We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive but really expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Mamounia Marrakech
Ranked #79 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Impressive but really expensive”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for 4 nights. The hotel is truly an oasis in Marrakech. The room is huge, great balcony to the yard, and they give you all kinds of gifts like Havaianas, morrocan slippers and others. The spa is amazing, with a indoor pool and an awesome Jacuzzi, huge outdoor pool and beautiful garden. It is easy to notice that the staff is very well trained and they are always willing to help. It is the best hotel that I ever stayed, but it comes with a price. And what a price... Of course that in a hotel like this, you will pay top dollar for a stay. But charge 8 euros for a coke I think it is too much. The restaurants are good, not excellent but good, but you will pay for as a Michelin rated. That is my only overall disappointment.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Guicarneiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La_Mamounia_, General Manager at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Mr Guicarneiro,

We are very touched by your positive comments following your recent stay at La Mamounia. Thank you for having shared your experience on Tripadvisor and having highlighted the benefits of the hotel.

We are also delighted to read that you enjoyed our Moroccan identity revealed through the decoration and other amenities. We feel more than happy to share with travellers an authentic cultural experience.

Your praise expressed on our employees are very much appreciated and we thank you for sharing that. Your compliments have been shared with our colleagues and will certainly be a source of encouragment.

It is unfortunate that your experience was not entirely satisfactory given your feedback regarding the prices, which are, we assure you, in keeping with the level and quality of service that we aim at delivering in our quality of Palace.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon during your next visit to Marrakech.

Sincerely,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,303
    321
    147
    87
    87
See reviews for
314
894
58
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

If you come to Marrakech try to come and stay at this spectacular hotel. The place is beautiful , the food exquisite and the service is the best we have ever had. The gardens that surround the hotel are something else, thousands of birds everywhere and dinner at night was great. There were times when I thought I was in the middle of a tale from the One thousand Nights. If I ever come back i will certainly stay at La Mamounia.

Room Tip: Any room would do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XMontalvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La_Mamounia_, General Manager at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Mr Montalvo,

We are delighted to have offered you the opportunity to live the tale of one thousands nights. This is the feeling that we seek for our guests which are looking for an authentic and original experience.

Your comments expressed in relation with the food and the service are very much appreciated and we will be certainly shared with all the staff involved in satisfying your needs.

We sincerely thank you for your commitment in returning soon to La Mamounia and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming back.

Sincerely,

Pierre Jochem
Directeur Général
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We were after a more authentic Marrakech experience so stayed at a little Riad closer to the main square. However, in search of some pampering, we found that La Mamounia offered a day pass which included use of the fitness centre, pools, 1 hour spa treatment, and 3 course lunch.

While not cheap (~AUD 200 per person), I thought it was really good value. The massage was great and very relaxing, plus the lunch was fantastic - full menu to choose from despite being a package deal.

Was a great experience, would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jrod-1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Remarkable Hotel, one if not the finest in Morocco. Very expensive for most. Place for the Rich and famous. The landscape is amazing, acres and acres of lust green. Swimming pool one of beauty and spacious. You must be a resident of hotel to view this place, YOU can not just walk in, security gate at entrance

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHARLES K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La_Mamounia_, General Manager at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Mr Chuck,

We are always thrilled to read such great words defining our hotel. We thank you for your appreciation and for selecting our hotel as “one if not the finest” in Morocco.

We are privileged to be surrounded with 8 acres of beautiful and historical gardens, it is always gratifying when we receive compliments from our guests on our gardens. We are glad your experience was up to your expectations, despite our applied rates which are in line with our accreditation of Palace.

Thanking you again for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor, we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming back very soon.

Sincerely,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 4 days excellent and well worth the price - even though we were here on a business trip it was excellent and the food fantastic the world famous lunch time buffet was excellent. Rooms excellent staff attentive well worth a visit

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tommytandoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
*
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel with all the luxury you would expect.

From the beautiful and comfortable traditionally styled rooms with balconies overlooking the garden to the large heated pool with full bar and menu service to the well equipped fitness facilities including tennis, and last but definitely not least, the beautiful and expansive walled-in gardens - it really is an oasis in the middle of this very active and interesting city.


The food in the restaurants on site is top notch (but so are the prices).

We very much enjoyed our stay and the MAMOUNIA is a great way to balance a visit to a city that can be a little overwhelming at times.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cguu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Where does one start... Everything about the hotel is oozing quality and luxury. Starts with the impeccably dressed doorman and ends with the way the colour of your complimentary flip flops matches the tone of the towels. A French civil servant I knew once said that it was the institutions that determined the quality of living in a country. La Mamounia is certainly one of such institutions, despite only applying to itself, not to all of Morocco. Amazing.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vadim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
0.3 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#43 of 500 in Marrakech
371 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#27 of 500 in Marrakech
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#7 of 500 in Marrakech
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mamounia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mamounia Marrakech

Property: La Mamounia Marrakech
Address: Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Marrakech
#4 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#42 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#59 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#86 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#111 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Mamounia Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Mamounia, a symbol of traditional Moroccan hospitality, is located in the heart of the imperial city, nestled in a 17 acre park, 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa El Fna square, La Mamounia will remain the place for worldwide celebrities. DESCRIPTION The Moroccan legendary palace has been redesigned by an internationally acclaimed designer, Jacques Garcia, combining a true Moroccan style and ambiance with new technologies. With its luxurious decorations, fabulous gardens and its trendy 2500sq m SPA, la Mamounia guarantees the amazement of its guests. ACCOMODATION 136 rooms (30 to 45 Sq m) 71 Suites including 7 Signature suites (55 to 212 Sq m) 3 Riads each with 3 bedrooms, Moroccan salons, private swimming pool, terraces... (700 Sq m) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your La Mamounia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mamounia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
La Mamounia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing