We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice big hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Mamounia Marrakech
Ranked #79 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Very nice big hotel”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

It's a nice hotel, very big and has all the facilities that you can imagine
Service is not good for 5 stars hotel

Room Tip: room on the last floor with garden view are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,896 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,269
    317
    140
    84
    86
See reviews for
307
869
54
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I stayed here first back in March 2011. Located not so far from the medina we were struck by the sheer beauty of the place, we were welcomed in with doors open for us by men and women in the most beautiful Moroccan dress. There was a dress code to eat here which we abided to, we did not stay at the hotel however so I cannot comment on the rooms but we ate here twice, once we had cocktails in the lounge afterwards and we used a day pass once (the same day we ate the poolside buffet). We wanted to experience La Mamounia as all our guide books raved on about this grand hotel. I will now break down my experience.

Poolside Buffet - Cannot fault it one ounce. Yes it is approx 50GBP per head and that is without drinks, I think we paid an eyewatering 7GBP for a bottle of sparkling water. The meal was worth every penny, no doubt. There was everything on offer, including various types of salads, cheeses, stews, anti pasti style meats, various rolls etc. There was also a carving station with roast meats and a grilling station where you can have steak or fish alongside live oysters. The mini taster deserts were to die for, there were also sorbet and fresh fruit. Everything was hygienic and the staff treated us with upmost respect and catered for our every whim. Such a wonderful buffet and I recommend anyone staying in Marrakech to try it. My only bug bear was that it finished at 3pm as I think that the buffet would make an ideal dinner meal too.

Moroccan restaurant - On site there are three restaurants, Moroccan, French and Italian. We tried the Moroccan one evening. The beautiful ambiance and the fact the waiting staff were brilliant, we were even serenaded by Moroccan musicians in our own private booth seemed like smoke and mirrors to hide less than satisfactory food. I ordered a Tagine, it was quite cold, nothing like the steamy hot tagines served in the square. It also tasted quite bland I wasn't happy with it at all and had to send it back by the time a new one appeared my partner and young son had already long finished their main courses and I didn't wish to eat alone so we cancelled the Tagine all together. The brash manageress still wanted the tagine to be paid for and was insistent to the point of being down right rude! Needless we stuck to our guns and did not pay for something we didn't get.

Pool area, buildings and gardens - A must if you are visiting Marrakech, the gardens are well maintained and filled with orange trees. There's a small building further into the garden which sells macaroons and sweets. The pool is clean, calming and very quiet, with poolside staff. The pool is also heated which is a plus when visiting Morocco in the colder months. This is a very grand posh place and the indoor pool and spa area looked absolute luxury.

Now, the reason this place got a 3 out of 5 was for the rude manageress and the cold tagine in the Moroccan restaurant on our initial visit. And also on our later visit in August, the very abrupt woman at the door first refused us entry because my partner was wearing loafers and shorts - they were not sports shorts, they were dress shorts, Chinos infact and it was over 40 degrees! He was dressed almost identical to our visit back in March. She soon let us in when we said we wanted to book a room! (which we had no intentions of doing). There was just a difference in attitude to the staff almost as if we were imposing on them just for wanting to walk round the gardens and eat at the buffet again (which was sadly closed in August for Ramadam).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChloeDCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarsdale, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I have been to many hotels around the world, but this hotel, by far, is the most luxurious and beautiful hotel I have stayed at thus far.

Not only is the service impeccable, the restaurants (we went to the Italian Restaurant twice) excellent, the breakfast buffet more than you can ever ask for in a tasteful appearance, our room was magnificent.

The hotel in design and garden is true to Morocco, incorporating all of the special things that make visiting Morocco exciting and making it unique while making you feel like a queen. The Medina and Souks are exciting and crazy and this hotel is a beautiful refuge from it all.

I loved it and would highly recommend it to anyone who is staying in Marakesh. If you can afford it, Stay THERE. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cswolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Wow. We just returned from Morocco and France. In Marrakech we stayed at La Mamounia, easily one of the best hotels, if not the best (it would take some thinking) we have ever stayed at, and we travel extensively. Everything is perfect at this hotel, and for the price it's well worth it and more. The location, the staff, the food and drink, the pool, the gardens...you name it and it couldn't be better. Their only goal at LaMamounia, no matter who it is, is to please the guest in every way possible. They are absolutely unconditional in this regards. We prevailed upon the Concierge with a number of requests, including a change to our flight plans and future hotels, and they handled everything with the upmost of professionalism and efficiency. Did I mention the Italian restaurant in the hotel? You may think, "an Italian restaurant in Morocco, how good can it be?". The best! The French and Moroccan restaurants in the hotel are also excellent. If you like your cocktails, the Churchill bar is what hotel bars are all about...dark, cozy, excellent service, craft cocktails, and a live piano player and singer who were excellent. The pool area is superb and, again, their service there is perfect. Lastly, their spa, recognized as one of the best in the world, lives up to that distinction. We absoluted hated it when we had to leave. If you travel to Marrakech, and do not stay at LaMamounia for at least one night, you have missed the very best Marrakech has to offer, and that would be a shame.

Room Tip: The junior suites are well prices for their size, ask for one facing the beautiful Atlas Mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Source1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We returned after having been here just after jacques garcias refurbishment 2 + years ago
It really is superb Impeccable and a delight
Everything is perfect and I am extremely difficult
I play hard and work hard and find it difficult to find a hotel where nothing is wrong but
la mamounia is such
Marrakech , the staff, the decoration , the food,the climate .the rooms
All woo one to the most pleasurable experience
la mamounia is chic ,sophosticated and beautiful
If you can do stay
It is expensive but no more or less than any 5 star + hotel but it is better !!



,

Room Tip: A room overlooking the park is worthwhile
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoo1299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Cannot think of having stayed in a better hotel than the Mamounia. Right in the heart of a north African city, whatever that means to each one of us, there is a cluster of sheer luxury, 10 hectares (or so) of a lush garden, impeccably looked after, with attention to detail like nowhere else. Even the gravel of the pathways in the garden i being raked and flattened out several times a day!! Amazing restaurants, as expected from a restaurant of such standard, a great classy bar/lounge, the breakfast area by the pool... i better stop here because i will never manage to exhaust all its perks. Every traveller should experience it at least one night in his lifetime.
On the deterring side... it isnt exactly a budget hotel. But you already know this. Contrary to customary belief, the best things in life are not for free. And if you have read that far down my review, you must be able to overcome such an obstacle, one way or the other. So enjoy and spoil yourselves

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gus213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

If you can afford it this hotel is pure class.Even a Gand T is a work of heart.
Food 5 star quality.
Service as it should be profesional and prompt.
Dress for dinner dont spoil the architectoral ellegance of the experience,
Design is just simply amazing.
This is a true 5 star and you will pay for the quality.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#43 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
1.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
0.6 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#28 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mamounia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mamounia Marrakech

Property: La Mamounia Marrakech
Address: Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Marrakech
#4 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#41 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#58 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#86 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#111 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Mamounia Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Mamounia, a symbol of traditional Moroccan hospitality, is located in the heart of the imperial city, nestled in a 17 acre park, 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa El Fna square, La Mamounia will remain the place for worldwide celebrities. DESCRIPTION The Moroccan legendary palace has been redesigned by an internationally acclaimed designer, Jacques Garcia, combining a true Moroccan style and ambiance with new technologies. With its luxurious decorations, fabulous gardens and its trendy 2500sq m SPA, la Mamounia guarantees the amazement of its guests. ACCOMODATION 136 rooms (30 to 45 Sq m) 71 Suites including 7 Signature suites (55 to 212 Sq m) 3 Riads each with 3 bedrooms, Moroccan salons, private swimming pool, terraces... (700 Sq m) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Mamounia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mamounia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
La Mamounia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing