We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Mamounia Marrakech

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Mamounia Marrakech
Ranked #74 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Wollerau
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Just came back last week from La Mamounia and I would say that this hotel is really a piece of paradise. The suite we had was really very beautiful, overlooking the gardens full of orange trees bearing fruits and the room makes you feel like you are in a morroccan palace, from the living room to the bedroom and the bath. I love the Moroccan restaurant with its delicious food and music in such lovely exotic atmosphere but I was disappointed by the french one. The Churchill bar is one of the most beautiful bars I've seen but unfortunately they don't have cigars. So we asked them to get it outside, the staff was really helpful. Service was very good from the pick up with their Jaguar from the airport and also for small things like asking for their lovely pastries, they are always there to please and assist. Breakfast was excellent , many choices and fresh juices as well and the bar drinks were also lovely. Not to forget also the lovely facial massage I got from their spa specilaist.This was for me a special experience that I can't forget..I will surely go back again to this piece of paradise..

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden facing the atlas mountains are lovely and bright
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayfair V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,220
    305
    137
    78
    78
See reviews for
291
834
51
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

We visited here for afternoon tea after a long day walking. The hotel itself is beautiful, grand and high end luxury. However, when we asked for tea we were seated in an area with no table and given a drinks menu. When the waitress arrived we asked if they did afternoon tea and she apologised and moved us to a proper table. Tea was slow, the Pettit Fours (only 2 of them) followed half hour later. We had to ask twice for a food menu and when we eventually got one, no-one came to take our order. Needless to say we have up! The staff are polite but for the price you pay for food and drinks you expect the service to be in keeping with the status of the hotel and it falls well short. Shame.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sajel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Had a birthday lunch there this past weekend. While the ambiance is unbeatable, I was sorry to have spent over 100 dollars on a lackluster panini, salad and a beer. Sadly the service was also left wanting and we felt like we were served by a "waitress in training". The lovely walk through the grounds afterwards did make us forget the lunch.

Room Tip: did not stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dbtfan81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Sir, Madam,

Thank you for visiting La Mamounia,

We do apology for all the inconvenience that you have experienced.
Kindly note that we take your comments very seriously to improve our service. We hope that we can welcome you again at La Mamounia and hopefully this time will be a memorable experience.

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Sheer luxury at this fabulous hotel. The guest rooms are well appointed, but not overly spacious. The heated outdoor pool is lovely. The gardens are beautifully manicured with a large variety of trees, shrubs and plants. The whole garden area is enclosed and the tennis courts are located away from the hotel and pool area. The massage and spa areas are immaculately clean. The hotel boasts Moroccan, French and Italian restaurants and the décor is very classy.
The Churchill cocktail bar is worth a visit and had live entertainment when we visited it. Voted one of the best hotels in the world, this is definitely worth considering.

Room Tip: Don't book the basic rooms as they are quite cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneHilton1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

La Mamounia is a beautiful property close to the city center. The lobby was beautiful and had some Christmas decoration still. You were greeted and sat down in the lobby for check-in. They bring almond milk and dates to snack on while you wait.

Rooms: Originally we booked a classic room which we stayed in for one night. While the bedroom was a sufficient size, the room with the toilet was tiny. You couldn't sit down on the toilet without your knees touching the door and I'm pretty tiny.There was a shower room with a separate bathtub. The room was on the first floor so no view. We ended paying for an upgrade to a deluxe room which was much larger and nicer. This made staying at the hotel a completely different experience. The deluxe room was on a higher floor with a balcony overlooking the pool and sweeping views of the Atlas mountains. The toilet/bidet room was much larger and a separate shower and bathtub room. The shower rooms had windows from the bedroom with no curtains, just ornate woodwork. The bed was firm but the pillows were flat and not very supportive. Decent sized flat screen TV and closets in the hallway from the entrance of the room.

Room Service/Housekeeping: Expensive. We only did breakfast and mint tea and desserts a couple times but it was pricey. We asked for the almond milk we got for free upon check-in and they ended up charging us $10 for a small glass! Food was decent but not worth what you pay for it. Housekeeping did a good job but removed some food we had originally set aside to keep. We ended up hiding food we wanted to keep in the drawers.

Service: Service was good but not amazing for the level of hotel. There seem to be some communication barrier. Everything took a long time to figure out and we would tell them we wanted or didn't want something and we'd get the opposite. We asked to change rooms and it took almost 30 minutes while they seated us in the lobby for them to figure out what was available. Any time we asked for something, we were told to sit in the lobby and they would get back to us. When we finally got a room change we said we wanted to move our own luggage. They still sent someone to help us anyways.

Restaurants: We ate at the Moroccan and French restaurant. I would not recommend the Moroccan restaurant. It was extremely expensive and food wasn't as rich in flavor as other places you could find in town. French restaurant was great for lunch. Food was delicious but expensive and the menu read more as an Italian restaurant.

Spa: I had read that the hotel's spa was supposed to be amazing. After the Bora Bora Four Season's spa, this one pales in comparison by far. I was expecting a full facility with pools etc to relax in before or after the massage. However they only had a sauna that may have been slightly broken (there were puddles over water as you walk into the room) and various showers and treatment rooms. The massage itself was somewhat not relaxing. I wanted deep tissue so had a male masseuse. For some reason he thought massaging me at a very rapid rate and rubbing me very quickly would be relaxing but it was not. Not the best experience. Perhaps another masseuse would have provided a better experience.

Room Tip: Get a larger room than the classic because they are tiny and have no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelInEase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Greetings from Marrakech!

Thank you for taking the time to write your opinion about La Mamounia,

Please know that we take all your comments into considerations.

Hopefully we can welcome you again at La Mamounia and erase the negative impressions that you had with memorable ones.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

I really enjoyed staying at La Mamounia. It's a very cool old grand hotel just inside the walls of the medina, and it has been recently renovated. The service was great, the food was good at times(room service not great, french restaurant was tasty, moroccan restaurant was decent), and the lobby is incredible.

Some of the cheaper rooms are a bit small. I highly recommend getting a suite.

Room Tip: Some of the cheaper rooms are a bit small. I highly recommend getting a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scorpio7765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Greetings from Marrakech!

Thank you for taking the time share your experience at La Mamounia.

It is only through constructive feedback that we can strive to meet our guests’ needs, and we are pleased to learn that the service provided met your expectations.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you once again at la Mamounia

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Everyone should spend at least one night at the La Mamounia in Marrakech. My wife & I spent 3 glorious nights here being pampered like never before. From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty.
On our arrival we were taken to one side by Amine Aboullail the guest relationship leader, offered a drink and dates and despite my wife being in a wheelchair nothing was to much trouble for him and his staff. After he checked us in he told us we had been upgraded from a ground floor room to 2nd floor suite and we had not even asked for it. While waiting for our room to be prepared, we had a look at the stunning pool and grounds which total 20 acres or so.
Amine came to find us when our suite was ready and it was just sumptuous, with a bedroom, sitting area with 2nd TV, and walk through dressing room into the wet room bathroom. As you would expect the décor was very Moroccan and very clean as the hotel has was only reopened a couple of years back after an expansive 3 year redecoration programme. The housekeeping was everything you would expect from a hotel of this quality. The bed linen was changed every day and the towels possible twice in a day if needed. The room had every accessory you might need.

The hotel has 3 restaurants. The French, Italian & Moroccan. We ate in the Italian on one night and the food was just delicious and we had our own team of waiters for the food and wine. The quality of the food was just excellent as you would expect from a hotel of this quality and although the wine was not cheap, it was not as expensive as I would have thought. We also had a snack one afternoon in the Italian bar which was just as good as the main restaurant.

Some people might find the lighting a bit subdued which it is, however, this does add a lot to the overall atmosphere of the place. The main reception area has many little nooks & crannies where you can just sit and watch the world and high level guest go by. We used the spa a couple of times and found this a very relaxing way to finish the day off before going out for dinner.

Breakfast is not included in the room rate and some might say expensive at about £30.00+ per person! However, when you looked at what is available from a very large selection of cold meats and smoked salmon to all sorts of fresh fruits, breads, cakes and hot selections and that you could sit there by the pool for as long as you like I think it was good value.

Wifi is available throughout the hotel and in our room and we had no problems using it at any times. Overall, our experience was one of pure luxury and if we can, we would like to come back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Greetings from La Mamounia Marrakech !

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to share your experience at La Mamounia with us.

It is always gratifying to learn that our guests have enjoyed their experience with us. We are looking forward to your next visit and to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at La Mamounia.

With best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#30 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
0.5 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#29 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
0.7 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#16 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,894 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mamounia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mamounia Marrakech

Property: La Mamounia Marrakech
Address: Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Marrakech
#4 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#52 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#87 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#111 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Mamounia Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Mamounia, a symbol of traditional Moroccan hospitality, is located in the heart of the imperial city, nestled in a 17 acre park, 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa El Fna square, La Mamounia will remain the place for worldwide celebrities. DESCRIPTION The Moroccan legendary palace has been redesigned by an internationally acclaimed designer, Jacques Garcia, combining a true Moroccan style and ambiance with new technologies. With its luxurious decorations, fabulous gardens and its trendy 2500sq m SPA, la Mamounia guarantees the amazement of its guests. ACCOMODATION 136 rooms (30 to 45 Sq m) 71 Suites including 7 Signature suites (55 to 212 Sq m) 3 Riads each with 3 bedrooms, Moroccan salons, private swimming pool, terraces... (700 Sq m) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your La Mamounia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mamounia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
La Mamounia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing