We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a 5 star hotel ... maybe a 3 or 3.5”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Mirage Marrakech
Ranked #362 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Montreal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not a 5 star hotel ... maybe a 3 or 3.5”
Reviewed 10 April 2011

we just arrived from a week stay at this hotel, we where in their new all inclusive concept, this is why we are so upset. There are about 6 or 7 restaurants in the hotel but since we where in the all inclusive, we where allowed to go only in the buffet !!!! the buffet was poor, always the same food, you could tell that they where serving the same fish or chicken for diner the lunch and so on. It looked like the hotel was new and opened last week, they where confused as where we (all inclusive) should eat, they change the restaurant or buffet in the middle of the week without reason besides that it was just too close to regular paying customer. Staff are ok but not trained, one a waiter drop a glass of wine on my wife's laptop.The hotel was clean room where ok but not a 5 star but not well insonisized we could hear our neighbor talk ... One day we wanted to go at the pool, first there was not enough chair !!!!!! we just couldn't sit anywhere. Also, in the main pool there is a bar but we didn't have access to this one (with the all inclusive) we had to go outside of the pool then walk for 2 or 3 minutes and go to the bar we where allowed, this was frustrating. Anyway, its a OK hotel but I would not recommend it, its not far or close to the medina, Food is not very good, service was really poor. Maybe one last comment on the level of service, we ordered wine at diner and most of the time, we had two different size of glass or model of glass, its not important to us since we end up having a glass of wine but a 5 star hotel should not have leave these details happens.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martmtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    167
    126
    49
    60
See reviews for
94
217
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

My friend and I stayed at this hotel end of March 2011 for a week. We were very worried about it after reading many bad reviews but were very happily surprised when we got there.
Yes, it is a little tired, but we had clean sheets and towels every day, breakfast was good and alot to choose from. The few evening meals we had at the hotel were good also,staff helpful.
I agree with everything tar252zeb says.
If your dont expect 5* luxury on a budget go for it!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krysia98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2011

I have just returned from a four day break at the Pickalbatros in Marrakech and would be back. We paid approximately £70 per night b&b rate for 2 people through laterooms - which although heavily discounted is about right for this hotel.
One taxi driver was a litte confused over the name and actually took us to another hotel, called Royal Deluxe Mirage. Some taxi drivers refer to this this hotel as the Old Sheraton so this may be useful to know.
Pro's
Its location - I read on tripadvisor that this hotel was about a 20 minute walk from the market. This is only true if you are as fit as a fiddle and walk VERY quickly. My partner and I regularly attend the gym and it took us nearer 40 minutes. Traffic is very busy in Marrakech so it can take a while to cross the roads. The location is good as it is a straight road into the market but not right in the middle of the hustle and bustle. There are usually taxi's waiting outside the gate of the hotel and you can get a taxi into the centre for about 30 Dhirams (approx £3). The Pools - there is actually 2 pools - one located just outside the lobby and one by the spa. Both pools are clean and the main pool has a great pool bar (with seats for the bar in the water). The hotel provides clean towels for swimming so you wont need to take your own.
The Spa - The Spa was very modern but expensive by Morroccan standards. The prices were the same as you would expect to pay in the UK with a 'regular' facial costing 500 dhms (approx £50) and a 'special' facial costing 700 dhms (approx £70). **This is the only part of the hotel that I found the staff to be a little unfiendly - but maybe that's because I enquired about a facial and had a Hamman ** You can have a 'regular' Hamman 150 Dhms or a 'special' Hamman - 250 Dhms. The regular hamman is -they put oil on your body-leave you to soak it all-you shower it off-they put mud on your body-leave you to soak that up-you wash that off- put you in relaxation room. The difference between regular and special is they wash they scrub the stuff off.
Breakfast-was good - there was a large selection of food and the fruit and pastries were lovely. There is breakfast station that has 2 chefs making Morrocan crepes (a MUST try) and omelettes.
Shower-This was nice and powerful and had hot water. The rooms are in need of a re-furb as they look a bit tired but the 2 double beds are comfortable and the bed linen was clean.
Gift Shop - There are a few shops in the hotel however there is a particularly good one at the front of the hotel. This can be accessed just before you enter the lobby area.
Camel Ride - There is a family that offer camel rides opposite the main entrance to the hotel. These camels are friendly and appear to be well loved. Cost 200 dhms.
Restaurants-There are a few decent restaurants on the road that is directly left after you leave the hotel. The restaurants are on the right side of the main road
Con's
Tired rooms - As mentioned above the rooms are in need of a re-furb and the mini bar fridge has definitely seen better days. There is however a free safe in the room.
Common Areas - the lobby and bar have obviously had a lot of money spent on them and the carpets to the rooms are a bit tired to.
Service - There appears to be only one kitchen so be prepared to wait a bit for your food. We ordered some lunch in the bar and the waitress brought it wrapped in tin foil. This was not a problem as we were pleased that she was trying to keep the food hot. Service can be slow but staff are pleasant. 10 dh tips seemed a good amount.
Alcohol - Alcohol prices in the hotel are about the same as in the UK. A bottle of Heineken costs about 35 dhrms in the hotel. We found a shop around the corner from the hotel that sold cans of Heineken for 15 dhms so we stocked up the mini-bar (be discreet). To find the shop you will need to turn left when you come out of the hotel - walk straight down the road and turn left just after the bank The 'off-licence' is hidden behind the bank. If you cant find it just ask the locals where the alcohol is...

The market is crazy - but what a experience! Everyone is desperate to make a sale and you will be mobbed if you buy something. The stall owners expect you to bata and that's part of the experience.

TIP - Euros are well received so I recommend you take about 20 for taxi ride to hotel but change to dhirams in Morocco as you get a better rate.

I hope that you have found this useful as I have gained so much from this website that I thought I would post a review.

Room Tip: Expect to pay 100dh for taxi from airport to hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tar25zebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

I too am confused at poor reports of the Royal Mirage - now PickAlbatros resort. They are in the middle of a major refurbishment and carrying that out while guests are staying isn't easy. We saw piles of new pillows waiting to be delivered. Huge bedrooms, decent sized bathrooms, multiple TV channels, fridge, safe, balcony, great and huge pool and a fantastic breakfast - fresh crepes and slices of pink grapefruit to die for! Staff all happy to help and went out of their way to do so. When we pointed out we had a booking with a 4 pm departure they honoured it immediately (new rule since we booked of midday departure). It isn't 5* by European standards but I think 4* easily. Only downside is that it is further to the Place Jemma el Fna than many other hotels.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jude C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

I really don't understand the bad reviews that this hotel has been given, after checking them regularly my boyfriend and I arrived earlier this week extremely wary, but the hotel is absolutely beautiful. You won't find anywhere as elegant in England, and considering the bargain price of our trip we felt like we'd got 100 times more than we paid for.

The main reception buildings surrounding the pool look like a Moroccon palace inside, gorgeous chandeliers and marbled walls and floors, luxurious furniture where you can relax for hours making use of the wi-fi.. different bars to enjoy a drink and watch the football when it's drizzling outside or you just want sanctuary from the hassled streets out Marrakech.
Outside there are orange and lemon trees in well tended gardens surrounding the pool outside your balcony, which were worked on daily, but quietly almost every morning of our visit - which was never a problem because it was nice to see how well the staff looked after the hotel and took pride in it's appearance.

The morning breakfast is divine, an all you can eat style buffet setting with every morning food to suit everyone's tastes: toast, croissants, pain au chocolat, cereals, porridge, fresh fruit, yoghurts, ham and cheese, potato croquets, french toast, beans, boiled eggs, and the freshly made in front of you crepes and omlettes are to die for.
The evening meals were less impressive, the lasagne on our first night after arriving was rather tasteless, and the set menu of another restaurant wasn't as impressive as imagined, especially for the price paid, but to be fair to the hotel, for the amount you can eat at breakfast, they probably need to make their money back somehow.

Across the road directly from the entrance there is a lovely father and son with some very friendly camels, and as they are not in the centre of everything surrounded by tourists in the heart of the town, they don't charge you a ridiculous amount for a lovely ride on their adorable camels. We found them a lifesaver for getting our cliché 'when in Marrakech' camel ride done without having to enter the chaotic town or be driven a distance by a petit taxi so that their friend can make some money off you. They were lovely chaps, and made our day with their friendliness and genuine love for their adorable camels. :]

All in all, I really, genuinely cannot understand the bad reviews whatsoever. It is a beautiful, beautiful hotel with divine settings and staff that are always waiting to serve you - in fact for this time of year I imagine they have more staff than required, but they are all friendly and do whatever they can to make your stay enjoyable.

(Photos from our trip have been included, check them out :])

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jobykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

We stayed for 7 nights last week (Feb/Mar 2011). The reception areas were very posh but the rooms were a little tired. We did have access to multiple TV channels including BBC World news and Fox Movies. There was a free safe in the room and a fridge to store our beer and water.
The two pools were very nice albeit a bit cold for our liking! There was free wireless in the new block and in the reception areas. Breakfast choice was good incluing an omlet and pancake station (made to order), hot food, fruits, cerials, drinks, toad, rolls and pastries and even soup! The taxi ride was between 10 and 20 MAD to or from the centre if you caught it from the road outside (£0.75 to£1.50). The bus 11 and 18 go to the centre and the airport from outside for just 3.5 MAD a person (£0.30) but you may have to wait 15 minutes or more. Taxis are plentiful as the road runfrom the airport to the centre.Walking to the centre is around 2.25km and takes around 20 minutes.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kestel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

It was a nice and quite hotel. Just 15 mins walk from the airport and the djemaa el fna. It is very well presented, with loads of facilities on offer.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KBESHAAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
#435 of 494 in Marrakech
379 reviews
5.5 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
11.7 mi away
LABRANDA Aqua Fun Club
LABRANDA Aqua Fun Club
#140 of 494 in Marrakech
2,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#104 of 494 in Marrakech
4,657 reviews
5.5 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
0.1 mi away
Savoy le Grand Hotel Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Mirage Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mirage Marrakech

Property: Royal Mirage Marrakech
Address: Avenue de la Menara, B.P 528, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Albatros Garden)
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#180 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#202 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Mirage Marrakech 4*
Number of rooms: 677
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Mirage Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatros Garden Hotel Marrakech
Marrakech Royal Mirage
Royal Mirage Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing