We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Refused entry rudely” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Mamounia Marrakech

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Mamounia Marrakech
Ranked #73 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Refused entry rudely”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

My husband and I wanted to see the gardens and have a drink but were refused entry because, apparently, there is a "dress code" for non-guests.

We found it outrageous and the staff could care less.

We were considering staying there in the future, but now changed our minds.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank DebbieC1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,223
    305
    137
    78
    78
See reviews for
291
836
51
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
333 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

This is a fantastic hotel, great rooms, great public areas, excellent food but you pay a premium price for all the luxury. It's hard to find fault with the hotel part from the over the top prices, even a small beer in the Churchill bar will cost you the same as a meal in the Medina. I would love to return one day.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

Although a very beautiful hotel with well-maintained grounds and high security- that's about it. I found the rooms to be well decorated, but surprisingly small. The slow wifi internet stopped working at night and I'm quite certain the heat did too.

While on site for 3 days, my friends and I had gotten massages (although I can only describe it as an annoying rub down) by a "masseuse" that SAT DOWN during 1/2 of the "massage"!! That's right! He was in a roller chair (like you see at a doctor's office) and would roll around me to rub oil in circular motions on my body. The best way to describe the experience was extremely annoying. I couldn't wait to get out of there! Its quite possibly the WORST massage I have ever received. Did I mention he was sick and kept snorting up his snot during my "massage"? What was more disheartening is that once I brought this poor experience to management's attention- they didn't even as much as follow up. Not quite sure how they have received the high accolades they were awarded.

My friends and I spent most of our time at a near by hotel within the medina called hotel Maison de Arabe. Beautiful boutique hotel with a lovely spa and helpful staff- and less than 1/2 the price!! I plan on returning to Marrakech and booking here- you may want to consider doing the same. Good luck and safe travels.

Room Tip: I stayed in a garden view room on the first floor. Nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SeekingCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

As soon as you are welcomed through the beautiful entrance of this iconic Hotel you know you are somewhere special! No wonder La Mamounia has won so many awards! The Hotel atmosphere is great.
The fantastic ozone enriched swimming pool with lots of comfortable sun lounges is lovely as is the buffet breakfast taken in front of La Pavilion de la Piscine.The Buffet Lunch is also not to be missed! The deluxe park view bedrooms overlook the beautiful gardens with views of the Atlas Mountains. There are two tennis courts and a gym complex in the gardens,an indoor pool,hammam and the world's best beauty Spa in the hotel.An excellent Hotel from where to soak up the atmosphere of Marrakech.

Room Tip: A Park View Bedroom is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gourmandise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

This is a truly beautiful hotel, but be prepared to spend about £300 per day on food/drinks though if you eat within the hotel (the buffet by the pool was £50 per person for breakfast). Water in the room is £8.

The staff were ok, but were sometimes a little incompetent. It felt as though the hotel is coasting on it's reputation and beautiful grounds. We really wished in the end we had stayed somewhere else as there are other 5 stars or Riad which would have been more enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aliciaskubick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

We couldn't find many reviews of La Marocain, the Moroccan restaurant at La Mamounia. But I checked with a Moroccan friend of mine and she said it has the most amazing food.. and amazing it was!!

The hotel itself has some impressive public spaces and a fitting aperitif before dinner should be taken at the Italian bar where there is superb live jazz. After a professionally mixed cosmopolitan, we walked into the gardens, turned left and soon arrived at the separate building that houses La Marocain. Hostesses greeted us warmly and led us to a comfortable ground floor table. The tables are in clusters of pairs in separate alcoves, which makes it all very relaxed.

The restaurant decor is divine. Traditional tiles on the floors, beautiful arches, high ceiling with 2 floors for dining, and great traditional music from a local trio (the come and play to you in your table too). Service is also good with adequate amounts of attention, and detailed explanation of the dishes.

But the food.. the food is just superb. I have eaten in many Norther African restaurants around the world, but here it's in a different league.. or on the highest stratosphere! The menu is extensive with traditional dishes (much more than the ubiquitous couscous and tagine!) and also new interpretations of old favorites. We ordered the mix starters and we tasted nearly 30 little dishes from lamb brains (sounds bizarre but is amazingly creamy), to lamb liver (tender and well spiced) to pickled raw vegetables. For the main courses, we have a poussin/baby chicken tagine that was expertly deboned and tender beyond belief, and a strange giant ravioli stuffed with lentils and chicken (think: giant dim sum dumpling but tastier!!). Portions were so large that 4 could have feasted on our meal for 2!

Prices are high high high in this restaurant but you get what you pay for: QUALITY! The wine list is peppered with delicious local wines (we drank a lovely local red that is reminiscent of a top end Pinor Noir from California). And service, music, and ambience are of the highest standards.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Titillator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

this hotel is just divine.the food is to die for and staff are friendly,its set behind high walls with the rustic red colour of marrakech before you enter the enchanted gardens that lead you round the hotel.iv been to marrakech a few times and anyone who stay here will not be disappointed.its a elegant and beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: this hotel will not fail to impress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karen242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#30 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
0.5 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#29 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
0.4 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
0.7 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#15 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mamounia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mamounia Marrakech

Property: La Mamounia Marrakech
Address: Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Marrakech
#4 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#38 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#51 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#87 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#111 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Mamounia Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Mamounia, a symbol of traditional Moroccan hospitality, is located in the heart of the imperial city, nestled in a 17 acre park, 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa El Fna square, La Mamounia will remain the place for worldwide celebrities. DESCRIPTION The Moroccan legendary palace has been redesigned by an internationally acclaimed designer, Jacques Garcia, combining a true Moroccan style and ambiance with new technologies. With its luxurious decorations, fabulous gardens and its trendy 2500sq m SPA, la Mamounia guarantees the amazement of its guests. ACCOMODATION 136 rooms (30 to 45 Sq m) 71 Suites including 7 Signature suites (55 to 212 Sq m) 3 Riads each with 3 bedrooms, Moroccan salons, private swimming pool, terraces... (700 Sq m) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your La Mamounia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mamounia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
La Mamounia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing