We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Mirage Marrakech
Ranked #386 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed 27 August 2012 via mobile

Rooms cool and clean. Maid service daily. Prices of food very expensive! Smuggling in water highly recommended! 25d in hotel 6d in shops in the town. Be prepared to be pestered non stop when visiting anywhere outside of the hotel. Be very firm in saying no as they can get quite nasty. Service very very slow in the hotel so order food and drinks early.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InKayleighWeTrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2012

Hi all,I'm at the hotel writing this,still have 5 days left of holiday,First impressions of Hotel are good and it looks very clean,check in was long due to lots of people and more paperwork to fill in but not a problem,reception staff ok some really nice and helpfull some not so,The Security men here are at times in your face they seem to be watching you to ensure you don't bring anything into hotel ie drinks and food,for water here they charge 25dh and at Carrefor just 10min away in a taxi it is 3dh and soft drinks ie cans hotel it is 24dh and Carrefor 5dh but if you do bring drinks in as we did to put in the fridge they supply in room put in a rucksack as we got stopped by Security and spoken to saying we can't bring water in etc I just ignored them and walked on but use a rucksack or bag saves the hassle.
The breakfast is good lots of choice and plenty to keep you going untill dinner,Dinner starts at 1930hrs and finishes at 2300hrs and again it is ok but no drinks supplied as normal with half board.
There are two pools one big and one small,lots of sun beds but as normal individuals do put towels on sun beds and walk off to breakfast etc I just think that practice is rude but that is me,we used small pool very quite and relaxing.
Gym is ok for a basic workout ie treadmill cross trainer bike but don't expect Fitness First and they don't supply water in there.
The Town is a small walk away and easy to get to and there and trips on offer at hotel if you fancy that to Atlas mountains etc.
The rooms are big and spacious and the AC is good.
Overall the Hotel is Nice and for what we paid for the week half board with flights etc just over £700 it's a bargain.
Yes there are issues but don't you get them at most places on Holiday,Forgot we had to wait over 1hr 15min for towels by the pool yesterday morning and everyone was getting annoyed A tip when you have finished at pool for the day take the towels back to your room and use them next day then change for fresh ones at some stage.
Overall it is a nice hotel to stay in and it's away from the madness of the Town but they need to look at some issues but they are not major.
I'm here untill Friday 24 if anyone needs more info.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MAS3019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Just got back from 5 night in Marrakech with one of my friends. The hotel was lovely, clean with massive airconditioned rooms. It was around a 20-25 min walk to the main market square (which means you can avoid using a taxi as all they do is rip off tourists and try to take you to their uncle or fiends shop and then drop you off in the middle of nowhere if you say you dont want to go to his uncles shop!!! lol) the staff were friendly but dont expect 1 class service, but nothing to complain about at all. The hotel was mainly full of french tourist which meant smoking everywhere, inside, by the pool at dinner!! That was a bit disgusting but not much you can do really.
Food was totally fine, nothing fancy just your average buffet, but can understand why people would get fed up of it after a week and would be disappointed if this was there only holiday of the year. I would recommend just paying the extra money per person for the evening meal and go half board as the one bad thing about this hotel is the price of food and drinks on site, we are talking London prices!! £2 for a can of coke!? come on!! I was appalled they would rip off people like this as you have paid to stay there, and then they also forbid you from bringing food or drinks in from the outside!! This was the one thing that i can say let down the hotel, which is a shame as it was a really good deal otherwise!

All in all I would say this is a lovely 5 star hotel that has changed owners and has now dropped down to a 3 star, but it means you get all the facilities of the old 5 star like the fantastic pool, just not the service, and you will be made to pay and arm and a leg for a bottle of water or coke!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HRH_HRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Just arrived back after 5 nights on a B & B basis. Our first impression of the hotel was the reception/lobby and it was stunning! We were initially allocated a room on the 3rd floor - comfortable and everything we expected though the actual decoration was perhaps a little tired. My partner chanced his luck and asked about the possibility of an upgrade. The reception staff immediately offered a superior room on the 6th floor at no additional cost. Both rooms had twin double beds - mattress was firm though comfy for us. The mini fridge and the air conditioning worked well. The large flat screen tv had English-speaking channels including film channels (Action and Fox).
The room was cleaned to a good standard and the bathroom towels were changed daily. Beach towels for the pool were provided as well.
The buffet breakfast was varied and excellant - we especially enjoyed the Morrocan pancakes and omlettes.
Bottled water was expensive in the hotel and so we brought drinks into the hotel and were never challenged.
Overall we were very happy with this hotel - it was clean with a lovely mixture of traditional Morrocan decor and modern. Great location and all the staff were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zeg111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012 via mobile

We spend 5 nights, on a half board basis, and genuinely having nothing valid to complain about! The hotel was clean, the staff were perfectly friendly (can see why people thought the receptionists were 'rude', as they did come across as a little abrupt, but think think that is more to do with a 'British people always have to be polite thing'!).
Everything in the hotel did exactly what was needed of it, and it's location made for a perfect place/distance from Marrakech centre to be able to escape the madness! The pool wasn't heated, but when it was 49 degrees C, it made a welcome break from the intense heat.
A couple of pointers for advice - no tea or coffee facilities in rooms (a supposed 5* star hotel would automatically have this!), but there is a fridge in the room. Not even water is supplied at any time, and at 25Dh per bottle, it gets expensive...so buy bottles outside and bring them in and pour into the bottles you may have purchased in the hotel to prevent any problems with the so-called 'security guards'! I realise that hotels are generally more expensive than anywhere else, but 5 times the price?? Come on Albotros, that kind if takes the pi**!!
The breakfast was great, plenty of choice and loads of fruit and pastries etc. The evening food was of a perfectly acceptable standard, but can see how it could get a bit boring...get into the centre and try some proper local food, otherwise go to Majorca and eat your steak and chips and fried breakfasts!!
All in all, had a great time staying at the Albatros Gardens, but if your planning on going for 2 weeks, and doing nothing but sitting by the pool and not experiencing the reason people go to Marrakech, I would choose somewhere that has a bit more going on in a hotel complex!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paulio1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed for a week last November/December. In reality the hotel is no more than a poor 3 star. If you are not staying on an all inclusive basis then food options are limited and expensive. Rooms not especially clean and hotel staff less than helpful. Location, however was very good being a short walk to all places of interest. We had a guide for a couple of days and he was a blessing.

Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Maz1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We styayed in Oct 11, and was pleasently surprised, especially having read all the negative reviews, it's NOT a 5* hotel, and there's no doubt about that, but it does the job! The pool area is lovely, so is the restaurant, the hotel lobby is breathtaking, the only downside really are the rooms themselves, they're very big (though our room was in Albatros Club building), but no deco really, but - who cares when you're on holiday!!! It's a shame though, as considering how big they are, if they were to be updated, they would make some really awsome rooms!
We stayed on AI basis, and could not get enough of their food, you pretty much get fed 27/7, breakfasts were amazing, I can see why fussy ppl could complain about evening meals, but we absolutely loved them, so if you like trying local cousines and don't mind a bit of veg, you'll like it too!!! Drinkswise not all alcohols are branded, but they did the job, soft drinks are premium brands. We didn't get ill at all, and had ice in our drinks all the time (try having a shot of vodka in the 1st few nights and you won't catch a thing!!!).
I would definitely recommend this hotel as you get a LOT for what you pay. However, if you're looking for proper 5* you should have learnt by now that it don't come in this price-range, so just increase you budget and stop leaving negative opinions and rouining it for the hotel, that gives you more than you paid for!!
Oh, I must admitt staff was not particularly frindly, I just think it's not in their nature... But having said that, we had no problems whatsoever! The entertainment ppl are friendly, although we found the main guy a tad annoying...
And that's the most honest opinion you can get about this hotel! Enjoy!
:-)

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frykacz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
#418 of 499 in Marrakech
430 reviews
0 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
0.1 mi away
Hivernage Hotel & Spa
Hivernage Hotel & Spa
#191 of 499 in Marrakech
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel & Ryads Barriere Le Naoura Marrakech
0.2 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Hotel
11.5 mi away
LABRANDA Aqua Fun Marrakech
LABRANDA Aqua Fun Marrakech
#127 of 499 in Marrakech
2,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Mirage Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mirage Marrakech

Address: Avenue de la Menara, B.P 528, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Albatros Garden)
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#181 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#205 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £108 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Mirage Marrakech 4*
Number of rooms: 677
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Mirage Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatros Garden Hotel Marrakech
Marrakech Royal Mirage
Royal Mirage Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing