We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little peace in the hectic Marrakech”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Mamounia Marrakech
Ranked #78 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little peace in the hectic Marrakech”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

I love La Mamounia, it is an amazing and peacfull place, a few hours away from Europe. When you take your breakfast in the garden, you have always little birds around waiting for some food. After lunch or dinner, you can have a walk around the garden, the pool is big enough to do a few laps if you want to exercise a little.
The hotel is considered like one of the mythical palaces in the world, no wonder why so many famous people came and still come there. I heard that Alfred Hitchcok got the idea of the movie The birds there because the birds rushed on his breakfast.
Hope to go there soon again to escape..

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,865 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,251
    310
    139
    83
    82
See reviews for
297
859
53
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

We didn't stay but we did go for a fantastic meal at L'Italien inside La Mamounia. The service was fantastic, even so much as when they saw me pull out my camera in order to take some shots of us they instantly brought over a small side table to leave my camera on.

The food was very memorable and reason enough to want to go back to Marrakesh if nothing else.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sssingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

The gardens and grounds are gorgeous and immaculate. The breakfast buffet was absolutely amazing, if you get a chance stop by just for this. But the room was not well designed. There was no way to take a shower without drenching the entire bathroom.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucille S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxted, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

fantastic hotel. service outstanding. recommend staying in a deluxe room overlooking the gardens - wonderfully quiet. the beds are extremely comfortable. only 10 min stroll from the main square. The restaurants are amazing.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

As a group of senior European professionals we left our luxury Riad to prospect for our next Conference. We intended to have a good look around and dine in the Moroccan Restaurant. However a bad exchange with a Bar manager sent us " to the hills" - we moved a chair to accommodate our group only to be treated like school
Children. Anyway to summarise:
1 stunning gardens
2 awesome vegetable patch
3 small outside patio for size of hotel
4 pleasantly finished internally to a good international spec.
5 devoid of any decent Art or antiques. Public areas like an airport
6 plenty unmanaged lazy staff.
7 depressingly quiet and few lights on in rooms.
8 our beverages of hot chocolate and soft drinks took 35 minutes to arrive and were respectively cold and warm (no ice!!!!).
Conclusion - senior management clueless as to what is required for a decent 5* hotel - its called Savoir faire! Bricks And mortar are only the beginning....

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MrHolidayBoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

We spent a week here in April. The hotel was absolutely stunning and the service was the best we have had anywhere. There were no glitches - everything was perfect all the time. Our room had a terrace which looked over the hotel gardens. We had breakfast there every morning which was such a nice way to start the day. We lunched at the pool a number of times which, although pricey, is just fantastic in terms of the massive selection of food and the people watching. We dined in all the hotel restaurants and loved them all - especially the French. The staff are all so genuinely charming and relaxed yet completely professional and attentive. You are made to feel very welcome indeed.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yvo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
827 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 431 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

Whilst the hotel and grounds are beautiful, the rooms are the worst value and most disappointing I have ever had in a 5-star hotel and certainly not worth $1,000 a night. The bedrooms are small and cramped. Even worse are the bathrooms which are tiny with the absolute worst shower I have ever had in any hotel anywhere. You actually have to turn off the water to soap up and since there is no shower door the floor of the bathroom gets soaked.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeterAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#39 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
1.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
0.6 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#28 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mamounia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mamounia Marrakech

Property: La Mamounia Marrakech
Address: Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Marrakech
#4 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#41 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#56 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#86 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#111 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Mamounia Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Mamounia, a symbol of traditional Moroccan hospitality, is located in the heart of the imperial city, nestled in a 17 acre park, 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa El Fna square, La Mamounia will remain the place for worldwide celebrities. DESCRIPTION The Moroccan legendary palace has been redesigned by an internationally acclaimed designer, Jacques Garcia, combining a true Moroccan style and ambiance with new technologies. With its luxurious decorations, fabulous gardens and its trendy 2500sq m SPA, la Mamounia guarantees the amazement of its guests. ACCOMODATION 136 rooms (30 to 45 Sq m) 71 Suites including 7 Signature suites (55 to 212 Sq m) 3 Riads each with 3 bedrooms, Moroccan salons, private swimming pool, terraces... (700 Sq m) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, LoveHolidays, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Mamounia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mamounia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
La Mamounia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing