We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,419)
Filter reviews
2,419 results
Traveller rating
1,609
401
180
110
119
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,609
401
180
110
119
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschurchill barwinston churchillbeautiful hotelitalian barbest hotels in the worldmoroccan restaurantluxury hotelgardens are beautifultennis courtsfour seasonsindoor poolan oasisatlas mountainsthe hustle and bustlemint teaspaterrace
Filter
Updating list...
923 - 928 of 2,419 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Originally we went for drinks in the Winston Churchill bar with a Jazz singer with friends who were staying there, however on discovering the outside terrace we went out there. Very romantic and exotic but strangely sterile after the beautiful old hotel. The renovation costs millions and its well done, but has removed the authentic character, the same story as Raffles Singapore. Having motivated ourselves to get there - usual Marrakesh taxi overpricing nightmare ;-( we were up for a sophisticated cocktail.. after initial shock of the price around £30 a glass.... YIP twice London prices.! After all we are on a romantic evening with friends so we go ahead. Waitress fine, very attentive, we order nibbles, that all went well, after two hours we got hungry and thats when problems started. So in a 5 star hotel there shouldn't be problems with getting a table in an empty restaurant at 10pm. ? to cut a long story short, the Manager was called, he was rude, and after an argument we finally got dinner. For this is appalling treatment for a guest and member of LHW or and after an initial bar bill of £120... shan't be returning - dont know how much dinner was but imagine it was about 500£ for 4.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonPandora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We didnt stay at this hotel but after Sex & The City wanted to go and have a look.
They offer a day spa package that allows you to use the pool and spa facilities all day for £90.

Its well worth it beautiful pool/ spa gorgeous.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

I have stayed in luxury hotels all over the world and never had a more beautiful guest room. This entire hotel is magnificent and so are the grounds. I tried all of the restaurants too and all were fantastic. This is one of the great hotel and hotel experience in the world. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MJBNYFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Whilst staying in Marrakech, a trip to La Mamounia for cocktails is a must! The hotel is stunning, the staff are attentive and the bar's luxurious. I'd done a bit of research before the holiday and I had heard incredible things about the Winston Churchill bar. Mood lighting, leopard print and black fringing, it is reminiscent of a brooding gentlemen's club. The cocktails are expensive (4 cocktails between us & a taxi ride home was about £70) but for the experience whilst in the city, it is a must. We had a couple of amazing mojitos in the bar and wanting to explore further, we were led (by recommendation of the staff) to the Italian Bar. Vastly different from the Churchill Bar, we were transported to high ceilings, intimate lighting & cosy booths. After a perfectly made Cosmopolitan, the staff called our taxi for us & we made our way back to our riad after a glamorous Moroccan evening!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaG28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Mamounia lives off its reputation but all is not well inside!

The Hotel is Dark, pretentious and over-priced considering the rooms are so small, dark and difficult to work the lights. We had requested adjacent rooms for our children through our travel agent. When the hotel did not provide this, they charged us 50 Euros per night for an upgrade we didn't want so we could have adjacent rooms, plus an additional 80 euros per night so our 6 year old could sleep in our room instead of next door as he wasn't well. When challenged by our travel agent, the hotel lied that we had requested this upgrade.

Very unhelpful and unaccommodating, we didn't get to our rooms until 10.30pm even though we arrived at 8pm. They refused us any food unless we went to the formal restaurants, we were only allowed room service. No thought for us and our unwell 6 year old, what a terrible start to our holiday!

The food was lovely and the restaurants had great service but VERY OVERPRICED. One lunch for 4 sandwiches, a bottle of water and one ice cream was £180. That is just ridiculous for a light lunch.
The pool was nice but nothing special. We will not be returning to this hotel. Luckily we went on to stay at the Taj Palace which was magnificent. Nothing was too much for them, a wonderful place with fabulous rooms and breathtaking views.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claudia278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews