapping all day. Another tip is to visit the cafe 2 mins down the road for very reasonably priced lunch snacks.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clairej73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,521
    695
    237
    122
    103
See reviews for
452
1,006
86
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2010

The Sofiel is luxurious. The staff were so friendly and made us feel very welcome. An oasis of calm in a bustling, and in July, very hot city. As a family (with older teenagers) in Marrakech for a week, we knew that we would not be able to afford to eat at the hotel. The patisserie 'La Table du Marche' at the Hivernage Hotel provided our breakfast and snacks. The 'Cafe ExtraBlatt' serves western food and was useful but the food stalls at Djemma el Fna are cheap and suit a wide variety of tastes.
We visited sights each morning - taxis when required were very easy to use - walked in to the Souks which took no more than 15 mins - it got very hot in the afternoon. This was our opportunity to relax around the swimming pool. The pool staff were friendly and always helpful. A plate of fruit and some ice cold drinks (and a cold swimming pool) were very welcome. The atmosphere created is one of calm and relaxation. Much needed before we headed out in the evening. Djemma el Fina comes alive - storytellers, belly dancers, snake charmers - hustle and bustle. Watch out when you take a photo - a snake, a monkey or a hat may be placed on your person and then money asked for! We were given a room upgrade upon arrival...........rose petals on beds. Fresh flowers and complimentary water in rooms. We had a brilliant time in Marrakech - a much cheaper holiday than anticipated - we enjoyed the luxury of the Sofitel. Would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank somerset1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

4 night stay in July. This hotel was truly excellent and conveniently located in the Hivernage district of Marrakech. Great service, superb setting including fab swimming pool. Large resort with a lovely Moroccan touch. Tip : for a fine Moroccan dinner we recommend restaurant "Riad Monceau" (in the historical district ) ; our best and most memorable find in Marrakech.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Likear0llingst0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

Fantastic atmosphere, great service, spa service good and reasonable price.

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AnisaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2010

My husband and I stayed a week in the Sofitel in June 2010. The hotel was very beautiful, both exterior and interior, the room was a bit small but elegant. The food and the service in the restaurant (including breakfast restaurant) was good. The garden and swimming pools were gorgeous and the lounge beds were absolutely fantastic. Overall I am rating this hotel as very good, but it could become excellent if hotel management would pay attention to the following:
- Service in the pool area and outside bar area was generally not good. Poolbar people were friendly but very slow (took sometimes 45 minutes to get your order delivered). In the bar area waiters were slow, not friendly and some of them had difficulties with English.
- Consider an expansion of hotel shops and offer more daily products for guests (e.g. sun and aftersun products, international books, bottled water, simple summer clothing, caps, sunglasses, etc.).
- Consider lowering the prices in the pool area a little. Bottles of water are very expensive and it will cause people to bring their own bottles from the supermarket.
All in all, despite these points we had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maxxie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

Just returned from 3 suphurb days at Sofitel Marrakech.
Having read mixed reviews during the booking process , I have to say everything in this hotel was 100% perfect . I have stayed in many 5 star hotels around the world & this was one of the best I've experienced .
The place was immaculate , very spacious , all ammentities in good order & very very helpfull friendly staff especially at the reception & pool lounging area's.
Food was very good in all eating areas of the hotel & our room was very comfortable.The placement of design & furniture was very well thought out in all pasrts of the hotel.
My only bug bear would be that the Hamman & Spa areas came at an extra cost which was not explained on their website. I feel this should be included in the room price as this is the case in other surrounding hotels.
Excellent trip & can't wait to return to the city & Sofitel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle998877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2010

We had a few rooms during our entire stay of 10 days at this hotel as there were 7 of us. Though initially we did have an issue with the location of where one of the rooms were situated, but this was easily resolved by Hanane at the reception- who was amazingly helpful throughout our stay.
The rooms were comfortable, the bathroom could do with an extractor fan of some sort- it got very stuffy at times. The views weren't amazing from all the rooms, but not terrible either.
We had a few issues ranging from: construction work in one of the rooms above our at 7/8 in the morning. Room not cleaned until late afternoon., and as annoying as these issues can be as we were a fussy crowd, they were drowned by how beautiful the hotel is, and how helpful some of the staff can be: Hanane, Leila, Khalid, Anees....thank you guys so much!
I completely agree with the previous review- the beautiful smell of the hotel still lingers. And it was a haven to return to after the busy hussle and bustle of the medina.
The hotel has a brilliant pool area, so pencil some time to lounge and take in the sun.
Overall, loved it, and would definately return.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KullyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
4.9 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
4.8 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#88 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.2 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa

Property: Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
Address: Rue Harroun Errachid | Quartier de l'hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#62 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#79 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#154 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#172 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by a splendid garden and fountains, Sofitel Marrakech is a premier Marrakech Morocco hotel. Its 346 Marrakech hotel rooms offer terraces or balconies with views of the mountains, swimming pool, or gardens. Guests at this luxury hotel in Marrakech, Morocco, will enjoy restaurants serving local and international cuisine, 3 bars, a nearby nightclub, a poolside snack bar, 3 bars, an indoor swimming pool, a fitness centre with a Jacuzzi, and a Turkish steam bath and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Odigeo, ACCOR, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge Hotel Marrakech
Marrakech Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing