We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,454)
Filter reviews
2,454 results
Traveller rating
1,633
405
182
113
121
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,633
405
182
113
121
Show reviews that mention
All reviews churchill bar winston churchill beautiful hotel italian bar best hotels in the world moroccan restaurant luxury hotel gardens are beautiful tennis courts indoor pool four seasons an oasis atlas mountains the hustle and bustle mint tea spa terrace
Filter
Updating list...
935 - 940 of 2,454 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We stayed in La Mamounia two nights and La Maison Arabe two nights. La Mamounia is a stunning hotel. Huge, stylish, gorgeous gardens, the best pool area we've ever seen in the world. The best breakfast buffet in the world. Very good service. We had the deluxe room with balcony overlooking the gardens. The rooms are little fussy. Drapes over drapes over an electric blind. 8 pillows on the bed. A lot packed into a relatively small space. The lighting of the room is by a console, but we could never figure out how to use it properly. There are even more buttons on the wall. Too complicated by half. The Spa was just ok. I had an uninspiring massage although my husband liked his. La Maison Arabe spa was much better and more beautiful. La Maison Arabe is a more authentic experience, La Mamounia more grand.

Room Tip: It's worth spending the money to get a room with a balcony overlooking the gardens. Really beautiful.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnSantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

This is a truly stunning hotel; the location, the ambience, service and facilities, nothing to fault. The gardens are lovely, for long walks and with numerous areas to sit, have a drink or food; and the hotel has an extensive range of bars, restaurants and activities.

The rooms are spacious, and the features are all traditional Moroccan, with a modern stylish twist. The bed in our room was large, and very comfortable, with no 'bounce'. We stayed in a balcony room overlooking the gardens (this was the deluxe style room), and it seems that the higher you are the better the views from the balcony. The other front wing looks over the pool, which is fine as its not noisy. The 'odd' numbered rooms which are 'classic' style, appear to overlook the Spa area. The aircon works well, and there are shutters to keep the heat out. The rooms are serviced twice daily, with plenty of fresh towels and drinking water delivered. The only omission we found was no coffee/ tea making facility in the room, so this needs to be via room service. A Nespresso maker or the like would have been nice.

You should plan on taking a leisurely breakfast, served by the pool, as the choice is staggering. Moroccan, continental, fresh fruit, a massive range of baked products and hot food, including eggs any way you like. The waiters are also ultra-attentive, offering a full range of hot drinks - but not decaffeinated tea for some reason. We chose to eat out most of the time, however the Italian restaurant was first class, and the lounge bar and terrace was very nice for a lunch. We were also told that the French restaurant was good for a light lunch. You can also have light lunches by the pool, with BBQ food etc.

We didn't try the Spa or treatments, tennis courts, boules area, or the large gym, but it all looked excellent. There is also table tennis in the gym, and a chill out 'hamman' area. There are some shops in the hotel, with a newspaper kiosk at the entrance which also sells medications, sun lotion and giftware etc.

The gardens are large (very large) and filled with trees and flowers. The lawns are well kept, and you can have sun beds positioned on the lawns in tranquillity. A walk in the evening is very relaxing, and this is when the fragrances are at the best.

The location is convenient for the main square, mosque and souk - all 15 minutes from the hotel. Just watch out for people "just happening to be walking your way" and "hotel workers completing their shift" with both types wanting a fee as a guide to the square. The concierge will organise transport if you want to go further, or a real guide to show you to, around, and out of the souk, plus other attractions in town.

Overall, the hotel it extremely stylish, with sumptuous public areas, and very relaxing. The staff are very friendly and very numerous, and we witnessed no cases of staff being rude, as quoted in some reviews. We would have no problem returning, or even calling in for dinner or afternoon tea.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms offer the best view, Classic rooms may be quieter as they are not facing the local Mosque (calls for morning prayers at 4a.m.). Higher floors offer the better views of the gardens and Marrakech (above the tree line). No tea/ coffee makers in rooms, so think ahead if you like this.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hawthorn37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

have been to many hotels around the world, but this hotel, by far, is the most luxurious and beautiful hotel I have stayed at thus far. Not only is the service impeccable, the restaurants (we went to the Italian Restaurant twice) excellent, the breakfast buffet more than you can ever ask for in a tasteful appearance,

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patr s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Originally we went for drinks in the Winston Churchill bar with a Jazz singer with friends who were staying there, however on discovering the outside terrace we went out there. Very romantic and exotic but strangely sterile after the beautiful old hotel. The renovation costs millions and its well done, but has removed the authentic character, the same story as Raffles Singapore. Having motivated ourselves to get there - usual Marrakesh taxi overpricing nightmare ;-( we were up for a sophisticated cocktail.. after initial shock of the price around £30 a glass.... YIP twice London prices.! After all we are on a romantic evening with friends so we go ahead. Waitress fine, very attentive, we order nibbles, that all went well, after two hours we got hungry and thats when problems started. So in a 5 star hotel there shouldn't be problems with getting a table in an empty restaurant at 10pm. ? to cut a long story short, the Manager was called, he was rude, and after an argument we finally got dinner. For this is appalling treatment for a guest and member of LHW or and after an initial bar bill of £120... shan't be returning - dont know how much dinner was but imagine it was about 500£ for 4.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonPandora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We didnt stay at this hotel but after Sex & The City wanted to go and have a look.
They offer a day spa package that allows you to use the pool and spa facilities all day for £90.

Its well worth it beautiful pool/ spa gorgeous.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews